• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 16, 2012
    30
    Emily Owens had me cringing from its opening scene all the way through its second episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 12, 2012
    0
    There is not one smart or endurable moment in this series.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 16, 2012
    0
    Think a less charming Ally McBeal in scrubs, acting out with all the maturity of the dancing baby, and that still can't approximate the annoying aftertaste of this cringe-inducing misfire.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 15, 2012
    25
    ABC's upcoming Malibu Country is a more egregious waste of talent. But only Emily can provoke an almost irresistible urge to scream, "Shut up, shut up, shut up," at your TV screen.
  5. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 26, 2012
    30
    The greatest problem for Ms. Gummer, and everyone else in the cast, has to do with the script, a terminal case of the well-known vacant mind disorder, to which large quarters of the TV writing world are, it would seem, particularly susceptible.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    25
    There's something demeaning about the whole set-up.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows. Full Review »