• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 47
  2. Negative: 9 out of 47

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    I do like Mamie Gummer though and she gives character a little bit something extra that is not in the script. Unfortunately, the rest of the show lets her down.
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1.
  4. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I love this show! It is very refreshing and Mamie Gummer is great! They really need to give it chance to get a following. She says what we are all thinking.
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Mammie is a great actress and it's so fun to watch her in anything she does.... but I love this take on a medical program. I love watching the show because there is a sense of authenticity, rawness, and intimacy with the character. You see the ups and downs..... and it's not so predictable as with so many other shows. I keep expecting a certain story line, then become surprised by the direction of the show. Mammie is great! I highly recommend this show! Collapse
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love this show...I work in Cardiology and I know everything that is going on!!!! Love, Love, Love Emily Owens!!! I have to wait until January 1st in order to watch another show!!!
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    This show has so much potential for a second season. It has both a dynamic cast and an engaging (and not too predictable) story line. Medical shows are a big hit, and right now other shows like House and Grey's Anatomy are getting all the attention. I personally love the show. It has the right balance of humor and drama to keep the viewers coming back for more.
  8. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    I have enjoyed this show immensely. I wish that it wasn't going to be canceled. It deserves a chance on another night or at least paired with other shows with a similar audience. The acting is of a high quality and for a medical soap it's different then the others that have received a lot more success. I suspect that if this show were on another network it would be a hit. Furthermore the WB has kept other shows on the air that even had less of an audience. Mamie gives it a lot of heart and soul. I can relate so much to her dorkiness. I love her internal struggles. She's happy to be smart and we are happy to watch a show with a lead character who is really smart, a good person and attractive to boot. I have never been moved enough to complain about a show's cancellation before. Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows.
  10. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    This is a great show. It's my favorite. Gummer is adorable, relatable and likeable! It's just a feel good show that's different from other shows on right now. I hate that it's been canceled. Sorry there's no vampires or supernatural beings sorry it's not a reality show w/a bunch of B's stabbing each other in the back. I hate what television has become. And I hate that networks cycle through shows like they're underwear. A good decent show doesn't have a chance any more. It's all about money NOT the viewers. Sad. Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 26, 2012
    30
    The greatest problem for Ms. Gummer, and everyone else in the cast, has to do with the script, a terminal case of the well-known vacant mind disorder, to which large quarters of the TV writing world are, it would seem, particularly susceptible.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 23, 2012
    50
    Gummer, so good as a clever lawyer on The Good Wife, deserves better than this role as a grown-up, moony teenage girl, even as she makes Emily far more interesting than her own insipid voice-over narration would suggest.
  3. Reviewed by: Carina Adly MacKenzie
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    If you're hoping for a slow-building romance, a relatable lead character, and a sweet follow-up to lighthearted lead-in "Hart of Dixie," you're in the right place.