• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Emily Owens, M.D. Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Emily Owens (Mamie Gummer) is a first-year intern at Denver Memorial Hospital where she discovers both her med-school crush, Will Rider (Justin Hartley) and her high school nemesis, Cassandra Kopelson (Aja Naomi King) are also interns.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Carina Adly MacKenzie
    Oct 16, 2012
    80
    If you're hoping for a slow-building romance, a relatable lead character, and a sweet follow-up to lighthearted lead-in "Hart of Dixie," you're in the right place.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 16, 2012
    70
    It is smartly written and well played.... This series is also going to be very much a matter of taste.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 16, 2012
    63
    Gummer's a good actress in a mediocre sitcom; one that skirts the line between grown-up series and one that will appeal to The CW's young-girl demographic.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 15, 2012
    50
    Finally you get the sense that Meryl Streep's daughter is coming into her own as an actress and even a lead. But Emily needs a script doc, stat.
  5. 40
    The plot has a few moments designed to reassure us that Emily is a competent grown-up who's good at her job, but for the most part, she comes off as a bland, clueless, simpering person who doesn't realize how accomplished (and privileged) she is.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    As is, there's nary a beat in Emily Owens' pitter-pattering heart we haven't seen elsewhere, as if the whole thing was stitched together from pieces of medical-and young-adult series past.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 12, 2012
    0
    There is not one smart or endurable moment in this series.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I love this show! It is very refreshing and Mamie Gummer is great! They really need to give it chance to get a following. She says what we are all thinking. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    I like the show. It's interesting and decent, a relief after seeing those junky reality shows and rude sitcoms being advertised. I'm rather unhappy that it's been canceled after season 1. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love this show...I work in Cardiology and I know everything that is going on!!!! Love, Love, Love Emily Owens!!! I have to wait until January 1st in order to watch another show!!! Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Mammie is a great actress and it's so fun to watch her in anything she does.... but I love this take on a medical program. I love watching the show because there is a sense of authenticity, rawness, and intimacy with the character. You see the ups and downs..... and it's not so predictable as with so many other shows. I keep expecting a certain story line, then become surprised by the direction of the show. Mammie is great! I highly recommend this show! Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I am so sad to hear it is being canceled. It is not often I feel connected to characters in a show these days, I do with these. I think it is because many of us have been in Emily's place in some way. It is one of my absolutely favorite shows. Collapse
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    I have enjoyed this show immensely. I wish that it wasn't going to be canceled. It deserves a chance on another night or at least paired with other shows with a similar audience. The acting is of a high quality and for a medical soap it's different then the others that have received a lot more success. I suspect that if this show were on another network it would be a hit. Furthermore the WB has kept other shows on the air that even had less of an audience. Mamie gives it a lot of heart and soul. I can relate so much to her dorkiness. I love her internal struggles. She's happy to be smart and we are happy to watch a show with a lead character who is really smart, a good person and attractive to boot. I have never been moved enough to complain about a show's cancellation before. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    I have wanted a new medical drama for a long time. So I'm not going to give this show a negative review, because it does what a medical drama should do. It tells the stories of the patients, it showcases the lives of the doctors, it's in a hospital. There is one thing that makes my rating so low. It's the fact that it just seems like a Grey's Anatomy copy, only worse. I hate how it focuses more on the personal lives of the doctors. I also don't like how she talks in her head. This show is kind of annoying. I would recommend it if nothing else is on TV. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews