• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 17, 2013
    100
    The show's must-see second season is one of the best stories I've experienced in a long time.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 17, 2013
    100
    The show is an absolute original. [28 Jan 2013, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 11, 2013
    90
    Enlightened comes through with a triumphant eight-episode arc that broadens its characters, quickens the pace and finishes strong.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 11, 2013
    100
    Laura Dern and Mike White continue their bold, hilarious, tremendously moving exploration of Amy Jellicoe's ongoing attempt to give meaning to her life. [18 Jan 2013, p.74]
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 10, 2013
    100
    Self-delusion can grow fairly tiresome, in life and on TV, but what makes Amy sympathetic is that even though she almost convinces us at times that her personal fairy tale actually makes sense, we are always aware of her basic decency and, more important, her vulnerability.
  6. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    That Enlightened's propagandist and activist message is tinged with irony only makes it more perfectly tooled to our times.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    HBO's enlightened is simply an outstanding show: the writing is subtle, clever and funny. I had not seen such a sophisticated and genuine show since In Treatment. Full Review »
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Just saw the 5 episode of season 2.It's just amazing. I hope the show will continue as great as this last episode. Definitely, my favourite for this year. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Laura Dern does an amazing job as Amy Jelicoe, a relatable and likeable lead of a cast full of misits. Enlightened is an amazing and endearing show written by the talented Mike White, who brings this story and the quirky characters to life and gives them distinct and nuanced voices. Full Review »