Enlightened : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2011
Season #: 1, 2
Enlightened Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Amy and Tyler seek to take down the corporation. Molly Shannon as the executive assistant to the CEO of Abaddonn Industries and Dermot Mulroney as an investigative reporter join the cast.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Jan 8, 2013
    100
    That Enlightened's propagandist and activist message is tinged with irony only makes it more perfectly tooled to our times.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 17, 2013
    100
    The show is an absolute original. [28 Jan 2013, p.44]
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 10, 2013
    100
    Self-delusion can grow fairly tiresome, in life and on TV, but what makes Amy sympathetic is that even though she almost convinces us at times that her personal fairy tale actually makes sense, we are always aware of her basic decency and, more important, her vulnerability.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 11, 2013
    100
    Laura Dern and Mike White continue their bold, hilarious, tremendously moving exploration of Amy Jellicoe's ongoing attempt to give meaning to her life. [18 Jan 2013, p.74]
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 17, 2013
    100
    The show's must-see second season is one of the best stories I've experienced in a long time.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 11, 2013
    90
    Enlightened comes through with a triumphant eight-episode arc that broadens its characters, quickens the pace and finishes strong.
  7. 80
    Contemporary TV is suddenly filled with shows starring charismatic yet ostentatiously flawed heroines: Homeland, The Mindy Project, Girls, Don't Trust the B---- in Apartment 23. Enlightened stands out because its vision is so much wider.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    HBO's enlightened is simply an outstanding show: the writing is subtle, clever and funny. I had not seen such a sophisticated and genuineHBO's enlightened is simply an outstanding show: the writing is subtle, clever and funny. I had not seen such a sophisticated and genuine show since In Treatment. Collapse
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    I adore this show! It is hilarious, sad, thought-provoking and quite touching. The writing is brilliant. Dern constantly surprises atI adore this show! It is hilarious, sad, thought-provoking and quite touching. The writing is brilliant. Dern constantly surprises at first she seems to be a kooky and unstable woman who is trying to recover from a serious mental breakdown; she seems unable to tolerate unpleasant emotions and rejection without becoming unglued. However, she slowly becomes a three dimensional human who reminds the viewer that we all should be more distraught when we are disrespected and treated poorly. Moreover, corporate greed and the overall state of humanity is deranged. Possibly, we should all become more unhinged now and then! Laura Dern's character helps me get in touch with an existential part of myself; her character holds the tension of hope and hopelessness, freedom and feeling utterly trapped. By the end of each season I am convinced that I want to be a better person. Expand
  3. May 18, 2013
    10
    9/10 but I'm giving it a ten to help cancel out Oinker and boredbychoice's semi-idiotic votes. As a man with basic needs I watch shows like9/10 but I'm giving it a ten to help cancel out Oinker and boredbychoice's semi-idiotic votes. As a man with basic needs I watch shows like The Office (10/10), Breaking Bad (10), Game of Thrones (10), Family Guy(9), Walking Dead (9), Elementary (8.5), The Americans (9) etc. I feel the need to write reviews only when a show is being discarded at first glance by men with extreme fear of the return of shows like Sex in the City, Desperate Housewives, Dharma and Greg etc. (all not really that bad). Shows that were forced on us by women. Mike white and Laura Dern have made a new piece of golden age television with Enlightened. This is a show for deep thinkers and twist lovers. Be prepared to second guess every turn and piece the enlightening puzzle together as the tale comes to light. Characters act according to a very specific timeline while the standard building process unfolds. Trust the season 2 metascore and understand this is a fast-paced and intriguing show for any viewer. Mike White and Luke Wilson keep you steady while Laura Dern goes off the rails in this epic narrative of the trials and tribulations of corporate, first-world America.

    Don't you dare write a review after seeing half an episode.
    Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Enlightened is the best show on TV right now, in my opinion. I find it a tribute to the show that most negative reviews center around theEnlightened is the best show on TV right now, in my opinion. I find it a tribute to the show that most negative reviews center around the notion that "Amy isn't likeable/Amy lacks self-awareness/Amy isn't as heroic as she wants to believe she is." That's the whole point of Amy, folks. If the show fails for you because it hits its bullseye, you need to watch less sophisticated programming. There are plenty of shows that don't offer fully realized, complicated characters like Amy. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    What a nice surprise this show was. Each individual character's perspective is seamlessly interwoven into the central character's (Dern) mainWhat a nice surprise this show was. Each individual character's perspective is seamlessly interwoven into the central character's (Dern) main journey. Dern's character effectively represents the idea of hope in times of hardship. This central message is a really nice change of pace when compared to most current shows. Directing, acting, and writing are all top-notch. An excellent show. Plain and simple. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    8
    Laura Dern is the only reason I watch this series and she is the only reason I like it. Of course, there are other characters as well and theLaura Dern is the only reason I watch this series and she is the only reason I like it. Of course, there are other characters as well and the premise of the show is likable but this is only because Dern makes it so. Her performance and the plot that revolves around her including her efforts to be positive and better herself and everything around her is entertaining. The best part of the show is that she can turn those unfunny situations into funny ones and save the show from falling apart. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    I will never understand how this got this high in critic scores. I just saw it really likable at first, then it just became annoying. HBO, youI will never understand how this got this high in critic scores. I just saw it really likable at first, then it just became annoying. HBO, you did a great job at first, then it just disappeared. I just don't know what to say right now. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  2. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.