• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 10, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Enlightened Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Amy Jellicoe (Laura Dern), a corporate executive who suffered a breakdown, comes out of her Hawaiian mental-heath treatment center with a new outlook on life.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Oct 10, 2011
    100
    This engagingly uncomfortable series is not like anything you've seen before.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    Dern is fantastic as Amy--you cringe as her histrionics drive people away, and cringe again as she tries to suppress her feelings behind a veneer of New Age peacefulness.
  3. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Oct 10, 2011
    88
    [The] disappointment, and the full-hearted yet misguided ways Amy imagines she might transcend it, are the real subjects of the series, and Dern and White have both seemingly spent long careers in preparation for a project exactly as ambivalent, humane, and beautifully contradictory as this.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 5, 2011
    80
    Dern, Wilson, Ladd, White and Sharp are excellent in this strange little vehicle.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 19, 2011
    70
    A black comedy working many shades of gray, Enlightened is about dark mornings of the soul and the fool's-golden glow of the new convert, and it measures the weight of the world with an eccentric scale.
  6. Although the show features strong performances and is piercing in its emotional honesty, it also get bogged down in its own existential angst.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 10, 2011
    50
    As set up by White (and Dern, who's a producer and a contributor on the pilot script), Enlightened feels too lightweight to work as a short drama, and too clumsy in its attempts at humor to work that way.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    It doesn't surprise me that some people don't find this show funny. I don't find Tosh.0 or Two and a Half Men Funny. People have different tastes.
    I think Enlightened is kind of brilliant. It's a perfect blend of dark comedy, satire, and drama with a socially conscientious flair that is desperately needed in this age. It's a show for the hopeful cynics and idealists with the ability to laugh at themselves and the absurdity they see in the world around them. Nate Fisher was annoying in his struggle for meaning and hope too, but at least Amy Jelicoe does something about it and perseveres. Turn Six Feet Under into a half hour comedy about hope in place of death, and you'll come up with something pretty close to Enlightened.
    Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This show is amazing. With the first few episodes I wasn't sure what to make of it, and at that point my boyfriend stopped watching it with me because he "can't handle Amy." Not many people can. The main character is deeply flawed and often annoying. She makes painful social missteps, is completely self-absorbed, either overly friendly or mad as hell, and prone to new-ageisms. So yeah, we all know this woman. Which is one of the most amazing things about this show: that they dared to make a realistically flawed middle aged female. Also, the writing is superb, and the show just gets better as the season progresses. Occupy Abbadon! Collapse
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This series is a call for those who are tense and trying to keep up with a good life with success but ruining it at the same time...and that's it! What can be more identifiable nowadays in a world full of rational power? This approach to the spiritual subject in the edge between a life lesson and a parody makes it special for me. The humor and the characters are a lot like those of a Todd Solondz film. I love the ending. Watching the last scene in the elevator made me think of a spiritual enlightened direction of the authors. Dern and White should stay as a team for a long time. This is the most comfortable fiction show I've ever seen. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    This a seriously great show: brilliant writing and acting that slowly works on you. At first I found almost everything about it excruciatingly embarrassing, until I realised I'd fallen into an elegant trap. The main character is brilliantly played and written on the edge(s) of pathos and comedy, repulsion and attraction, self absorption and idealism. And she grows in an unbelievable believable way. An awesome show that rewards you sticking through some uncomfortably cringe worthy moments. Cringing not because the show is bad, but because it's about you, us, in ways that are both embarrassing and uplifting. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    This was okay. Laura Dern is fantastic, and her character has a lot of depth, but everything else is flat. The first episode started out very good, but as it went on, it became relatively annoying and not as entertaining. Hopefully it finds itself quickly, because I'm not quite sure what it can do to grow. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2013
    4
    A show about a loser who becomes enlightened and keeps losing at life. Season 1 is great if you want to watch someone fail. And fail. And fail. And then fail.

    And fail.

    Season 2 is very good. Skip this one. Go watch that one instead.
    Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2014
    1
    I wanted to like this...But its a show about a neurotic woman who is trying to keep a semblance of control in her life...She just didn't resonate with me...I was embarrassed for her but didn't like her .... Much like watching someone throw a temper tantrum in public.....I just want to look away..and so I will.. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  2. Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2011 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: December 1, 2011
    The fall season is over, so it's time for our annual rankings of the best and worst new shows of the season. Plus, compare the records of the five broadcast networks, and see how 2011 stacks up to the year before.