• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 18, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 21, 2011
    83
    Entourage is clarifying a moral message--drugs will kill you, terrible behavior is terrible, and real friends are forever. It feels like a reassuring final season.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 21, 2011
    83
    Entourage looks as though it still has enough juice--comedy, drama and Drama-wise--to make its last season a keeper.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The series is unmatched as a portrait of the entertainment industry. [8 Aug 2011, p.39]
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 22, 2011
    75
    Piven and Dillon, of course, steal every scene. That you already know. But Caan and Coates manage to give two classic Hollywood stereotypes such real flesh and bones, that you'll wish that Season 8 was the precursor to Season 9.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jul 18, 2011
    75
    What the series may come down to is the enduring notion that friendship is the simplest and best premise for comedies. Oh, and all the better if you can get people like Tony Bennett, Martin Scorsese, and Anna Faris to make appearances with those friends.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 25, 2011
    70
    Entourage offers a reason for fans to be encouraged about the quality of its last episodes.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Jul 25, 2011
    60
    Ari's misfortunes and an event at the end of this season's third episode hint that Entourage may yet drift back to Season Seven's darker and potentially more cathartic territory, a conclusion for the series that tells us something new about the industry, perhaps. Another possibility is that the show's makers are preparing for a future movie.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    I can't disagree with those who insist the show passed its sell-by date a few years back, but it doesn't mean I'm not still fond enough of these guys to keep watching.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    Although the series undeniably embodied a certain place and time for a showbiz-savvy contingent of the HBO audience, the show's best days are behind it, and the eighth-and-final-season curtain appears to be coming down none too soon.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    While the writers are still finding specific situations they haven't tapped before, like Vince's trip to rehab, the responses, the dynamic and the jokes all feel like they're slipping into reruns.
  11. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    50
    The show still feels like it's coasting off the success of those super-charged early seasons.
  12. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Jul 22, 2011
    50
    Some of last season's morose attention to addiction has crept into the new episodes, signaling, possibly, that our band of brothers is on the road to disillusionment or even disaster. But the occasional insertion of a bitter pill in with all the uppers, more often than not, comes off as disingenuous.
  13. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jul 26, 2011
    40
    The only bright light in this grimness is Mr. Piven's Ari--ever his electric self even in the middle of heartbreak (he's separated from his wife). Long may he shine.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 22, 2011
    40
    Saving the least for last, Entourage feels awfully washed-out and washed-up, kind of like Vince Chase's dormant career, as the show counts down to the end.
  15. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 25, 2011
    30
    Here it is, back for an eighth season of eight episodes, and the only reason to return to it is the culmination of storylines. Meaning, to come back to find out what happens to Vince and the boys (and their various girls). And that's really the problem.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 7 out of 12
  1. Jul 25, 2011
    2
    This show is comically bad. It magically shows up on the PVR each year, and somehow I watch some of it. Entourage is like an old dog thatThis show is comically bad. It magically shows up on the PVR each year, and somehow I watch some of it. Entourage is like an old dog that needs to be put down. Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. True fans of a great series never would like to see it end. For 7 out of 8 seasons, I was a true fan of Entourage. The show grabbed my attention by giving an inside glimpse of a glamorous Hollywood lifestyle filled with cars, beautiful women, and every luxury at your fingertips, all the while surrounded by your best friends. However accurate or inaccurate this depiction of the Hollywood lifestyle is, it paints a better picture than I would be able to in my own head, and you know what? I like what I see. Season 8 has basically set that painting on fire. The show has been getting farther and farther away from what made people fall in love with it in the first place. We loved to see Ari endlessly berate Lloyd without remorse, for him to burst into offices doing and saying what you have always dreamed of doing to your boss. We loved seeing Vince live a life of bachelorhood that most men can only imagine, having chance encounters with beautiful women, only to have them in bed in the next scene. We loved seeing E knock out Seth Green, Seth Green's entourage...mostly just Seth Green. I understand that the show is trying to develop its characters, give some depth to their stories, and shake things up a bit, but that's not why I started watching Entourage and kept watching Entourage. I never thought Entourage had great acting (with the exception of Ari and Drama) or a plot line that was all that interesting...and that is OK. Entourage is a guys show, guys need some good laughs, some gratuitous nudity, and a glimpse of the good life, and this show provided it 10 fold, up until Season 8. At first I thought perhaps they were just teasing us, but the show hasn't gotten back to its roots at all. I don't care that Andrew Dice Clay wants more money or that Vince is in love with this journalist or that Turtle wants to start his own business or that E can't stop crying over Sloan and I HATE that Ari hasn't knocked Booby Flay out yet. GET BACK TO WHAT YOU DO WELL ENTOURAGE!!! Let's end it on a good note! Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I hate to say it (because I'm still watching it), but it's a little boring this season (8). If the most intrigue we're going to see comes from Andrew "Dice" Clay's holding out for more money because he thinks his cartoon tested well, we've got problems. I have to agree with Greg & Andy that Franklin & Bash is the new (and better) Entourage.... Full Review »