• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 18, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 33
  2. Negative: 14 out of 33

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hate to say it (because I'm still watching it), but it's a little boring this season (8). If the most intrigue we're going to see comes from Andrew "Dice" Clay's holding out for more money because he thinks his cartoon tested well, we've got problems. I have to agree with Greg & Andy that Franklin & Bash is the new (and better) Entourage.... Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    What a great season this was. I loved the show, but after Season 7 I gave up on it. But after a year I decided to give it another chance, and I'm glad I did. The writer dropped back the comedy and focused more on the drama side of the the show, which I was surprised and happy to see since it made them seem less liek douchbags (they even make fun of "hug it out"). The first few episodes made it a little hard to get into the season, but they all ended with cliffhangers that just made what to watch the next episode. And after the first few episodes they focused more on the individual plot line of the character. Everyone had their own. All the stories were very intriguing, except for Ari's but that may be because I never really did like how Jeremy Piven's character. Kevin Connolly, Adrian Grenier and Jerry Ferrara really did bring their A game this season, and it's because of them that I think made this season work. Adrian Grenier played against his normal character, he was less selfish, a lot more laid back and just played a more gentle and soft spoken Vincent Chase. Kevin Connolly played the same kind of "bitchy" Eric Murphy that he normally plays, but this time i just seemed to work, his character seemed more deep. Jerry Ferrara also played against his normal character.as for Kevin Dillon was good too, but I could never get past the ridiculousness and how egocentric his character was, although this season he did tone it back which made him much more bearable. The series finale was definitely good, but it didn't have a series finale vibe since it left the ending open (which makes sense because of the rumors of an Entourage movie). All in all a very good season. 8.9/10 Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2011
    2
    A lot like The Soprano's, this show should have ended about two years before it actually did. There was no need to make another season, especially since it has been so boring so far. Bobby Flay and The Dice man have been the two most interesting characters on this season, and I'm pretty sure most young people have no idea who either of them are. As always Adrian Grenier is the worst actor on the show, which just adds to irony since he's supposed to be an actor. Bad writing, bad acting, and a plot all over the place makes for a very bad season. Skip this one. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    2
    My girlfriend loves Season 8. But she also loves Grays Anatomy. This used to be an excellent show but now its drivel . Did the change the writers or something. I no longer watch it but my girlfriend cant get enough of its melodrama.
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    2
    This show is comically bad. It magically shows up on the PVR each year, and somehow I watch some of it. Entourage is like an old dog that needs to be put down.
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    This season seems more like Season 7 part 2. Ive now seen the 1st 4 eps of season 8 and its really just tying up plots from season 7. There have been a few good one liners here and there and I do like the Ari story line being a little different than what we have come to expect from his character. I going to miss this show when its gone. Only 4 eps left to wrap it all up. Hope they make a couple movies atleast. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    Granted, this season is a bit of a departure from the usual in the world of E and Vince, but that's what makes it great. Watching Ari, Vince, and the others evolve is the beauty of this final season. With Ari dealing...trying to deal...with the separation, Vince just a few months out of rehab, and not to mention the developments at the end of episode 3, this season could go absolutely any direction. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. True fans of a great series never would like to see it end. For 7 out of 8 seasons, I was a true fan of Entourage. The show grabbed my attention by giving an inside glimpse of a glamorous Hollywood lifestyle filled with cars, beautiful women, and every luxury at your fingertips, all the while surrounded by your best friends. However accurate or inaccurate this depiction of the Hollywood lifestyle is, it paints a better picture than I would be able to in my own head, and you know what? I like what I see. Season 8 has basically set that painting on fire. The show has been getting farther and farther away from what made people fall in love with it in the first place. We loved to see Ari endlessly berate Lloyd without remorse, for him to burst into offices doing and saying what you have always dreamed of doing to your boss. We loved seeing Vince live a life of bachelorhood that most men can only imagine, having chance encounters with beautiful women, only to have them in bed in the next scene. We loved seeing E knock out Seth Green, Seth Green's entourage...mostly just Seth Green. I understand that the show is trying to develop its characters, give some depth to their stories, and shake things up a bit, but that's not why I started watching Entourage and kept watching Entourage. I never thought Entourage had great acting (with the exception of Ari and Drama) or a plot line that was all that interesting...and that is OK. Entourage is a guys show, guys need some good laughs, some gratuitous nudity, and a glimpse of the good life, and this show provided it 10 fold, up until Season 8. At first I thought perhaps they were just teasing us, but the show hasn't gotten back to its roots at all. I don't care that Andrew Dice Clay wants more money or that Vince is in love with this journalist or that Turtle wants to start his own business or that E can't stop crying over Sloan and I HATE that Ari hasn't knocked Booby Flay out yet. GET BACK TO WHAT YOU DO WELL ENTOURAGE!!! Let's end it on a good note! Expand
  9. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    love it. This season is doing a good job mixing the comedy and the seriousness. The Ari Gold story is great in my opinion. It is adding some humanity to the great over the top character. Drama is still as funny as ever. To me Turtle has lost some of his humor as he is starting to become more of a serious character instead of a mooch of Vince.
  10. Sep 11, 2011
    1
    I give it a 1 out of nostalgia. It used to be better. Now, it's like that comic strip "Family Circus." No one ages. No one changes or grows. No conflict persists. How anyone can watch Entourage without being bored is beyond me.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    Terrible ending to a generally entertaining show. Vince should've ended up on a "reality show" as one of the truer lessons in Hollywood is that most talent-less celebrities fade. I loved the season where Vince's actual ability to "act" was questioned and think it's from there that show went in all the wrong directions. Instead of Gus and Scorsese functioning as some kind of directorial "god of the machine", I wished they'd followed a truer path. The cocaine addition, porno star girlfriend and Eminem beating some ass felt right. Wish it had chosen a more cynical, acerbic conclusion as opposed to yet another trite and dull Hollywood ending. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 1, 2011
    50
    The show still feels like it's coasting off the success of those super-charged early seasons.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The series is unmatched as a portrait of the entertainment industry. [8 Aug 2011, p.39]
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jul 26, 2011
    40
    The only bright light in this grimness is Mr. Piven's Ari--ever his electric self even in the middle of heartbreak (he's separated from his wife). Long may he shine.