• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 18, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Entourage Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vinnie and his crew are on their final season with a rumored movie that may continue their adventures.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 21, 2011
    83
    Entourage is clarifying a moral message--drugs will kill you, terrible behavior is terrible, and real friends are forever. It feels like a reassuring final season.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 21, 2011
    83
    Entourage looks as though it still has enough juice--comedy, drama and Drama-wise--to make its last season a keeper.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jul 29, 2011
    75
    The series is unmatched as a portrait of the entertainment industry. [8 Aug 2011, p.39]
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    While the writers are still finding specific situations they haven't tapped before, like Vince's trip to rehab, the responses, the dynamic and the jokes all feel like they're slipping into reruns.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    Although the series undeniably embodied a certain place and time for a showbiz-savvy contingent of the HBO audience, the show's best days are behind it, and the eighth-and-final-season curtain appears to be coming down none too soon.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 21, 2011
    60
    I can't disagree with those who insist the show passed its sell-by date a few years back, but it doesn't mean I'm not still fond enough of these guys to keep watching.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 25, 2011
    30
    Here it is, back for an eighth season of eight episodes, and the only reason to return to it is the culmination of storylines. Meaning, to come back to find out what happens to Vince and the boys (and their various girls). And that's really the problem.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    love it. This season is doing a good job mixing the comedy and the seriousness. The Ari Gold story is great in my opinion. It is adding some humanity to the great over the top character. Drama is still as funny as ever. To me Turtle has lost some of his humor as he is starting to become more of a serious character instead of a mooch of Vince. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    This season seems more like Season 7 part 2. Ive now seen the 1st 4 eps of season 8 and its really just tying up plots from season 7. There have been a few good one liners here and there and I do like the Ari story line being a little different than what we have come to expect from his character. I going to miss this show when its gone. Only 4 eps left to wrap it all up. Hope they make a couple movies atleast. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    What a great season this was. I loved the show, but after Season 7 I gave up on it. But after a year I decided to give it another chance, and I'm glad I did. The writer dropped back the comedy and focused more on the drama side of the the show, which I was surprised and happy to see since it made them seem less liek douchbags (they even make fun of "hug it out"). The first few episodes made it a little hard to get into the season, but they all ended with cliffhangers that just made what to watch the next episode. And after the first few episodes they focused more on the individual plot line of the character. Everyone had their own. All the stories were very intriguing, except for Ari's but that may be because I never really did like how Jeremy Piven's character. Kevin Connolly, Adrian Grenier and Jerry Ferrara really did bring their A game this season, and it's because of them that I think made this season work. Adrian Grenier played against his normal character, he was less selfish, a lot more laid back and just played a more gentle and soft spoken Vincent Chase. Kevin Connolly played the same kind of "bitchy" Eric Murphy that he normally plays, but this time i just seemed to work, his character seemed more deep. Jerry Ferrara also played against his normal character.as for Kevin Dillon was good too, but I could never get past the ridiculousness and how egocentric his character was, although this season he did tone it back which made him much more bearable. The series finale was definitely good, but it didn't have a series finale vibe since it left the ending open (which makes sense because of the rumors of an Entourage movie). All in all a very good season. 8.9/10 Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. True fans of a great series never would like to see it end. For 7 out of 8 seasons, I was a true fan of Entourage. The show grabbed my attention by giving an inside glimpse of a glamorous Hollywood lifestyle filled with cars, beautiful women, and every luxury at your fingertips, all the while surrounded by your best friends. However accurate or inaccurate this depiction of the Hollywood lifestyle is, it paints a better picture than I would be able to in my own head, and you know what? I like what I see. Season 8 has basically set that painting on fire. The show has been getting farther and farther away from what made people fall in love with it in the first place. We loved to see Ari endlessly berate Lloyd without remorse, for him to burst into offices doing and saying what you have always dreamed of doing to your boss. We loved seeing Vince live a life of bachelorhood that most men can only imagine, having chance encounters with beautiful women, only to have them in bed in the next scene. We loved seeing E knock out Seth Green, Seth Green's entourage...mostly just Seth Green. I understand that the show is trying to develop its characters, give some depth to their stories, and shake things up a bit, but that's not why I started watching Entourage and kept watching Entourage. I never thought Entourage had great acting (with the exception of Ari and Drama) or a plot line that was all that interesting...and that is OK. Entourage is a guys show, guys need some good laughs, some gratuitous nudity, and a glimpse of the good life, and this show provided it 10 fold, up until Season 8. At first I thought perhaps they were just teasing us, but the show hasn't gotten back to its roots at all. I don't care that Andrew Dice Clay wants more money or that Vince is in love with this journalist or that Turtle wants to start his own business or that E can't stop crying over Sloan and I HATE that Ari hasn't knocked Booby Flay out yet. GET BACK TO WHAT YOU DO WELL ENTOURAGE!!! Let's end it on a good note! Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2011
    2
    This show is comically bad. It magically shows up on the PVR each year, and somehow I watch some of it. Entourage is like an old dog that needs to be put down. Collapse
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    2
    My girlfriend loves Season 8. But she also loves Grays Anatomy. This used to be an excellent show but now its drivel . Did the change the writers or something. I no longer watch it but my girlfriend cant get enough of its melodrama. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2011
    1
    I give it a 1 out of nostalgia. It used to be better. Now, it's like that comic strip "Family Circus." No one ages. No one changes or grows. No conflict persists. How anyone can watch Entourage without being bored is beyond me. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews