• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 18, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Entourage Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Debi Mazar, Jeremy Piven, Kevin Dillon
  • Summary: Vince Chase is a sexy young actor whose career is on the rise. To share the fun of his ride to the top of Hollywood and keep him grounded, Vince looks to Eric, Drama and Turtle, his childhood buddies from Queens. Together, they'll navigate the highs and lows of Hollywood's fast lane, whereVince Chase is a sexy young actor whose career is on the rise. To share the fun of his ride to the top of Hollywood and keep him grounded, Vince looks to Eric, Drama and Turtle, his childhood buddies from Queens. Together, they'll navigate the highs and lows of Hollywood's fast lane, where the stakes are higher, and the money and temptations greater, than ever before. But that certainly will not stop them from having fun the whole way through.Adrian Grenier ("The Devil Wears Prada", "Drive Me Crazy") stars as Vince, an actor on the verge of stardom. Kevin Connolly ("Antwone Fisher," "John Q") plays Eric, Vince's closest confidant who's learning the rules of the business as he tries to help Vince make the right choices and keep his goals aimed high. Kevin Dillon ("The Doors," "Platoon") plays Vince's half-brother Johnny Drama, whose own acting aspirations have been eclipsed by Vince's success, but that doesn't stop Johnny from constantly looking for work and going to auditions. Jerry Ferrara ("Grounded for Life," "Leap of Faith") plays Turtle, the least experienced of the group who is always up for a good time. Jeremy Piven ("Old School," "The Larry Sanders Show") plays Ari, Vince's aggressive, high-powered agent, who clashes with Eric over his client's decisions.Theme Song:"Superhero" by Jane's Addiction Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
  • Creator: Doug Ellin
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jul 18, 2004
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 17, 2013
    91
    As a profane peek into current showbiz, Entourage is excellent, dirty fun.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Apr 18, 2013
    90
    It shows us that comedy isn't really dead, it's merely been snoozing, and this savvy shot of character-driven adrenaline serves as the wake-up call. Packed with brutal showbiz truths and snappy dialogue, the half-hour is revelatory in the clever way it spotlights the empty shell of celebrityhood and the party-hearty superficiality of those caught up in its reflected glow... And watch for this to be Piven's breakout role. His agent Ari is a creation of slimeball wonder. [16 July 2004]
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 18, 2013
    88
    Based on the real-life Hollywood adventures of Mark Wahlberg, Entourage is the almost shockingly entertaining story of an incredibly unlikely set of sitcom heroes: an up-and-coming star known for his looks more than his talent and his hanger-on friends. What could have been a recipe for disaster, or at the very least for one of those HBO shows people respect more than enjoy, is instead an unassuming treat.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Entourage works precisely because it's nearly soulless. These guys are wallowing in excess. Any less of a cannonball into it would seem unbelievable. But there's no ignoring how childish and annoyingly limited the group can be, including some aspects of Eric.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 18, 2013
    70
    The show seems sophomoric at first, but gradually graduates to an interesting look at Hollywood's fast-lane ups and downs. [18 July 2004, p.3]
  6. Reviewed by: Jennifer Frey
    Apr 18, 2013
    60
    There are shades of "Swingers" -- that 1996 indie hit starring Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughn -- all over this show, but it gives up much of what "Swingers" had in heart in exchange for heavier satire. Think "Swingers" if Vaughn finally did make it big and the other guys gave up their dreams and just went along for the ride. [18 July 2004, p.N01]
  7. Reviewed by: David Zurawik
    Apr 18, 2013
    30
    The show is vulgar, adolescent and sexist -- and seems proud of it. [18 July 2004, p.2F]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I've got 70 days of watching TV shows and I can surely say that this is my favourite one ever.There is everything in it! I watched it in oneI've got 70 days of watching TV shows and I can surely say that this is my favourite one ever.There is everything in it! I watched it in one breath
    Unpredictable,dramatic,sarcastic and funny!
    Ari Gold has a unique charisma,the best character for me there.
    If you don't know what show you'd like to watch no doubt entourage.
    Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Who wouldn't want a crew with this much fun? Reminds you to enjoy life to the fullest because its too short. At the same time be responsibleWho wouldn't want a crew with this much fun? Reminds you to enjoy life to the fullest because its too short. At the same time be responsible for your decisions. Arie Gold is a star born for more to come. Globe worthy Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Entourage has a perfect balance between childish behaviour and adult humor. Plots, characters, guest actors, script, soundtrack... They prettyEntourage has a perfect balance between childish behaviour and adult humor. Plots, characters, guest actors, script, soundtrack... They pretty much brought everything together with a perfect feeling. I stopped watching Entourage when season 3 was in production and now I'm rerunning from scratch and only after the first two seasons I just can't wait to watch everything.

    Let's hope they don't ruin my positivity about our gang.
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    Entourage is a great t.v series, seasons are short and funny, one can not get bored watching the show unlike most of sitcoms on air theseEntourage is a great t.v series, seasons are short and funny, one can not get bored watching the show unlike most of sitcoms on air these days- How i met your mother, 30 Rock, Two and a half men- sure these are all good shows but most of the people get bored halfway through an episode, Entourage is a different kind of show with a completely unique story line. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    Season 1: The first season of Entourage had it's fare share of laughs and celebrity appearances. The whole first season felt more like aSeason 1: The first season of Entourage had it's fare share of laughs and celebrity appearances. The whole first season felt more like a sampling of things to come from the show rather then a entire season it self. With only eight episodes I have to think that HBO wasn't to confident in this show at first but after the viewer response it went a head and ordered a second batch of shows that would later be deemed "Season 2" Collapse
  6. May 25, 2013
    4
    I Caught this show on TV a little while back and decided, following the positive reviews, to give it a go. I continued watching until almostI Caught this show on TV a little while back and decided, following the positive reviews, to give it a go. I continued watching until almost the end of the first season but could just never get into it.

    The show does have its humorous moments, most provided by the stars agent 'Ari', brilliantly played by Jeremy Piven of Ellen fame. Ultimately though, for me at least, Entourage lacks the out and out laughs of a good sit-com and does not have the storylines of a top drama, leaving the show in an awkward middle ground somewhere between the two. Add this to the fact that many of the characters are very difficult to like or care about and I have quickly switched off.
    Expand