• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Episodes (US) Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Matt LeBlanc plays a fictional version of himself in this comedy about a pair of British TV show creators who discover to their dismay that Matt has been cast in a remake of their show.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Feb 3, 2011
    100
    LeBlanc is brilliant; the writing and direction are brilliant; the show is brilliant.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 6, 2011
    100
    Episodes is flawless and hilarious. What a pity it lasts only seven episodes.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 6, 2011
    90
    Episodes, which got uproarious laughter in cut-down form at the Television Critics Assn. press tour in July, does not disappoint an ounce as it rolls through a seven-episode season. It also signals a savvy return to television for LeBlanc, who manages to be the butt of the joke one moment then hilariously likable the next.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    A satirical and quite funny comedy about two British television writers, a husband- and wife team, Sean and Beverly Lincoln (Stephen Mangan and Tamsin Greig) who are lured to Hollywood to adapt their hit sitcom for an American network.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 9, 2011
    70
    This seven-episode series, written by David Crane and Jeffrey Klarik, doesn't offer many new ideas about the evils of the TV business--a lot of the ground covered here was previously mined by the underrated 1999-2001 Showtime series "Beggars & Choosers"--but it's still fun to join in the mocking of Hollywood, a big, juicy target that Episodes hits with ease.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 11, 2011
    63
    It's a light, clever performance. But Episodes never convinces us this is really Hollywood. [17 Jan 2011, p.40]
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 7, 2011
    40
    Episodes isn't even as funny as Crane and Klarik's last collaboration, the exceedingly mediocre short-lived CBS comedy "The Class" - and that's even considering that the new show features Crane's old "Friends" star Matt LeBlanc delivering a terrific performance as an exaggerated version of himself.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Classic fish-out-of-water setup -- smartass Brits stuck in a Hollywood where they find the values of the natives fascinating and appalling. What they don't quite realize is how much they're being corrupted as they make cracks about the corruption. What keeps it from being off-putting is the touching portrait of a marriage of genuine friends. (Ironic since it is an alum of FRIENDS who most threatens it.) One of the best comedy shows to be produced for Showtime. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    after a long pause matt le balnc came up with the new show, new character very funny and hilarious and i just one to say it's worth watching and i can not stop laughing "good one " Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    One remarkable thing about this program is its ability to portray a strong marriage, albeit one with crack. Surprisingly, really, just how emotional things get between the two Brits. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    7
    It takes a while for this show to really find it's feet, some of the jokes don't land so well. But, as it progresses, it gets better and better, and I'm ready for the second season, hopefully now that the show has found its rhythm. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    6
    Because of my love for Friends I gave Episodes a shot (watched 5 of the 7 episodes so far) but honestly the series is highly disappointing. Any connection to Friends (where both one of the creators and obviously LeBlanc are from) is coincidental at best. The series is not funny, some of the actors don't fit their characters' outline and there are far too much swearing and vulgarity for my personal taste. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    4
    I have to admit. I only saw half of this show. I turned it off midway. I don't know where to start. The show tries really hard. Too hard. The writing is terrible. The acting seems over eager and the jokes just aren't funny. Maybe I should go back and watch again. Maybe the last 15 minutes are pivotal. Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2011
    0
    I couldn't watch more then 10 minutes... its AWFUL And i feel really sorry for Matt, cuz he is awesome in Friends... but Episodes.... everything is just plain dumb and not in the good way.

    I wasn't able to draw a single smile... #Comedy Epic Fail !
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews