Everwood : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Everwood Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Everwood tells the story of a widower, Dr Andy Brown, who leaves his successful job as a top Manhattan neurosurgeon to live in a small Colorado town, bringing his 9-year-old daughter Delia and 15-year-old son Ephram with him. He chooses the town of Everwood because his late wife had told himEverwood tells the story of a widower, Dr Andy Brown, who leaves his successful job as a top Manhattan neurosurgeon to live in a small Colorado town, bringing his 9-year-old daughter Delia and 15-year-old son Ephram with him. He chooses the town of Everwood because his late wife had told him of her emotional attachment to it. Many of the story lines deal with the conflicts of adjusting to a new setting, as well as getting along with new people. Dr. Brown, simply called Andy most of the time, at first finds some animosity towards Dr. Harold Abbott, with whom his professional opinions differ. However, Dr. Abbott's cranky demeanor and Andy's passive, cheerful attitude prove to mesh well and the two begin a friendly rivalry. Ephram continually struggles with his emerging adolescence, his studies as a classical pianist, and his crush on Amy Abbott, Dr. Abbott's daughter. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2013
    91
    Everwood ain't brain surgery, but that's also what helps make it an easygoing charmer.
  2. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Mar 19, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, the series has enough edge and action and compelling conflict to keep it from getting mired in sap. Berlanti, in fact, has humorously referred to Everwood as "'Our Town' on crack" and he may have something there. [16 Sept 2002, p.D1]
  3. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Mar 19, 2013
    75
    Yeah, sounds sappy. But it's just the opposite -- a charming mix of rambunctious wit, honest emotion and interesting characters. Lots of smarts and a generous heart. A winner. [16 Sept 2002]
  4. Orlando Sentinel
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Mar 20, 2013
    60
    The show can induce cringing when Ephram and Andrew engage in overheated squabbling. The nurse patly explains the problem when talking about another family: "When father and son don't get along, it usually means they have everything in common." ... The plot twists fit together too conveniently, but all the actors do well despite the sticky situations. The show's greatest asset is Smith, who makes the son fascinating. [16 Sept 2002, p.E1]
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 20, 2013
    50
    Some shows are so syrupy, you're afraid the tape will stick in the VCR. Which brings us to Everwood, a tiny Colorado town that time forgot — but that every sappy TV cliché found. Narrator? Check. Ghosts? Check. A town full of twee eccentrics? Check and checkmate.
  6. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 20, 2013
    50
    Doc Brown has his own clashes, particularly with Dr. Abbott (Tom Amandes), the town's sole general practitioner before his arrival. Abbott is a caricature, over-the-top in his arrogance. He does everything short of twirling a mustache to shout, "I'm the bad guy!" This is where "Everwood" hits a bump....With such realism in the relationship between Ephram and his father, it's a shame series creator and writer Greg Berlanti ("Dawson's Creek") went down such a conventional, only-on-TV path in creating this other adversarial relationship. [16 Sept 2002, p.B-1]
  7. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Steve Johnson
    Mar 19, 2013
    10
    It is better for everyone that Everwood, Colo., is fictional. If the title town in the WB's new attempt to pass off preposterous treacle as heartwarming family entertainment actually existed, I might have to go there, express, and start randomly slapping the citizens in hopes of bringing them to some kind of sense. [16 Sept 2002, p.3]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 22, 2017
    9
    I watched all 4 seasons this summer and will miss the series. I loved it. it is annoying at times (it can be too warm!! and the charactersI watched all 4 seasons this summer and will miss the series. I loved it. it is annoying at times (it can be too warm!! and the characters care about doing the right thing too often), BUT I was charmed. I especially loved the romance between Bright (Chris Pratt) and Hannah (Sarah Drew) - which is exceptional and you root for both of those very likeable and vulnerable kids. Great series I will miss it. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    A few years ago, I was watching a very forgettable movie on cable, so forgettable in fact, that I can't even remember the name of it. ThisA few years ago, I was watching a very forgettable movie on cable, so forgettable in fact, that I can't even remember the name of it. This film did however have a tremendous teen actor, who I took note of, because of the charisma and intensity that he brought to his role. I thought this kid could one day be a big star and took note of his name, Gregory Smith. Since then I have become a huge Gregory Smith fan, seeing most of his films and now his TV show, Everwood. The story of Everwood begins when world famous neurosurgeon, Dr. Andrew Brown (Treat Williams), loses his wife in a car accident. Distraught, Brown decides to leave his prestigious job and move his family from New York City to the small town of Everwood, Colorado, where he opens up a free medical clinic. Brown was a brilliant surgeon, but really doesn't have a clue about how to be a father. His children, in particular his son Ephram (Gregory Smith), does not make the transition easy on him. To be honest, this isn't the kind of show that I usually go for and I was only planning on watching a couple of episodes. A couple of episodes quickly turned into much more as this infectious group of people really drew me into their lives and touched me in a way that a TV show never has. Part of me could really relate to their personal struggles and attempts at overcoming the adversity they faced, if nothing else, It was empowering and inspirational. Veteran actor, Treat Williams, leads a truly terrific cast, playing the man whose turned his life upside down in order to get closer to his children. Dr. Brown is supposed to be the one who has all the answers, at the hospital, that may be true, but at home, it's a big learning curve for him. The dynamic between this quirky celebrity doctor and his introverted, yet artistic outcast son, is really the heart of this show. Gregory Smith is off the charts good as young Ephram Brown, who possesses many of the same qualities as his father. Those qualities are usually at odds with the qualities of his mother, causing him to be a bit impulsive and quick to speak his mind. Ephram quickly falls for the most popular girl in school, Amy Abbott (Emily Van Camp), who is the daughter of Everwood's first family. Amy clearly has feeling for Ephram, but a shocking secret that keeps her from getting close to him. Van Camp, now the star of ABC's Revenge, is asked to wear many hats, sometimes she's sweet and innocent, while at other times she's immature and irritating. but no matter the mood, she's always at the top of her game, really letting you feel, what Amy is feeling. Amy's father is Dr. Harold Abbott (Tom Amandes) who was the only doctor in Everwood, until Dr. Brown showed up. Abbott is arrogant, egocentric, and absolutely hysterical. Amandes brings some much needed comic relief to the show and his interactions with the other members of the cast are priceless. If it wasn't for Everwood being a WB show, Tom Amandes would have several Emmy Awards by now, because he really is that good. Everwood is a family drama that is at times hard to watch, because you will be deeply affected by these characters and at some point will be able to personally relate to what their going through. It pulls at the heart strings, that's for sure, but seeing that adversities faced by these characters and how they were able to over come them is really an inspiration. I said earlier that this is the kind of show that I don't usually watch, but it should be for the way it made me think and the way it made me feel. Collapse