Everybody Hates Chris : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 15
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 200

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. shawnnat
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    I love this show and can not get enough of it.
  2. NehemM
    Nov 13, 2005
    8
    The show is actually interesting especially for me because I can relate to his life. However, it does give me a strong impression of the black version "Malcolm in the Middle." The mom's always angry and easily explosive. The dad is soft, and Malcolm & Chris both share the same frustrating qualities of their families. I think the show would be funnier if the stereotypes were little The show is actually interesting especially for me because I can relate to his life. However, it does give me a strong impression of the black version "Malcolm in the Middle." The mom's always angry and easily explosive. The dad is soft, and Malcolm & Chris both share the same frustrating qualities of their families. I think the show would be funnier if the stereotypes were little more subtle, and Chris Rock (narrator) didn't try so hard (w/ numerous historical clips) to illustrate his message. Overall, I do recommend the show, and hope it does last quite long because ABC has nothing else. Expand
  3. FionaR
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    reminds me of growing up in the 80's and having to babysit my little sister all the time! Hilarious
  4. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    A very clever funny show that is both original and fun to watch. It has references to the present about the past and references to those great 80s moments that they relive. For example Chris tries to go to a Run DMC concert and when he misses it, Greg tells him Aerosmith was there and sang Walk this way. Very classic 80s moment.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    Very good! I own every series and they are easily re-watchable. Good humour, and just overall fun! Tyler James Willam is a brilliant fit for Chirs. Terry Cruise just adds to the humour!
  6. Apr 27, 2014
    1
    damn everybody hates chris real bad !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. At least give him and treat him some love geez
  7. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    The show isn't really about Chris Rock's childhood is Bed-Stuy (which could be obvious), but that doesn't make it a bad show. The show is downright hilarious, and I have laughed hysterically at this show in the past. With race and black culture jokes and satire thrown in for good measure, it actually does a good job at showing people what all-black neighborhoods were like in the 1980s.The show isn't really about Chris Rock's childhood is Bed-Stuy (which could be obvious), but that doesn't make it a bad show. The show is downright hilarious, and I have laughed hysterically at this show in the past. With race and black culture jokes and satire thrown in for good measure, it actually does a good job at showing people what all-black neighborhoods were like in the 1980s. This show actually does a good job at exaggerating some stuff for comedic effect, as does Chris Rock himself with the narration, which is also outrageously hilarious. This show is easily one of my favorites ever, and always will be. Unless you don't like the subject at hand, you will definitely laugh out loud at this hysterically funny sitcom. Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2017
    5
    This show had so much potential. It's nostalgic for those of us who grew up in the 80s. It's also nostalgic for me because I was a black kid in a majority white school. I enjoy the young actors (the siblings and classmates) which are the funnier scenes. I also enjoy the cameos of actors from older sitcoms. BUT IMO the show went wrong with over-emphasizing Chris Rock's commentary. If ChrisThis show had so much potential. It's nostalgic for those of us who grew up in the 80s. It's also nostalgic for me because I was a black kid in a majority white school. I enjoy the young actors (the siblings and classmates) which are the funnier scenes. I also enjoy the cameos of actors from older sitcoms. BUT IMO the show went wrong with over-emphasizing Chris Rock's commentary. If Chris Rock tells a joke, no need to re-enact it. The joke alone could stand on it's own. This show tried too hard to make you laugh with the re-enactments and the parents. This show had so much potential! Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Let's get this straight. Everybody Hates Chris is not the Second Coming. But it is one of the season's best new series.
  2. Should appeal to fans of Rock and to viewers who long for a family comedy reminiscent of "The Cosby Show" (albeit with a sharper edge).
  3. 90
    The networks have been wondering how to compete with the no-holds barred nature of cable programming. This is it.