Extras Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Ricky Gervais, Ashley Jensen
  • Summary: The six-episode second (and likely final) season of the HBO-BBC co-production includes guest appearances by Orlando Bloom, Daniel Radcliffe and David Bowie.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. As with the Gervais-Merchant "The Office," the more time you spend with the characters in "Extras," the more you feel their pain as well as laugh at their expense.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Holcomb
    100
    The writers have shown that letting the characters drive the story can make a form as tired as the sitcom new again.
  3. "Extras" finally achieves the greatness expected of the Gervais/Merchant team with Season Two.
  4. 90
    Gervais' timing remains impeccable, and Ashley Jensen is wonderful as his shallow, lazy friend Maggie.
  5. Few stars can write and play a kicked-in-the-mouth underdog as smartly as Gervais does here.
  6. 88
    Andy's humiliations as a minor celebrity aren't quite as funny as was his earlier shame at being a nobody, but as a satire of showbiz vanity, Extras can still be described as (what else?) stellar. [29 Jan 2007, p.43]
  7. There's more humiliation than comedy.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. GlenH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    The funniest sitcom since Seinfeld, this show is absolutely imperative watching. Really makes the audience take a second look at how we view The funniest sitcom since Seinfeld, this show is absolutely imperative watching. Really makes the audience take a second look at how we view celebs, I think this is a very important production by the best comedy duo since Larry and Jerry. Hilarious cameos, great stories, amazing physical comedy from Merchant. Extras has it all, though it might not be for everyone (ie. if you love Raymond, King of Queens, etc.) There's no laugh track, the jokes aren't written like that and a studio audience would ruin the subtle awkward moments that you'll be laughing at anyway. Collapse
  2. MitchC
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, just like the Office was, Gervais Standup is, the podcasts were and the Christmas Special of Extras will be.
  3. EricC.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Wow. I don't even know what to say to Dave C. You need a laugh track to know what's funny? My god. No wonder you don't like Wow. I don't even know what to say to Dave C. You need a laugh track to know what's funny? My god. No wonder you don't like this show. It slaughters people who need laugh tracks (you must be like Andy's fans in the bar). Oh well. So anyway... For people who have never watched Extras, it follows the same basics as The Office; create a character, and torture him with struggles to succeed and uncomfortable situations. They do it perfectly with a great cast (Merchant is awesome in a starring role this time, not just a cameo like in The Office) and a relatable storyline of a man who is held back from his dream by self centered, conformist snobs who run the film industry. He also screws things up for himself a lot, though. The second season is undeniably superior to the first, in that the characters develop some depth and a steady storyline forms (Andy's tv show). I have to admit, though, that the crown jewel of the show, it's celebrity cameos, are not as insanely funny as in the first season. No actor here can match Ben Stiller trying to become a respected director or Patrick Stewart telling Andy about his screenplay, but a few come close. Amazing show that makes losing Arrested Development a little easier by reassuring us that there is such a thing as an intelligent comedy still out there. Expand
  4. JaimeM
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Hilarious.
  5. MarkB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I can't believe Dave C. Laugh tracks? His comment needs a laugh track. He's either an astronomical genius (effecting in the reader I can't believe Dave C. Laugh tracks? His comment needs a laugh track. He's either an astronomical genius (effecting in the reader that disorienting feeling of a missed punchline in order to illustrate his point about the necessity of a laugh track) or...well...I just don't know...Regarding the show: brilliant. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Amazing UK comedy Ricky and Steve have done it again this was a joy to watch i will agree with other tho that it wasn't as good as the officeAmazing UK comedy Ricky and Steve have done it again this was a joy to watch i will agree with other tho that it wasn't as good as the office but it is still amazing. Expand
  7. JimB.
    Aug 1, 2007
    3
    I just have to support "sean w", one of the only reviewers of both professionals and public that I actually agree with. Season 2 is so far I just have to support "sean w", one of the only reviewers of both professionals and public that I actually agree with. Season 2 is so far inferior it is frightening. I say frightening because up to that point everything Gervais & Merchant had done was of such a high caliber that I felt convinced they had their finger firmly on the pulse of not only what makes a comedic concept work but also of the pitfalls so typically experienced by other successful comedy creations that they seemed determined never to fall into it. That is, of fearing the loss of greater public appeal and so resorting to cheap clichéd one-joke formulas to replace genuinely intelligent and insightful comedy. But incredibly after episode 1 which actually maintains the same level of quality and intellect of all of Season 1, the rest of the Season 2 descends into committing this very crime Gervais (semi-autobiographically through Milman) identifies. Every subsequent episode features the scenario of Milman going to the next level of utter humiliation in the most extreme and absurd of circumstances. David Bowie breaking into song of the sorry state of Milman Expand

See all 19 User Reviews