• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Falling Skies Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tom (Noah Wyle) returns from the alien ship but the resistance group questions who's side is he really with.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    Skies fans should be pleased.
  2. Sunday's explosive two-hour opener boldly delivers on the promise by TNT producers to rev up both the pace and the firepower in Season 2.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Those who got on board last year have enough reason to continue flying these not-so-friendly Skies.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 22, 2012
    70
    Falling Skies has amped up the dramatic stakes this season, even offering a glimmer of hope when an unexpected visitor drops into their midst, balancing the earnest family values with a visceral survival saga that keeps the hokum mostly at bay.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 18, 2012
    60
    It's not deep, meaningful TV, but Falling Skies is OK summer entertainment for fans of breezy, things-blow-up-easy programming.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 18, 2012
    58
    Unlike the similarly post-apocalyptic "Walking Dead," there's never much tension on Falling Skies.
  7. 40
    Falling Skies is better than it used to be, but it's still whiffing the allegory, the action, and the characterization: three strikes and you're out.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    i love this show and so far all those episodes are my favorite. And second season is much interesting to watch. Can't wait to see what the rest of the episodes lead us to. Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    It is annoying to see trolls who come on here just to hate. Get a life!! Anywho, FS Season 2 has, so far, surpassed my expectations. The performances of Wyle and Patton are particularly brilliant and i'm excited to see where this season goes. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    The season has now ended, and in the end, they haven't really disappointed me. It's been a great TV show, and I just can't wait until Season 3. It looks like new Aliens are here on Earth, and we won't know if they're friend or foe. Finally, Season 3, instead of the regular 10 episodes, will feature 24 episodes happily. It's an awesome series, and I hope the plot intensifies over time. All in all, the last 2 seasons have done some actual good compared to some other ridiculous shows that make no sense. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    The show is a bit too "american" pushing on the family buttons way too much.
    And the characters are either good or bad making it hard to care
    for them. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    S2 has been a very lacklustre, average season. Awful plots, poor dialogue and so-so acting add up to a programme that I wouldn't miss if I never watched it again, but they're lucky that nothing else is on at it's timeslot. Falling Skies has so much potential that is never realised, such as the episode where the woman arrives by plane as a messenger from Charleston. What they should've done was check her back to see if she was harnessed, and if she was they could've gone from there. They did nothing. The penultimate episode where they arrive in Charleston was a waste of my time; a power mad dictator who wants to stay hidden with a general who wants to fight the skitters. The general sticks with him for no reason until the end, where they seemed to run out of time, so he randomly goes against the bald guy from Lost. Yet another 'Spielberg show' that even with his name is just poor. Skies is slightly better than Terra Nova, but at least that show had a great premiere and two fantastic last episodes, whereas Skies is consistently average. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2012
    5
    Season 2 was an improvement over season 1. However it is still a middle of the road tv show. None of the characters are remarkable. There aren't any compelling story arcs or subplots. Many of the logical problems persist from season 1. For example, no matter where the 2nd Mass travels they always have unlimited power and gasoline. Their only attempt at explaining this is they always have people out scouting for supplies. Lucky for them "supplies" are always there to be found. The show has found it's niche though and I don't expect it to crawl out of it. It sounds weird when I actually write it down, and this is probably a reason I have so much trouble liking this show, but Falling skies is a family-friendly doomsday fantasy. Obviously there will be awkwardness when trying to mix such disparate genres of TV. Since the show is a mixing of these two Genres, the writing suffers by being watered down for friendliness. It still has times when the darker elements take over and somebody die, but its mostly black and white. A situation / action / character is either wrong or right. Moral quandaries that make survivalist / doomsday fantasy compelling are not present and because of the lack of ethical dilemma's, the story is quite predictable. Even the "plot twist" change of allegiance stuff is predictable. I probably wouldn't give this show a 5 if there was any other "Scifi" shows on tv. It's a shame too, because science fiction has historically been a lens through which writers can critique societal values and norms. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ho hum! Season 2? I'm surprised this was renewed! Although I do like to watch Noah, and Will and the other young actors emote! You'd think that this invasion show would be more like the Terminator with humans living underground amidst rubble and destruction. Or humans acting like the refugees in the holocaust of the last horrible world war, hiding and scurrying to survive for food and water! In other words, acting desperate for themselves and their children and other refugees. People walk around, in daylight, as if they don't have a care in the world. Where are the alien "scout ships" patrolling the skies? The aliens look too shiny and fake. There was one good scene - when a group of humans are released from the space ship on an open field, and then, killed, shot in the back, as they ran. It was sort of like what the Nazis did!. The show is somewhat boring. Hey Spielberg, take another look and War of the Worlds I and War of the Worlds II and remember what real panic is! Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.