Falling Skies : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Falling Skies Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After an alien invasion that killed most of the human race, a group of soldiers fight back in this sci-fi drama executive-produced by Steven Spielberg.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 13, 2011
    90
    The entertainment value and suspense of Falling Skies is paced just right. You get the sense that we'll get those answers eventually. And yet, you want to devour the next episode immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: Thomas Conner
    Jun 15, 2011
    88
    It's "Jericho" meets "V," with the good from both and the bad discarded. It'll raise the summer-TV bar significantly.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Serious without being grim, uplifting without being saccharine, Falling Skies dares to image what feature films will not--a world in which Will Smith or Aaron Eckhart did not bring down the mother ship in time.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    The show doesn't have the sinister intelligence of ABC's short-lived Invasion, but it's good family entertainment. [27 Jun 2011, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    Skies has enough going for it to appeal even to those who don't think they like sci-fi.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Falling Skies' mix of compelling individuals helps to make its early use of formula less troublesome than it might have been. Later episodes develop interesting and diverse motives, as the 2nd Mass begins to figure out what the aliens are up to and how to fight them more effectively.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 17, 2011
    30
    Every attempt at treating a Big Idea seems sophomoric and irritating. Even in its look, the show lacks the elemental rawness necessary to throw its intellectual conflicts into sharp relief.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 128
  2. Negative: 52 out of 128
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Great show, well paced. It took a couple episodes for this series to really grab hold, but now after the first 5 I am hooked. There are 1 or 2Great show, well paced. It took a couple episodes for this series to really grab hold, but now after the first 5 I am hooked. There are 1 or 2 characters that I feel may have been mis-cast but the majority are spot on. Do yourself a favor and watch a few episodes, if it doesn't suck you in, no harm no foul. Speaking for myself, once an episode ends, I immediately want the next to start. Watching the pilot I wasn't sure if they could get me to care about Tom and his children, they succeeded.

    I love sci-fi but hate the stereotypical cheese that so often accompanies it. I am very thankful cheese isn't on the menu for Falling Skies. I'll take a good sci-fi drama any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Hope you enjoy this show as much as I do.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Great show and i really loved this show don't pay no mind to all those with bad review probably never watched it since the start of the show.Great show and i really loved this show don't pay no mind to all those with bad review probably never watched it since the start of the show. I would encourage everyone to watch it . This show is one of the best. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    9
    Falling Skies Falling Skies Falling Skies!!! I think this is one of the best new sci-fi epic series since Battlestar Gallactica graced theFalling Skies Falling Skies Falling Skies!!! I think this is one of the best new sci-fi epic series since Battlestar Gallactica graced the small screen. I almost feel wrong for enjoying the world of the 2ND Mass, a post apocalyptic land full of 6 legged aliens with their mysterious overlord bosses all being protected by some pretty serious military hardware. Yikes, just when it can't any worse...we learn they are taking our children and subjecting them to some pretty serious genetic manipulation in attempts to increasing thier numbers. Good writing, good effects, good cast = good times. For those who expect the world because Spielberg is attached should relax and remember, this is a weekly serial and it seems that the aliens are vary much in control. So enjoy it for what it is. I know I am. Expand
  4. drm
    Jun 20, 2011
    5
    I have to give 'Falling Skies' a big, bland 5. No, it wasn't the worst thing I've seen on television, but it was far from memorable.I have to give 'Falling Skies' a big, bland 5. No, it wasn't the worst thing I've seen on television, but it was far from memorable. Cheating us all of the opening alien apocalypse, by using children's drawings, was an enormous directorial misstep. Sometimes it's a great idea to start a story in medias res, but when your entire story is built on people reacting to the harshness of an alien invasion, you just really gotta show some of it. Right? Shouldn't be a problem for Dreamworks to work up some amazing CGI footage like that. Right? It came off as strained budget, as did the sparing presence of the aliens themselves. I know it's hard to set up a big story like this, and I think it's too soon to write it off, but seriously Dreamworks, that next episode better just rock my world, or I'm jumping ship and calling it even. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    Falling Skies is a prime example of a show trying to do something amazing but falling short of it. To summarize, Falling Skies revolves aroundFalling Skies is a prime example of a show trying to do something amazing but falling short of it. To summarize, Falling Skies revolves around a human resistance against invading aliens. Which sounds like it'd be great fun, but unfortunately, it isn't.

    Getting right down to it, Falling Skies has very sub-par writing. It's B-movie material that's unfortunately given to a great cast of actors- it's basically what you'd expect out of a rough draft from a 15 year old's "epic" movie idea. The "romance" bits are shoehorned in, along with all the other bits of cliche "character bonding" moments.

    It can't be all bad though, right? Even generic, B-level action movies can still be well liked, if only because of the overly gratuitous action. But it lacks that campy charm from, say, Starship Troopers. The action takes the backseat to the many conversation scenes that take place in the human shelter, which unnecessarily drags the show on and on. When the action finally happens, it's very slow and predictable. To top it off, it all comes across as serious- at least with a B-movie, you know it's a B-movie. However, Falling Skies tries to act like Spielberg's other alien-themed production, War of the Worlds- without any of the feeling of a constant threat, terrifying invaders, or even a somewhat realistic sense of human survival. All of the good things you'd expect from Falling Skies just don't come true.

    All in all, Falling Skies is a show that's a great idea that pretty much completely fails to deliver.
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    Turgid, ill-thought out, cloyingly sentimental: all the things Spielberg now stands for. Could it be rescued by dramatic revelations? I doubtTurgid, ill-thought out, cloyingly sentimental: all the things Spielberg now stands for. Could it be rescued by dramatic revelations? I doubt it: the plodding acting, writing and directing aren't up to it. Only the creature animation is adequate. Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    0
    Slow action, incredibly dimwitted characters, predictable plot, boring scenery. This show is a huge disappointment. It could have, it shouldSlow action, incredibly dimwitted characters, predictable plot, boring scenery. This show is a huge disappointment. It could have, it should have been great! Post apocalyptic rebuilding, or sci-fi action, or tense thriller, but no. This series fails at all levels. Even the otherwise good actors seem to have lost most of their skills. Expand

See all 128 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.