• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Falling Skies Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 285 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After an alien invasion that killed most of the human race, a group of soldiers fight back in this sci-fi drama executive-produced by Steven Spielberg.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 13, 2011
    90
    The entertainment value and suspense of Falling Skies is paced just right. You get the sense that we'll get those answers eventually. And yet, you want to devour the next episode immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: Thomas Conner
    Jun 15, 2011
    88
    It's "Jericho" meets "V," with the good from both and the bad discarded. It'll raise the summer-TV bar significantly.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 17, 2011
    80
    It all adds up to plenty of action and suspense, with heroes we like and villains we can boo and hiss. And the fate of the planet at stake. Who says there ain't no cure for the summertime TV blues?
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 16, 2011
    75
    The show doesn't have the sinister intelligence of ABC's short-lived Invasion, but it's good family entertainment. [27 Jun 2011, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 17, 2011
    75
    Skies has enough going for it to appeal even to those who don't think they like sci-fi.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Conaton
    Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Falling Skies' mix of compelling individuals helps to make its early use of formula less troublesome than it might have been. Later episodes develop interesting and diverse motives, as the 2nd Mass begins to figure out what the aliens are up to and how to fight them more effectively.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 17, 2011
    30
    Every attempt at treating a Big Idea seems sophomoric and irritating. Even in its look, the show lacks the elemental rawness necessary to throw its intellectual conflicts into sharp relief.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 116
  2. Negative: 47 out of 116
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Great show, well paced. It took a couple episodes for this series to really grab hold, but now after the first 5 I am hooked. There are 1 or 2 characters that I feel may have been mis-cast but the majority are spot on. Do yourself a favor and watch a few episodes, if it doesn't suck you in, no harm no foul. Speaking for myself, once an episode ends, I immediately want the next to start. Watching the pilot I wasn't sure if they could get me to care about Tom and his children, they succeeded.

    I love sci-fi but hate the stereotypical cheese that so often accompanies it. I am very thankful cheese isn't on the menu for Falling Skies. I'll take a good sci-fi drama any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Hope you enjoy this show as much as I do.
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Excellent show, it beats the walking dead hands down. I love the setting of aliens attacking and the actors in this show are amazing. I think its a 10/10 Collapse
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    I've been speed-watching this with my family. We started watching the show about three weeks ago, and finally caught up to real-time for the premiere of the third season. It's a great yet simple plot that allows for the series to focus on small events and ideas that are bits and pieces of the overall alien invasion story. Instead of a global focus the viewer's focus is on a single American militia that is more civilian than military. People are stepping up in the fight, but real world and family-level problems are very present.

    The movie suffers, in a sense from have such good writing and acting that one naturally compares it to its peers which due to its caliber is only met by movies or the greatest of TV shows. Here the special effects not always shine. This is easy to forgive and pretty easy to overlook most of the time.

    The characters and relationships are what really keeps things together in my opinion. There are so many of each, but it doesn't feel like too much. It feels like what one would expect in this fantastic scenario. It feels as real as you can get in a science fiction storyline such as this.
    Expand
  4. drm
    Jun 20, 2011
    5
    I have to give 'Falling Skies' a big, bland 5. No, it wasn't the worst thing I've seen on television, but it was far from memorable. Cheating us all of the opening alien apocalypse, by using children's drawings, was an enormous directorial misstep. Sometimes it's a great idea to start a story in medias res, but when your entire story is built on people reacting to the harshness of an alien invasion, you just really gotta show some of it. Right? Shouldn't be a problem for Dreamworks to work up some amazing CGI footage like that. Right? It came off as strained budget, as did the sparing presence of the aliens themselves. I know it's hard to set up a big story like this, and I think it's too soon to write it off, but seriously Dreamworks, that next episode better just rock my world, or I'm jumping ship and calling it even. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    3
    I am generally a bit of a sucker for alien invasion stories. I was sad, for example, when V was cancelled. But this one just didn't draw me in at all. I suspect that it was written by boring people who are only capable of creating boring characters. The plot development is both linear and slow. The show alternates between boring action sequences and maudlin scenes where the humans reflect on their difficult plight. I doubt Spielberg himself had much to do with the show, but the show features one of his favorite themes -- families and social groups coming together to attempt to overcome a seemingly insurmountable evil -- which I frankly find extremely uninteresting and trite. I was hoping to find a show that could hold me over until the next season of Game of Thrones, but unfortunately this isn't it. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2011
    2
    As of now this show is just above terrible. I wanted to like it. I'm still trying to like it but the direction is really bad, the actors should be ashamed. V was way better and BSG put this to shame. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    0
    Aliens' weapons of conquer are boredom and dullness...
    It is really unbeliveable how characters of this show are dumb. Really. The only
    reason why invaders haven't won yet is because they are even more stupid than humans! The plot is boring and has gap holes as big as the solar system, the characters always (yes, ALWAYS) act with brainless strategies and the only reason why they are still alive is because the so technological advanced aliens seem not to have a proper radar or heat sensor. (no really, how can a flying alien drone not notice a caravan just because it has a blanket on its engine? How can a bad-ass alien terminator not notice human presence 1 meter away?) Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.