• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 1999
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 , 11 , 12
Family Guy Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Seth Green, Lacey Chabert, Alex Borstein
  • Summary: Sick, twisted, politically incorrect and freakin' sweet. The animated series features the adventures of the Griffin family. Peter and Lois have three kids - the youngest is a brilliant, sadistic baby bent on killing his mother and world domination. Chris, like his father, is obese, has a low IQ and no common sense. Meg desperately tries to be part of the popular crowd, and is coldly rebuffed. Their talking dog Brian keeps baby Stewie in check while sipping martinis and sorting out his own life issues. After being canceled in 2002, having an outstanding performance in DVD sales and syndication ratings that beat late-night talk shows, its cult status reached great heights. As a result, the series was added back to the FOX Summer 2005 line-up. Family Guy returned to the small screen with new episodes on Sunday, May 1st, 2005. A DVD Movie was released in September of 2005. Family Guy has won 3 Emmy awards and 3 Annie awards. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Caryn James
    Jul 10, 2013
    90
    "Family Guy" stands to become the best satire of all-American dysfunction next to "The Simpsons." [29 Jan 1999]
  2. Reviewed by: Monica Collins
    Jul 10, 2013
    83
    Sunday's premiere episode is one of the most cleverly outrageous half-hours of TV I've seen in a while. [28 Jan 1999]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Jul 10, 2013
    75
    "Family Guy" isn't for everyone. Obviously. It's also not as fully-realized or intelligent as "The Simpsons." It's extremely fast-paced and obsessed with a nonstop stream of jokes, jokes, jokes. And the humor is often hit and miss. But when it hits, look out. [29 Jan 1999]
  4. Reviewed by: Ray Richmond
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Both undeniably clever and utterly bizarre --- not always for the better. [28 Jan 1999]
  5. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    Oft-funny but problematic. ... {The] humor ranges from inspired to cheap and sophomoric. [29 Jan 1999]
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    "Family Guy" ... consists of almost nothing but pop culture references. ... Now, some of these gags are side-splittingly funny ... but there are way too many of them. [9 Apr 1999]
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    Utterly excremental. ... May the room in which "Family Guy" is drawn be sacked, emptied, disinfected and burned to a cinder. Anything to keep them from making any more episodes of this smug and amateurish tripe. [30 Jan 1999]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 14 out of 55
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Honestly, this is quite obvious. One of the best shows ever, at least MUCH better than the cheesy and campy Simpsons. I'm pretty sure many people who don't like this probably NEVER watched this and is an idiot. With funny jokes and some of the best humor in the history of Television. But honestly, I like the new episodes MUCH better than the old ones. So if you want to see this, go on, get a DVD pack of this and pop that special fossil of a DVD in the DVD player. You will laugh! Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    10
    Still Next To The Simpsons The Most Funny Show Of All Time!
    Amazing Show! The Voice's Are Amazing. Family Guy Dares To Amaze!
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Honestly, this has to be one of the easiest reviews ever. The show is hilarious almost every single episode. The newer episodes I like more of course since the drawing and coloring of the characters and scenes has gotten better, but i still watch season 1 up till the present episodes. Love the show. Collapse
  4. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    Rating this at the peak of Family Guy which I think personally was Series 4 and 5 (English versions). The first seasons were sort of more dry, with their humour, then I'd say Seasons 4 and 5 introduced a bit more random slapstick for value. Basically anyone is a target, no race, type of person, genre or anything untouched, equal opportunities offense lol.

    I can't help but feel though, its turned into a parody of itself and its insisting on itself. A bit like the Simpsons really in that respect.

    Seasons 1-3 I'd give 7 or 8 out of 10
    4 and 5 8 for some episodes 8.5 out of 10
    6 I'd give 7
    then after that its just gotten weaker sadly.
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    6
    This use to be one of my favorite shows. I loved watching this show with friends, and family, it was really great. until around the 6th season. No, actially, right on the 6th season. the animation changed, and looked really akward and kind of took away from the feel of the show, and the shows writing took a serious divebomb. after the 6th season, the episodes basically run like this...
    -Opening
    -Random pointless peter joke
    -plot device 1
    -Meg joke
    -look back skit
    -stewie homo joke
    -plot device 2
    -Liberal rant from brian
    -random character joke (like the repeated cleaning lady jokes, that were funny 3 season ago)
    -Meg joke
    -Random peter joke
    -closing

    The show has become so stale and repetitive i personally find it almost unwatchable. i loved the way the animation looked up to season 6, and again, they went with more of a computer/digital style animation, which kind of killed the look, the writing became repetitive and stale, and the characters became unnessesarily one sided, like brians political rants, or peter being completely retarted. I enjoyed in the first 5 seasons, where peter was stupid, but he still had some form of love and intelligence, but now, hes litteraly brain dead. like, no commen sense, nothing. It, in my opinion, completely ruined peter as a character. Alot of my opinions on family guy now adaysare more opinionated, i know alot of people who prefer new family guy, and that doesnt mean all of the episodes are bad, theres been a couple of reallly good gems, its just unfortunate that the majority has been crap that just doesnt fit, or is extremely akward to watch. i love family guy, but i think ill stick with the earlier seasons.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    5
    A mediocre spin on The Simpsons! What makes The Simpsons one of the greatest shows ever made is that it's the most irreverent and unapologetic show on the air. It has wit, biting satire and intelligence that makes the show innocently funny. Despite some of Homer's many zany antics, the show is an honest and realistic portrayal of an average American family.

    That being said, Family steals this formula but instead of having character-driven plot it's full of pop culture in-jokes which are mostly unfunny. Everything about the show is too similar to The Simpsons, from the concept to characters especially Peter Griffin who resembles heavily to Homer. Lois is obviously Marge, Brain is Santa's Little Helper except he's anthropomorphic, Stewie is Maggie except he can talk, Meg is Lisa and Chris is Bart although they don't exactly have the same attributes to each other.

    Family Guy does have it's moments that makes the show a 5 however. Episode 5 introduces Joe Swanson, a paraplegic who's portrayed as a hero. Although paraplegics can't do what he does like play baseball or become a police officer, obviously the show is unrealistic, he's a good role model for them as he's positive in life despite his disability, a character we could all look up to.

    It's a memorable introduction and his Christmas backstory as to how he got crippled, his fight with The Grinch on the rooftop, was hilariously entertaining. But the fact that Joe is paraplegic has been made into a plot twist, which is very odd and counter-intuitive. Peter Griffin didn't know that Joe is a paraplegic until after he invites him to a baseball game which, with common sense, he should have. But anyway, that and the second episode was the most memorable of the season, the rest of the characters are mostly racial stereotypes.

    In conclusion, despite a few jokes Family Guy copied almost everything from The Simpsons. Don't believe anyone who says otherwise and if you're a huge fan of The Simpsons don't watch this rip-off, it's not an alternative. An alternative is a similar show but it has distinctive qualities that makes it it's own show, Family Guy does not have that. Is it funnier because the humor is more adult themed? Not necessarily!
    Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    0
    Only the first 5 minutes of the story is funny, after that the show goes into the plot and it is badly written and smothered over with jokes that are rarely funny. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews