Family Guy : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 31, 1999
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
Family Guy Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sick, twisted, politically incorrect and freakin' sweet. The animated series features the adventures of the Griffin family. Peter and Lois have three kids - the youngest is a brilliant, sadistic baby bent on killing his mother and world domination. Chris, like his father, is obese, has a lowSick, twisted, politically incorrect and freakin' sweet. The animated series features the adventures of the Griffin family. Peter and Lois have three kids - the youngest is a brilliant, sadistic baby bent on killing his mother and world domination. Chris, like his father, is obese, has a low IQ and no common sense. Meg desperately tries to be part of the popular crowd, and is coldly rebuffed. Their talking dog Brian keeps baby Stewie in check while sipping martinis and sorting out his own life issues. After being canceled in 2002, having an outstanding performance in DVD sales and syndication ratings that beat late-night talk shows, its cult status reached great heights. As a result, the series was added back to the FOX Summer 2005 line-up. Family Guy returned to the small screen with new episodes on Sunday, May 1st, 2005. A DVD Movie was released in September of 2005. Family Guy has won 3 Emmy awards and 3 Annie awards. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Family Guy
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Caryn James
    Jul 10, 2013
    90
    "Family Guy" stands to become the best satire of all-American dysfunction next to "The Simpsons." [29 Jan 1999]
  2. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Jul 10, 2013
    83
    It's all raucous nonsense, but the debate will rage as to whether "Family Guy" contributes to, or merely reflects, the demise of civility. As with most TV fare, it's doing a little of both, and it's doing it with a sharp eye for detail. [9 Apr 1999]
  3. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: Eric Mink
    Jul 10, 2013
    75
    If such quickie pop-culture jokes are the show's strength, its current weakness is the stories that revolve around the Griffins themselves and characters that, even when they're amusing, aren't very interesting. They certainly don't suggest the kind of richness that the characters of "The Simpsons" do. [9 Apr 1999]
  4. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    Even if you find the show odd, awful or freakish, at least it won't bore you. [29 Jan 1999]
  5. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    We fear [Family Guy] already may be out of material. [9 Apr 1999]
  6. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    "Family Guy" ... consists of almost nothing but pop culture references. ... Now, some of these gags are side-splittingly funny ... but there are way too many of them. [9 Apr 1999]
  7. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    Utterly excremental. ... May the room in which "Family Guy" is drawn be sacked, emptied, disinfected and burned to a cinder. Anything to keep them from making any more episodes of this smug and amateurish tripe. [30 Jan 1999]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 85
  2. Negative: 18 out of 85
  1. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the greatest T.V shows I have ever seen. It is funny and raises important issues in a comedic way. You definitelyThis is probably one of the greatest T.V shows I have ever seen. It is funny and raises important issues in a comedic way. You definitely don't understand the way they show their messages if all you can say is "stupid jokes". Wonderful, funny, smart show. A change from the rather usual cheap shows out there. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    " Seth Macfarlane is a comic genius" Seth Macfarlane is a comic genius "..................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Honestly, this has to be one of the easiest reviews ever. The show is hilarious almost every single episode. The newer episodes I like more ofHonestly, this has to be one of the easiest reviews ever. The show is hilarious almost every single episode. The newer episodes I like more of course since the drawing and coloring of the characters and scenes has gotten better, but i still watch season 1 up till the present episodes. Love the show. Collapse
  4. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    Rating this at the peak of Family Guy which I think personally was Series 4 and 5 (English versions). The first seasons were sort of moreRating this at the peak of Family Guy which I think personally was Series 4 and 5 (English versions). The first seasons were sort of more dry, with their humour, then I'd say Seasons 4 and 5 introduced a bit more random slapstick for value. Basically anyone is a target, no race, type of person, genre or anything untouched, equal opportunities offense lol.

    I can't help but feel though, its turned into a parody of itself and its insisting on itself. A bit like the Simpsons really in that respect.

    Seasons 1-3 I'd give 7 or 8 out of 10
    4 and 5 8 for some episodes 8.5 out of 10
    6 I'd give 7
    then after that its just gotten weaker sadly.
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    7
    The first season has really funny moments, but the season is way too short. Peter and the rest of the gang are great and the voice acting isThe first season has really funny moments, but the season is way too short. Peter and the rest of the gang are great and the voice acting is superb. Overall Score= 75/100 Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    It's kinda funny, I've seen the whole show and all I have to say is, eh. It relies to much on sex and rudeness, all it is is cutaway afterIt's kinda funny, I've seen the whole show and all I have to say is, eh. It relies to much on sex and rudeness, all it is is cutaway after stupid, pointless, crappy cutaway that make no sense and are antagonistically unfunny. But it used to have some funny jokes... Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    I can safely say that this show is my most hated of all shows. But it didn't start out that way. Actually, the first season is okay, withI can safely say that this show is my most hated of all shows. But it didn't start out that way. Actually, the first season is okay, with some humor coming mostly from Brian and Stewie. I'm surprised to see that the only negative thing that people have to say about it is that it's offensive - I mean, it is, but not because it makes racist jokes or whatever. It is offensive because it is EXTREMELY stupid, relying on nonsensical random occurrences (but not even doing that well, like Aqua Teens or Sealab 2021) and references that are supposed to make people feel smart because they've seen Star Wars or know who Squeaky Fromme is. Also, this show is extremely lazy - there are 2-5 minute repetetive scenes in every episode, that maybe start out mildly amusing, turn annoying, and then get a little funny (the famous wincing knee grabbing scene comes to mind), but then we are treated to four more minutes of it. I am never a fan of shows where the point of view of the writer is obviously shoved down your throat, and Seth MacFarlane is definitely an **** who uses his ridiculous piece of trash to make his opinions on how lame everything is known. Oh, and the characters are so pathetically one dimensional - Playing off of the Simpsons, for example, Peter Griffin is everything horrible and stupid about Homer with nothing of Homer's sweetness or caring. There is literally nothing to like about Peter, yet he has friends that he mistreats, a hot wife who for some reason is turned on by his bloated frame, and three children whom he is painfully neglectful towards. The Simpsons still is, after 25 years, a more clever and relevant show than Family Guy ever has been. Yet this show is still a ratings giant, and continues to degrade American entertainment and American culture as a whole. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews