• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 1, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 26, 2013
    40
    With a concept and general feeling this tired, when it comes to forging any lasting bonds, Family will likely discover water is thicker than blood.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 30, 2013
    40
    Instead of trusting this foundation and these actors, though, Family Tools seems to feel it must make every situation and interaction so outrageous it turns the characters into cartoons.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    Family Tools is an occasionally funny (but mostly not) show about a son who takes over his father's handyman business.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 1, 2013
    40
    Wedged between the superior company of The Middle and Modern Family is the bumbling blandness of the slapsticky Family Tools.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 30, 2013
    50
    There are a few successful jokes here and there, and some able physical comedy involving Bornheimer and Gathegi, but those moments get lost in the shuffle of predictability.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    May 1, 2013
    58
    [The] clunky scenes work thanks to the exceptional cast. These actors can sell anything. Almost.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    May 1, 2013
    50
    The pilot half aims for the exaggerated, other-worldly tone of "Arrested Development" and misses.... The second episode, by contrast, has a healthy dose of the ordinary mixed in and is actually about something: the invisibility of the working class.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I actually felt bad for Leah Remini cuz this show was awful and it wasn't a role she needed to play. I watched the first episode and knew thisI actually felt bad for Leah Remini cuz this show was awful and it wasn't a role she needed to play. I watched the first episode and knew this show had no chance and here is why: Halfway through the episode I had to look at my TV guide and check to see if this was a comedy. That is how bad this show was. It just made no sense to me. Full Review »