• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2002
Season #: 1, 2
Firefly Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Take my love, take my land, take me where I cannot stand. I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me. Take me out to the black, tell them I ain't coming back. Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me......There's no place I can be since I found"Take my love, take my land, take me where I cannot stand. I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me. Take me out to the black, tell them I ain't coming back. Burn the land and boil the sea, you can't take the sky from me......There's no place I can be since I found Serenity, you can't take the sky from me."

    Firefly is set five hundred years from today in a new planetary system after humanity abandons "Earth That Was". Under the leadership of Malcolm Reynolds, a renegade who fought against the new unified central government (the "Alliance"), the crew of the Firefly-class vessel Serenity struggles to survive any way they can. They fly between the border planets to keep away from the Alliance and below its radar. This series was described as a "science fiction western" but is different from other space-based shows as it features no aliens.

    (For stations and individuals seeking the intended air order of the series as specified by creator Joss Whedon, as opposed to the order Fox originally aired them or that they are informing stations is the order they should be shown in, see here)

    Each of the crew members has a special role:

    Malcolm Reynolds holds the duty of Captain - he is a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the Alliance to no avail. He strives to keep all his crew members on task and Serenity flying safely, while trying to make a living and do the right thing...in his rather flexible moral framework.
    Zoe (aka The Soldier) is extremely loyal to Reynolds as she served with him during the war and owes her life to him. Zoe has the strength and experience to take command of the ship, if necessary.
    Wash is Serenity's pilot (and Zoe's husband) - unassuming, self-deprecating, and calm with a sense of humor. Kaylee is the ship's mechanic - an experienced engineer who keeps Serenity flying.
    Inara is a 'Registered Companion,' most easily described as a high-priced courtesan or geisha. She is also the person with the highest social standing on the ship and acts as the crew's Ambassador.
    Jayne is the muscle of the crew. A tough, uncultured Mercenary, unpleasant and offensively direct, but loyal to those on his crew...usually.

    The newcomers are:

    Simon Tam is the Doctor on Serenity and comes from a wealthy family and has a privileged upbringing. He has spent his life savings and future to save his sister, River.
    River (aka The Fugitive) was experimented on by the government. Her psychic visions (a result of the experiments) are taken at first as babble by the crew but they slowly come to realize that there's more going on than what shows on the surface.
    Book or "The Shepherd," is a wise minister who knows far more about military matters and battle tactics than a man of the cloth should, and his past is shrouded in mystery.
    Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 23, 2013
    100
    A very funny, very hip, very terrific sci-fi show.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Feb 23, 2013
    90
    In a new season largely bereft of innovative ideas or daring concepts, Firefly stands out like a supermodel at a bus stop... The end result is a new and different form for storytelling and characters with engaging stories to tell. [19 Sept 2002]
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Feb 23, 2013
    80
    While often great fun, the series' premiere occasionally shows the strain of trying to blend all of those genres into one sleek package. On the plus side of the Firefly universe, the show is expertly paced and is full of those wickedly humorous asides that fans of "Buffy" and its ever-improving spinoff, "Angel," expect from the mischievous Whedon. [20 Sept 2002, p.E1]
  4. Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Feb 23, 2013
    63
    The characters, initially at least, aren't nearly so original and fully imagined, and that's a problem in any show. Fortunately, in space, no one can hear you yawn.[20 Sept 2002, p.46]
  5. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Feb 23, 2013
    60
    I'm not sure it's the best first impression a show could make, but it's different and daring enough to warrant a return for a second, and a third. [20 Sept 2002, p.35]
  6. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 23, 2013
    50
    Early Firefly lacks majesty, and also that its laborious pace is hardly Star Warsian. [20 Sept 2002, p.C1]
  7. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Feb 23, 2013
    20
    The only thing deep in tonight's Firefly premiere, though, is the well of cliches into which Whedon dips for what passes for plot and exposition. [20 Sept 2002, p.B02]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    I can't say anything that hasn't already been said. These characters, and the episode plots were simply wonderful. I can't think of anythingI can't say anything that hasn't already been said. These characters, and the episode plots were simply wonderful. I can't think of anything off the top of my head that I did not like about it. Expand
  2. May 3, 2011
    10
    perfect. smart, funny, action packed. Such an amazingly enjoyable show. I cherish the few episodes that were made because in my opinionperfect. smart, funny, action packed. Such an amazingly enjoyable show. I cherish the few episodes that were made because in my opinion they are some of the very best television produced. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This is the best TV show of all time. I would like to have 5 minutes alone in the room with the old-fat-retarded-SciFi-hating TV execs whoThis is the best TV show of all time. I would like to have 5 minutes alone in the room with the old-fat-retarded-SciFi-hating TV execs who canceled this show.
    I have never seen a better first season to any TV show - can you imagine how good this could have gotten if it had been given a fair chance? All TV shows get better after the first season, and getting better than this season would have been near-impossible.
    Serenity was a small consolation prize for those who did like this show - but not near enough.
    bring this show back!!!
    Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    It's TV series like Firefly that let us know what true entertainment is. Firefly is part of our history, a part of it we will never forget.It's TV series like Firefly that let us know what true entertainment is. Firefly is part of our history, a part of it we will never forget. And although it is very unfortunate that the show was canceled, (way to soon I mite add!) 14 episodes is all we need to call Firefly one of the greatest series of our time. We will never forget the fun, and adventurous times we had with this spectacular series, and will continue to have, for many, many more years. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Truly brilliant. Firefly delivers clever storytelling along with perhaps one of the finest ensemble casts ever assembled. The witty dialogue,Truly brilliant. Firefly delivers clever storytelling along with perhaps one of the finest ensemble casts ever assembled. The witty dialogue, the drama, the fantastic humor... everything is absolutely top-notch. Joss Whedon is perhaps the most talented mind in the television industry. Firefly, Buffy, and Angel are easily three of the best shows from the modern era, if not for all time. Too bad Dollhouse was a trainwreck. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2015
    9
    Fantastic characters, great stories, awesome universe. It's a shame Firefly was cancelled. A must-see for any Sci-Fi fans. The potential ofFantastic characters, great stories, awesome universe. It's a shame Firefly was cancelled. A must-see for any Sci-Fi fans. The potential of this was enormous. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2014
    3
    I am now through 5 episodes and I am still giving this thing a 3 rating. It may take me an entire year to get through this. First off all II am now through 5 episodes and I am still giving this thing a 3 rating. It may take me an entire year to get through this. First off all I have seen some great sci fy cable shows to begin with such as Battle Galacticca which absolutely annihilates this show in every single respect. There is nothing believable about this world what so ever. It also includes extremely slow episodes where we get invited to a cocktail party that ends in a 17th century style duel with freaking fencing moves. I dont know how this thing got a cult following..anything in the world can get a cult following if this can. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best/Worst Movies Based on TV Shows

    Ranked: The Best/Worst Movies Based on TV Shows Image
    Published: June 8, 2010
    The A-Team is only the latest TV show to make the jump to the big screen -- a journey that isn't always successful. We highlight 10 previous adaptations worth seeking out, and five to avoid at all costs.