FlashForward : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2009
Season #: 1, 2
FlashForward Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: For 2 minutes and 17 seconds, everyone see their future in this loose adaptation of Robert J. Sawyer's novel of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    It's evocative, smartly structured, well acted and insists that the strange ride you are about to take will be worth every minute.
  2. 88
    If FlashForward can keep the momentum it set in its premiere episode, the show's apocalyptic tone and fate-bending intrigue should prove deeply fascinating.
  3. Well-cast and full of expensive-looking special effects, FlashForward should hook a respectable number of viewers with its combination of surprise and suspense.
  4. 75
    Whether ABC's new series, FlashForward, will catch on is anyone's guess. I can tell you, though, that it has a compelling concept and a solid cast.
  5. 70
    With such a knockout concept at its core, Flash Forward may still be on our minds six months from now--that is, if we're not too busy piecing together global mysteries or cheating on our husbands to notice.
  6. It's a decent but not brilliant beginning.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    40
    Fantasy plots require fantastic details, but the show, rolling steadily downhill from a compelling premise, is utterly casual about the particulars of its speculative time-tripping and post-catastrophe atmospherics.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 7 out of 49
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    All of you have got to be kidding me! This show was great! I just finished the whole first season on Netflix and i cant wait to see theAll of you have got to be kidding me! This show was great! I just finished the whole first season on Netflix and i cant wait to see the second, and then i learn that the show was canceled?!?!?! So i read the reviews and people were complaining about the characters the plot and a whole bunch of other moronic stuff. So for anyone reading this let me explain why these people who gave this show a bad rating were wrong. First of all the characters were complex and changed through out the entire show, I don't understand why anyone wouldn't enjoy that, nowadays people like the plain, boring and/or idiotic characters like the ones from "Jersey Shore." The plot was great, the show tried to give an answer to an age old philosophical question "Fate vs. Free-Will", but i now see that people have completely forgotten what makes a good show good. Its NOT just some steroid filled idiots arguing all day and fist pumping, a good show is one that helps people learn or at least helps them to think about things outside of their miniature world. Expand
  2. ChrisD
    Mar 21, 2010
    10
    Great show, very interesting, a lot of great acting especially on Joseph Fiennes and Dominic Monaghan's part. I disagree thaty there are Great show, very interesting, a lot of great acting especially on Joseph Fiennes and Dominic Monaghan's part. I disagree thaty there are to many storylines, I, for one, can keep track with all of them. Expand
  3. Scott-LeeN
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    Gripping, suspense, mystery and WOW factor. This show is brilliant and so far I have tried to work out whats behind the blackouts.... still Gripping, suspense, mystery and WOW factor. This show is brilliant and so far I have tried to work out whats behind the blackouts.... still no wiser!!! Long may it be on TV!!!! Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    a brilliant story of originality,suspense and thriller.This show interacts with it's veiwers about the issue of fate and free will whilea brilliant story of originality,suspense and thriller.This show interacts with it's veiwers about the issue of fate and free will while thrilling them with exciting episodes which is brilliant. Watching the characters struggle to live in the present was quite thought provoking. so if you like heavy complex plot, fill with suspense and thought provoking concept, then this is the show you. Love this show alot and without a doubt i can say it is a great show. a brilliant story of originality,suspense and thriller.This show interacts with it's viewers about the issue of fate and free will while thrilling them with exciting episodes which is brilliant. Watching the characters struggle to live in the present was quite thought provoking. so if you like heavy complex plot, fill with suspense and thought provoking concept, then this is the show for you. Love this show alot and without a doubt i can say it is a great show Expand
  5. RP
    Sep 26, 2009
    7
    I found the show very interesting but a bit frustrating. After such a catastrophic event the characters are still intent on telling lies to I found the show very interesting but a bit frustrating. After such a catastrophic event the characters are still intent on telling lies to one another. Joseph Fiennes seems out of place on tv but I think he's an amazing actor and will watch again to see how the show develops. Expand
  6. DelR
    Nov 15, 2009
    5
    This show moves too slowly and is somewhat contrived. I don't care about the characters, except for the guy who's daughter came This show moves too slowly and is somewhat contrived. I don't care about the characters, except for the guy who's daughter came back. Fascinating premised, though... But without some development, it could get old and is starting to after 8 episodes. Expand
  7. Jay
    Jan 11, 2010
    0
    Poorly written, poorly acted, poorly thought out. The premise was an interesting one, however the show is destroyed by the writers' Poorly written, poorly acted, poorly thought out. The premise was an interesting one, however the show is destroyed by the writers' inability to do anything interesting with it, or to avoid awful cliche ridden dialogue. Truly without any merit at all, avoid it like the plague. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.