• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
FlashForward Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For 2 minutes and 17 seconds, everyone see their future in this loose adaptation of Robert J. Sawyer's novel of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. If you like big-screen-level thrills and complicated plot structures, you'll opt-in to FlashForward. And you'll be rewarded. Here's hoping it stays strong and compelling as it heads to April 29.
  2. Reviewed by: Kris King
    88
    If FlashForward can keep the momentum it set in its premiere episode, the show's apocalyptic tone and fate-bending intrigue should prove deeply fascinating.
  3. Like so many contemporary television thrillers, FlashForward works just as powerfully as a domestic drama as it does as a mechanism of apocalyptic intrigue.
  4. 75
    Assuming FlashForward can tone down a tendency toward pomposity and create a mythology and characters worth following, it may well be a worthy addition to the roster of sci-fi tinged TV programs.
  5. 70
    FlashForward is a good idea, and while that’s no guarantee of a good series, the first hour gives us reason to hope.
  6. If the procedural plotting in FlashForward was ordinary, all the conversations about destiny and free will--and what any of it means for the poor sap who didn’t see anything during the blackout--made the first episode feel vibrant, engaged with heady concepts and questions.
  7. The pilot for FlashForward, by contrast [to "Lost"], feels more like deja vu, with characters who could've been rounded up from a disaster miniseries, tied to a mystery that's only compelling if we care what happens to these people.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Interesting and original series. Every episode is very interesting and compelling especially the last one. I saw all the series and I Don't Regret It! The last episode was gripping and i'm still thinking about it's end.. I think it's the best series i saw, and it is competing with House M. D. I think it shares the first place. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    i have only seen two episodes but i am liking what i see. the plot is great and there are many things that make me wonder about whats up next. i recomend the show and for people looking for something good exciting to watch, check out flash forward. you7 won´t regret it. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    All of you have got to be kidding me! This show was great! I just finished the whole first season on Netflix and i cant wait to see the second, and then i learn that the show was canceled?!?!?! So i read the reviews and people were complaining about the characters the plot and a whole bunch of other moronic stuff. So for anyone reading this let me explain why these people who gave this show a bad rating were wrong. First of all the characters were complex and changed through out the entire show, I don't understand why anyone wouldn't enjoy that, nowadays people like the plain, boring and/or idiotic characters like the ones from "Jersey Shore." The plot was great, the show tried to give an answer to an age old philosophical question "Fate vs. Free-Will", but i now see that people have completely forgotten what makes a good show good. Its NOT just some steroid filled idiots arguing all day and fist pumping, a good show is one that helps people learn or at least helps them to think about things outside of their miniature world. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    This show is great! The concept is awesome! Although I must say the lead actor almost ruins the show for me with his terrible interpretation of the protagonist, but I'm willing to forgive this because the premise is filled with so much mystery that I was forced to keep watching! Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    This show is the better version of Lost and has what Lost lacks a balance of humanity and science fiction and more emotion and less stupid complex math mumble jumbo that was not really needed. The show was still not perfect though and had a nice solid cast save for Peyton List. Extremely strong performances by its two leads Joseph Fiennes and John Cho and other main cast members Dominic Monaghan, Brian F. O'Byrne, and Newcomer Zachary Knighton, & most of its Guest Stars but, not so much the rest of the main cast. Another truly awful point in this show besides Peyton List was Genevieve Cortese. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    a brilliant story of originality,suspense and thriller.This show interacts with it's veiwers about the issue of fate and free will while thrilling them with exciting episodes which is brilliant. Watching the characters struggle to live in the present was quite thought provoking. so if you like heavy complex plot, fill with suspense and thought provoking concept, then this is the show you. Love this show alot and without a doubt i can say it is a great show. a brilliant story of originality,suspense and thriller.This show interacts with it's viewers about the issue of fate and free will while thrilling them with exciting episodes which is brilliant. Watching the characters struggle to live in the present was quite thought provoking. so if you like heavy complex plot, fill with suspense and thought provoking concept, then this is the show for you. Love this show alot and without a doubt i can say it is a great show Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    The show was imaginative and unique and had a lot of potential but very quickly it became more like a poorly written episode of ER trying really really hard to be a sci fi. I'm glad it didn't get renewed for a second season. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  2. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.