Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 63
  2. Negative: 9 out of 63

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best cop shows ever on TV. How doe you get a 5.1 go tell that to the millions of viewres on the FIRST episode. One of the best quotes in the show " SLOW IS SMOOTH, SMOOTH IS FAST, FAST IS LETHAL"- THE TEAM
    Also better than CRIMINAL MINDS where you got a serial killer every episode killing close to 15 people a week where FLASHPOINT is more realistic and actually shows human
    One of the best cop shows ever on TV. How doe you get a 5.1 go tell that to the millions of viewres on the FIRST episode. One of the best quotes in the show " SLOW IS SMOOTH, SMOOTH IS FAST, FAST IS LETHAL"- THE TEAM
    Also better than CRIMINAL MINDS where you got a serial killer every episode killing close to 15 people a week where FLASHPOINT is more realistic and actually shows human factors rather than serial killer dies all the time.
    Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Absolutely Fantastic, this show has had me and my husband who usually does not watch TV enthralled
    and usually in tears ! Thanks payTV for screening this when the ridiculous commercial stations wouldn't
    (thats you Channel 9 Australia, with your rubbish shows!!!)
    This is a 5* production.
    Thank you Canada for a little jewel
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Best police procedural ever. Excellent dialogues and situations. No cartoonish flares or empty characters, but real people doing a real job and feeling the consequences. Those who say US viewers would find it too slow, polemic or emotional might rethink that maybe that is exactly what US audiences are hungry for after the networks turned to empty schlock and pretty is as pretty doesBest police procedural ever. Excellent dialogues and situations. No cartoonish flares or empty characters, but real people doing a real job and feeling the consequences. Those who say US viewers would find it too slow, polemic or emotional might rethink that maybe that is exactly what US audiences are hungry for after the networks turned to empty schlock and pretty is as pretty does characters with no real brains involved! And Rico, what can I say... between Keith Mars and Greg Parker, I am a married straight man with a huge man-crush! Collapse
  4. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Hi, I am from the Philippines and I just finished watching season 4 of flashpoint. I love the show so much that i felt so sad to know that Season 5 will be its last season. All the characters and the actors who played them are all great, they are all amazing. I felt really bad when the two original characters were removed from the series. I love so dearly the characters of Sam and Jules.Hi, I am from the Philippines and I just finished watching season 4 of flashpoint. I love the show so much that i felt so sad to know that Season 5 will be its last season. All the characters and the actors who played them are all great, they are all amazing. I felt really bad when the two original characters were removed from the series. I love so dearly the characters of Sam and Jules. They look so great together. I like Spike so much as well, he is so lovable. I admire so much the characters of Ed and the Boss Greg. I hope to possess the leadership skills they have. Flashpoint is not like any other TV Series about cops works, its more than that. Its human side of the story made its audience so much part of the show to the extent that you feel everything that is going on in the show. I am actually freaked out that Season 5 will be its finale. I do hope and pray that the show will continue because it gives not only a good show but a remarkable one. I want to say thank you to the producers and all other persons behind the scenes who worked hard for the show and I want to say thank you to the cast for making me cry at the end of every episodes because it showed how much all of you became part of my life......More power to the casts... Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    I stopped watching this series
    Because by manipulating the feelings of viewers
    Turn the facts Makes the correct error In the series who wishes to father and mother of the child re- What was the role of the rescue unit The destruction of the whole family Is this the role of this series to change people's view That the police were responsible for destruction rather than protection My message
    I stopped watching this series
    Because by manipulating the feelings of viewers
    Turn the facts
    Makes the correct error
    In the series who wishes to father and mother of the child re-
    What was the role of the rescue unit
    The destruction of the whole family
    Is this the role of this series to change people's view
    That the police were responsible for destruction rather than protection
    My message to the product
    Look for a professional writer My family and I do not want to see the police as criminals
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This is the best TV Series I have ever seen. Good acting and nice pace. Wonderful. Check out season 4, even greater. I saw some negative reviews here, but to be fair, it is purely personal view, and I think Flashpoint deserves a 10 out of 10.
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    BACKGROUND MUSIC TOO LOUD! TURN it DOWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. cyrust.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Very good, a very well done point of view of police.
  9. miked
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    I think it is a great show!! For the first time a canadian show that actually goes somewhere, the actinf isnt bad the police work is well done plus unlike some other police/swat show theyre missions arent some unreal rambo style cowboy stunts! Some people wont like it some will but I am a fan of police/military shows like that am i am very pleased! And being in the military I can say this I think it is a great show!! For the first time a canadian show that actually goes somewhere, the actinf isnt bad the police work is well done plus unlike some other police/swat show theyre missions arent some unreal rambo style cowboy stunts! Some people wont like it some will but I am a fan of police/military shows like that am i am very pleased! And being in the military I can say this isnt bullshit and some very realistic scenarios!! enjoy or dont but give it a chance! Expand
  10. snowcat
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    I love this show -- it is exciting, compelling, emotional, funny, and the acting is excellent. I hope it makes the next season, however i find not too many people have heard of it.
  11. KimberlyS.
    May 17, 2009
    10
    This show has a great combination of action and plot. The writers give us just enough insight into the character's personal lives without distracting from the action that drives the show.
  12. MikeS.
    May 1, 2009
    10
    This is amazingly realistic cop (SWAT) series that really deserves a chance. It's one of the best on tv at the moment, and all of these so called reviews are either completely wrong or completely ridiculous. "the slow pace might prove to be too much of a CULTURAL DIVIDE for an American audience used to the quick cuts and immediate resolve seen on American cop shows." That is one of This is amazingly realistic cop (SWAT) series that really deserves a chance. It's one of the best on tv at the moment, and all of these so called reviews are either completely wrong or completely ridiculous. "the slow pace might prove to be too much of a CULTURAL DIVIDE for an American audience used to the quick cuts and immediate resolve seen on American cop shows." That is one of the most idiotic things I've ever heard. I'm Canadian, but I actually feel offended myself as to how this critic insults the average American's intelligence and attention span. If you are into quality television at all, please do yourself a favor and check FLASHPOINT out. Expand
  13. BobS.
    Apr 19, 2009
    1
    This has got to be the dumbest fucking show ever. Decent acting from everyone except most of the Police who are the worst actors I have ever seen. The negotiator pisses me off the most. His 3rd rate acting and stupid face just kill the show. Good story combined with shitty acting kill this show.
  14. corinnem.
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    This is a well thought out show. I am proud to know that it is a Canadian show. Being a fellow officer it is as realistic as you can get knowing that it needs to be pumped up for ratings.
  15. AndyS
    Oct 2, 2008
    3
    This show is rediculous. It's a bunch of kitted out super-cops that apparently are trained to take on legal, mental, and moral issues better than the professionals they swoop in to protect. The boss reminds me of a slightly less wired version of Farva from Super Troopers. 'Ed' is the only decent character...too bad he is the typical good cop who's haunted by a singular This show is rediculous. It's a bunch of kitted out super-cops that apparently are trained to take on legal, mental, and moral issues better than the professionals they swoop in to protect. The boss reminds me of a slightly less wired version of Farva from Super Troopers. 'Ed' is the only decent character...too bad he is the typical good cop who's haunted by a singular instance of horribly bad luck. 1 part 'CSI' 1 part '24' and 3 parts complete crap. I hope this show never aires another episode. Expand
  16. GlennaC.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Since CBS decided to cancel Jericho last spring I didn't think there was anything good to watch until "Flashpoint". Great show so please don't cancel this one.
  17. CatherineS
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    I love the show. Disappointed that the Critics aren't so enthusiastic. The acting performances are great. The filming is well done....The audience is giving it a 10....what does that tell you!! Maybe we're all tired of the umteen CSI shows and want something different, refreshing and not so Hollywood!!! Remember, The television industry doesn't just cater to the american I love the show. Disappointed that the Critics aren't so enthusiastic. The acting performances are great. The filming is well done....The audience is giving it a 10....what does that tell you!! Maybe we're all tired of the umteen CSI shows and want something different, refreshing and not so Hollywood!!! Remember, The television industry doesn't just cater to the american public...Successful shows are viewed world wide! The critics should broaden their horizons and think a little more globally! I think the show is great and should be given a chance. I know It will get even better with time. Give the smaller shows and independants a chance. When you take a closer look..those are the shows or movies that have more substance and appeal a great deal of people!!! Expand
  18. Margie
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    great shows and great acting. Wish it would be picked up for fall show, please. much better than all those reality shows. Can't take anymore.. Please see how good it can be.
  19. maryt.
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    LOVE FLASHPOINT best new show on TV in a long time hope it stays around for a long time to come. Really do love the actor Hugh Dillion one of the best actors to come along in a while love that bald head a those eyes.
  20. SebastienF.
    Aug 29, 2008
    9
    It's a kind of a CSI show but following a SWAT team instead. I love it !
  21. Asafe
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    This show is amazing!! i can't get enough. The story is great the "Slow" pace and the nature of each episode is what makes this show great.
  22. maryr.
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    Well written and well acted. great production values.
  23. TonyC.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    if i didn't recognize that as actually Toronto, I wouldn't believe this was Canadian - really really good cop show
  24. Moh'dN.
    Jul 18, 2008
    0
    Before you read: This review contains spoilers for the pilot only. While the idea for this TV show sounds exciting enough, the introduction of one of it's lead actors shakes faith in the mentality behind the show. The lead sniper - who's supposedly prepping the backup sniper - finds himself in a situation where he should be holding himself together much easier than scripted. For Before you read: This review contains spoilers for the pilot only. While the idea for this TV show sounds exciting enough, the introduction of one of it's lead actors shakes faith in the mentality behind the show. The lead sniper - who's supposedly prepping the backup sniper - finds himself in a situation where he should be holding himself together much easier than scripted. For a sniper who looks OVER-confident at the beginning of the pilot and with face dents of someone who's been to hell & back, he cracks with overreaction under a situation only a newbie to the sniping job would break under. "Flashpoint is a different kind of cop show, since it portrays human emotions and how their actions would make the audience empathize with them" as per BC TV Review. Like I said: the idea of this show is good, but empathizing with cops requires from the audience to empathize with their characteristics first, then the situation in which to empathize needs to be well-scripted. Final thought: You cannot empathize with newbie-cop emotional reactions coming from someone as professional & as experienced as the sniper looked. Expand
  25. shsch
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I found this show to be a good mix of action and prsonal drama. The first episode shows there may be possible legal & moral consequences to a police sniper kill iin addition to the usual congratulations from the team. The professional critics all seem to judge this show more on how it's not up to today's action standards (as they in the USA see them) rather than on how it might I found this show to be a good mix of action and prsonal drama. The first episode shows there may be possible legal & moral consequences to a police sniper kill iin addition to the usual congratulations from the team. The professional critics all seem to judge this show more on how it's not up to today's action standards (as they in the USA see them) rather than on how it might actually be entertaining. Perhaps the critics (or the networks) don't want to admit that a Canadian show with Canadian sensibilities could actually work here for fear of more imports to come. Too bad!! Expand
  26. LauraS
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    I love this show. Finally, a cop show that depicts "real" police with characters that are true to life. I look forward to the next episode!
  27. K
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    The best parts of this show are the acting of the 4 leads, and I think there will be more of a mix of characters once that of Sam Braddock gets more involved. I like that it's not all action all the time--that's been so overdone by now.
  28. GustavoS.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    I thought the episode was AMAZING, all the tension, the characters, the history. It's the best show of the summer for sure!
  29. EJA.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    As a Canadian, I get where the show is comming from. The first Episode is loosly based on an actual even that occured in the Summer of 2005. A man took a woman hostage after shooting his wife, and the real action went down only one block south of where the episode was shot. The show isnt supposed to be all action all the time, it is written to show the human side of the story, and As a Canadian, I get where the show is comming from. The first Episode is loosly based on an actual even that occured in the Summer of 2005. A man took a woman hostage after shooting his wife, and the real action went down only one block south of where the episode was shot. The show isnt supposed to be all action all the time, it is written to show the human side of the story, and praticualrly the human side to the police. The "SRU" is based on the real life Toronto ETF. And as for the comment in the Miami Herald about "impossibly clean subways" I urge you to google TTC (Toronto Transit Comission) I assure you I regualarly ride the Subway in Toronto ... THEY ARE THAT CLEAN. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Though the characters on this show, premiering Friday on CBS, are relatable and watchable, the slow pace might prove to be too much of a cultural divide for an American audience used to the quick cuts and immediate resolve seen on American cop shows.
  2. To be sure, Flashpoint is a perfectly competent police procedural right down to its convincing weaponry and tactics. However, based on the pilot, it isn't particularly fresh or inventive.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    42
    It's nice to have fresh scripted material on the summer TV menu, but after an hour of dull wisecracks and predictable plotting, reheated "Law & Order" leftovers start looking pretty tasty. [11 Jul 2008, p.66]]