Flight of the Conchords : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 17, 2007
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 209

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MovieBoyDotCom
    Aug 5, 2007
    3
    LOL people from NZ sound like they are from AUS and UK... Thats so funny. How'd they come up with that idea? They should keep repeating that joke it will never get old! k thnx
  2. ChazW
    Jul 4, 2007
    3
    Not very funny at all. It was like trying to quench one's thirst, by drinking a bucket of sand. Maybe, if I were a Kiwi, Aussie, or Brit, it might be funny.
  3. StoneM
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    Boring!! A cloying, annoying self-consciously quirky show.
  4. JohnH
    Jan 1, 2008
    5
    watchable but nowhere near as funny as it thinks it is. Songs are the best thing but comedy acting is far too smug and self satisfied. Ok for kids but adults should watch bbcs Peep show - so much better
  5. GabeG
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    This is a well needed show and praise the hbo network for giving it a chance
  6. RichardD.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    This show is fantastic. Hilarious. I can't get enough.
  7. TamH.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    A amazing show. So FUNNY. Everyone I show this to loves it. I hope it's on for a very long time!
  8. MikeB
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    You'd think they would run out of creativity and consistently brilliant songs, but they never do and hopefully they never will. Bret and Jermaine obviously steal the show but they supporting cast is also very solid, hopefully this show lasts.
  9. AnjiL.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this show! ALL the characters are hilarious and the songs are great!
  10. DavidD.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    This show resonates beautifully for New Zealanders and is a fantastic cartoon version of NZ male culture. Most of us really are that awkward (at least from age 14 to 27). I suspect only NZ, Aussie, and S. Africa natives with repressed boys' school backgrounds will be falling over themselves laughing. Good on Americans for giving it a try. Sadly here in NZ it is relegated to cable This show resonates beautifully for New Zealanders and is a fantastic cartoon version of NZ male culture. Most of us really are that awkward (at least from age 14 to 27). I suspect only NZ, Aussie, and S. Africa natives with repressed boys' school backgrounds will be falling over themselves laughing. Good on Americans for giving it a try. Sadly here in NZ it is relegated to cable which is a true crime given the load of crap we usually get on major networks. Expand
  11. Hubert
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Very funny and original. The pilot actually made me laugh out loud a few times. People who think this is too dry and boring probably love 'Friends'...
  12. MH
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Dry, subtle and very funny. This show is not for people who need to be told when to laugh.
  13. TheoC
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    A breath of fresh air in a world that's generally become more and more bereft of originality.
  14. JackS
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Absolutely the funniest show on tv. Their sense of humor make it one of a kind. Should come before Enterouge!
  15. johns
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Best New Show Since Extras. If you don't get it, don't worry, it just means that you are not smart enough.
  16. MichaelH
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Amazing, two very talented individuals, but lets not forget Rhys Darby (Murray the band manager) who is also a hit. I hope this show never gets cancelled as it is already up there as, dear i say it my favourite show ever! If anything lets the show down it must be that annoying yank character who has a cruch on Bret and Jermaine
  17. JoyJ
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    One of the most unique and funny shows on t.v.
  18. PaulS
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    The greatness of this show is the set-up and preformace of the songs. They are interwoven within the story line and give the viewer an additional emotion "angle". Plus, they're funny and quite catchy. I will give the show a 10 if they come back for another season so that should be incentive enough to start another production. It's a great show and all of New Zealand should be The greatness of this show is the set-up and preformace of the songs. They are interwoven within the story line and give the viewer an additional emotion "angle". Plus, they're funny and quite catchy. I will give the show a 10 if they come back for another season so that should be incentive enough to start another production. It's a great show and all of New Zealand should be very proud of them! Expand
  19. MattA.
    Aug 26, 2007
    8
    While not as good as such recent comedy classics such as Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Extras, and the British version of The Office, this is much better than, say, the overrated and usually painfully unfunny American version of the The Office. Both leads are great, the scenarios are hilarious, and the music is almost always catchy and well-written. The only reason for the 8 While not as good as such recent comedy classics such as Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Extras, and the British version of The Office, this is much better than, say, the overrated and usually painfully unfunny American version of the The Office. Both leads are great, the scenarios are hilarious, and the music is almost always catchy and well-written. The only reason for the 8 is that it can get a little tedious at times, but overall, very good. Expand
  20. Ben
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Understated and deadpan...but funny for all the right reasons.
  21. Les
    Jun 18, 2007
    4
    Quirky -- definitely. Funny -- rarely. The characters' deadpan delivery could be very effective iif their words contained anything ironic, or witty, or even simply shocking -- but mostly they are just staggeringly dull. The concept -- a day in the life of two marginal and utterly clueless musicians -- showed promise but so long as the writing and acting remains as weak as in the Quirky -- definitely. Funny -- rarely. The characters' deadpan delivery could be very effective iif their words contained anything ironic, or witty, or even simply shocking -- but mostly they are just staggeringly dull. The concept -- a day in the life of two marginal and utterly clueless musicians -- showed promise but so long as the writing and acting remains as weak as in the first episode (mostly the writing -- given the premise, the weak acting cuuld work well with the right script), it seems pretty pointless. Expand
  22. ChrisB
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Don't just call it Seinfeld with an edge. The writing and delivery are so subtle that you will find yourself laughing even harder the second time you watch it. This is how a comedy team is supposed to work.
  23. mikea
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    awesome, original and innovative - keep it up HBO.
  24. Bobby
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Hilarious - There is only one kind of Dance. The robot. And the robo-boogie. Oh yes, two kinds......of dances.
  25. CollinHayes
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    The pilot episode, typically viewed as the worst episode for new television shows, was great. Bret and Jermaine will continue to shine on HBO.
  26. ColbyS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    After watching the first two episodes, I'm convinced that this show is highly underrated. Sure, it's not knee-slapping funny, but I got a few laughs from it and the music's well-done on top of the humor. Subtlety wins.
  27. C.B.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    magical
  28. JustinC
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    This show just plain makes me happy. The characters are simultaneously sweet, smart and innocent which makes them a delightful and refreshing change from the run of smarmy, acidic comedies we've had lately. Anyone who says it's just for Kiwis, Aussies, etc is just wrong.
  29. RyanW
    Jul 21, 2007
    9
    This is an excellent show and I really enjoy their awesome music.
  30. UthredS
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    The songs are what make the show. Not sure how long this series can last without getting stale but very funny so far.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. 70
    The charms of this series are subtle, but only grow over the course of the first few episodes.
  2. 88
    You should be there on Sunday night to see the premiere of something new and hilarious, and completely different.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    "Flight" is pretty much a snooze until the music starts, at which point the show kicks up into something quite weird and occasionally wonderful.