Flowers in the Attic

  • Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 18, 2014
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22

Critic Reviews

  1. 50
    All the actors are spot-on, even ones who have just a few scenes. It's a pity Kayla Alpert's script and Deborah Chow's direction don't do their collaborators justice.
  2. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jan 17, 2014
    50
    Chow’s flat direction does little to elevate the action beyond the level of staged reading. It’s hard to fault the actors, although Graham seems unfortunately miscast in a role that requires a degree of coldblooded cunning she’s simply too sweet to pull off. Shipka radiates natural intelligence and poise.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Romano
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    The performances are fine.... As a Lifetime Television Event--a sanctioned airing, projected into the living room, of some grown-up's version of Flowers in the Attic--that context [of the book itself being contraband] is gone. Completely. And so is most of Flowers’ strange, strange magic.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 16, 2014
    50
    Flowers in the Attic plays it safe and a bit boring. This is material that screams for a campy touch, but director Deborah Chow and teleplay writer Kayla Alpert tell the tale with mostly straight faces.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jan 10, 2014
    42
    Flower's isn't a guilty pleasure, it's purgatory. [17 Jan 2014, p.63]
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 21, 2014
    40
    V.C. Andrews’ popular and creepy 1979 novel “Flowers in the Attic” gets no favors from the scriptwriters in this latest adaptation. The reason to watch, even when you’re saying “Yeah, right” to what’s happening on the screen, is actors Ellen Burstyn, Mason Dye and Kiernan Shipka.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Jan 17, 2014
    40
    Lifetime goes there, then backs away from the issue immediately, making for some scenes that add nothing to the story but brief bouts of nausea.
  8. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 17, 2014
    40
    Teen sexuality is tricky subject material. Teen sexuality manifested in incest is trickier still. And the new Lifetime movie is not up to the job.
  9. Reviewed by: Meredith Goldstein
    Jan 17, 2014
    40
    Graham is so weirdly robotic as Corrine Dollanganger that it’s almost as if she’s doing an impression of an actress in a Lifetime movie.... Burstyn's scenes are compelling, even though she doesn’t have much to work with. The movie gets hard to watch when we’re stuck in the attic with siblings Cathy, Chris, Cory, and Cary.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 16, 2014
    40
    The film, adapted by Kayla Alpert and directed by Deborah Chow, captures only the faintest shadow of the book’s tone and ambience, so it’s left with the story, and that’s not a good situation.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I have never seen the original 1987 movie "Flowers in the Attic", so I am not reviewing this title as a remake, but honestly, I just fell inI have never seen the original 1987 movie "Flowers in the Attic", so I am not reviewing this title as a remake, but honestly, I just fell in love with this movie, it is most wonderfully tragic & horrifying. Well acted, well written, & all in all one of the best movies 2014, & I have to say that "Flowers in the Attic" (2014 Version) has became one of my favorite movies of all time. Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    0
    Definitely the worst show I've ever seen in my life. It's like what a bunch of diabetic grandmothers want to watch together on their deathbedsDefinitely the worst show I've ever seen in my life. It's like what a bunch of diabetic grandmothers want to watch together on their deathbeds while drinking grapefruit juice. Awful. Full Review »