• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 18, 2014
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 21, 2014
    75
    Flowers, both the book and the new movie, is completely absurd--if you want to gauge the absurdity, just know that one of the darkest secrets in the narrative involves a doughnut--but somehow also psychologically coherent. It has a grip.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 21, 2014
    70
    A sharper creepy TV movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 21, 2014
    67
    If you dwell too much on the plot, you’ll fall into a chasm of disbelief.... Flowers doesn’t look like a Lifetime film, and that’s a compliment. The production moves at a brisk pace, and unlike the children’s predicament, never feels claustrophobic.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 16, 2014
    67
    The whole enterprise is alternately laughable and affecting without committing the eighth deadly sin of being boring.
  5. Reviewed by: Genevieve Valentine
    Jan 16, 2014
    67
    Perhaps, because it was unwilling to risk becoming camp, this Flowers can’t achieve the necessary passion, either--Corinne’s viciousness is lost in the shuffle, and volatile Cathy and confused Christopher remain sketches of real characters, whose love never becomes the lifelong connection that takes them by surprise and desperately rushes them toward freedom.
  6. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jan 17, 2014
    63
    Despite the seemingly substantial production budget, there are moments of howlingly bad special effects.... But the real problem is the movie’s lack of lust.
  7. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 16, 2014
    63
    It does what it sets out to do: that is, adapt the book faithfully and still make an entertaining film.
  8. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 13, 2014
    63
    This tale of a twisted family’s misguided quest for love and money is still creepy and atmospheric enough to make for pulpy television fun.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I have never seen the original 1987 movie "Flowers in the Attic", so I am not reviewing this title as a remake, but honestly, I just fell inI have never seen the original 1987 movie "Flowers in the Attic", so I am not reviewing this title as a remake, but honestly, I just fell in love with this movie, it is most wonderfully tragic & horrifying. Well acted, well written, & all in all one of the best movies 2014, & I have to say that "Flowers in the Attic" (2014 Version) has became one of my favorite movies of all time. Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    0
    Definitely the worst show I've ever seen in my life. It's like what a bunch of diabetic grandmothers want to watch together on their deathbedsDefinitely the worst show I've ever seen in my life. It's like what a bunch of diabetic grandmothers want to watch together on their deathbeds while drinking grapefruit juice. Awful. Full Review »