• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 14, 2011
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 13, 2011
    83
    Despite its lead characters' fragile makeups, Free Agents is a niftily scripted, bracingly grownup comedy when in the hands of its two leads.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2011
    83
    The tone tips awkwardly between crude and romantic, and a little of Azaria goes a long way. But I'm game for episode 2.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 16, 2011
    80
    It's no small miracle that Mr. Azaria makes this soppy character work. He does. The same can be said for just about everything else in this appealingly hard-headed, smartly written comedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 14, 2011
    70
    Free Agents has its moments and fine performances--and also make one wonder about the long run.
  5. Reviewed by: Michelle Welch
    Sep 14, 2011
    70
    These initial 23 minutes offer a promising mix of rapid banter, smart cultural references, and delightful absurdity.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    I found Free Agents more than tolerable, and there's potential in the office ensemble that surrounds these two characters (though I wouldn't mind if the super-sass of Natasha Leggero's assistant character was toned down a bit).
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    Free Agents is not "The Office," but the lead characters are appealing, and the show is funny in its own, quite grown-up way.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    Compared to the show it's paired with, "Up All Night", this is pure genius, but the latter show I found terrible. Hank Azaria is a good actorCompared to the show it's paired with, "Up All Night", this is pure genius, but the latter show I found terrible. Hank Azaria is a good actor although I don't know that this sitcom will be his thing. The woman lead, Katherine Hahn was just OK. The meeting scenes in the office would have generated several sexual harassment lawsuits, but then this is TV. One particularly odd one is where the male boss is deep massaging the Azaria character while he's sitting in his chair. Weird and unclear why to me, but maybe I wasn't paying close enough attention. Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    This will be cancelled in a few weeks. Such a terrible idea and the acting is just horrible. Parks and Recreation (the best show on TV) makesThis will be cancelled in a few weeks. Such a terrible idea and the acting is just horrible. Parks and Recreation (the best show on TV) makes this look like **** (which it is). Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    2
    Will go down in history as NBC's worst idea ever. The writing and acting are worse than sub-par and both Kathryn Hahn and Hank Azaria giveWill go down in history as NBC's worst idea ever. The writing and acting are worse than sub-par and both Kathryn Hahn and Hank Azaria give performances that are disproportionate with their actual abilities. Full Review »