Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 6, 2013
    100
    This show captures a distinct culture, and the people jockeying for places in it, trying to prove, mostly to themselves, that their lives have value. And so Friday Night Lights has more than almost any network show today. [5 Oct 2007, p.B33]
  2. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Oct 6, 2013
    100
    It's still the best network show you're not watching, America. [5 Oct 2007, p.1]
  3. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Oct 6, 2013
    100
    Some of the best performances seen anywhere on TV. They're all so incredible that it seems unfair to single out some and not others, but if you watch Friday Night Lights, pay close attention to Chandler, Britton and Gilford; Taylor Kitsch as beer-swilling lothario Tim Riggins; Scott Porter as the wheelchair-bound former quarterback; Brad Leland as team booster Buddy Garrity (especially him); and Jesse Plemons and Adrianne Palicki as Landry and Tyra, the school's most unlikely couple (especially them too)...Everyone on Friday Night Lights deserves an Emmy. And true to form for this great unsung show, none of them were even nominated. [5 Oct 2007, p.133]
  4. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 6, 2013
    100
    While some critics have nearly thrown themselves in front of a train to get people to watch Friday Night Lights, bending and bruising the language in praise of it, the truth is that a good argument could be made for FNL being perhaps the best drama on broadcast television. [5 Oct 2007]
  5. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Oct 6, 2013
    91
    Go ahead and give this little show a chance. To paraphrase Coach Taylor's refrain: Clear eyes. Full hearts. Can't lose this show. [5 Oct 2007, p.e23]
  6. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    The most visually sensual series perhaps ever seen on television.
  7. Denver Post
    Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    No spoilers here, but there's a twist at the end of tonight's hour of Friday Night Lights that will reverberate through the season. This is cause for concern: The addition of a sustained mystery, not to mention the sight of teens jumping through windows to meet sex partners, could render Friday Night Lights more like every other show. Still, if it makes the story more accessible for those who crave a more literal narrative without altering the basic nature of the series, I'm for it. [5 Oct 2007, p.F-02]
  8. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Chuck Barney
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    And as far as the plots are concerned, don't sweat it. Tonight's engaging season-opener is easily accessible. Spend some time with these characters and soon you'll find yourself developing a strong emotional connection to them. [5 Oct 2007]
  9. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 6, 2013
    90
    The new layout of the action - Coach Eric Taylor lives in Austin, coaching college football, while Tami Taylor is at home in Dillon on maternity leave - doesn't make the story any less cohesive or satisfying. [5 Oct 2007, p.D2]
  10. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 6, 2013
    88
    FNL didn't get to be the best new show on prime time last season by losing its balance, and tonight's opener has the large cast still making almost all the right moves. [5 Oct 2007, p.147]
  11. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 7, 2013
    80
    So all is well until the story takes a melodramatic turn that seems so out of character for this starkly realistic show, you have to wonder if it was imposed by the network or the studio to create buzz. Nevertheless, this is a terrific series with proven writers and actors. I'm willing to wait and see where they go next. [5 Oct 2007, p.2E]
  12. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 6, 2013
    80
    I remain troubled by a big development at the end of Episode 1, which feels like too much of a stretch and is out of keeping with the show's admirable focus on intimate, believable stories. I hope it doesn't signal a move toward more obvious, predictable melodrama -- which already can be found all over the TV landscape. [5 Oct 2007, p.1]
  13. Newark Star-Ledger
    Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 7, 2013
    50
    And then, near the end of the premiere, something happened that put a dull ache in the pit of my stomach. I won't spoil it here - henceforth, it'll be referred to as The Bad Thing - but it seemed so tonally wrong, so in violation of everything that made the show and the particular characters involved so great, that I knew - I knew - this had been imposed on the production team by the suits at NBC. [5 Oct 2007, p.55]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    When I first watched Friday Night Lights second season I found it difficult to understand why it had received so much criticism with some fansWhen I first watched Friday Night Lights second season I found it difficult to understand why it had received so much criticism with some fans going as far as to say new viewers should skip it entirely. Judged as a piece of standalone drama much of it is actually very good with arguably improved performances from its first year on air and some genuinely interesting story-lines.

    Having since seen the show through to its conclusion however I have certainly lowered my opinion of this second season. The problem is simply that many of the plots, in particular the one involving Landry and Tyra, just aren't quite in keeping with its usual slow burning nature and as a result the emotional payoff Friday Night Lights is often capable of just isn't there. I wouldn't go as far as to recommend skipping it but there was certainly much better to come in future seasons.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Without a doubt, Friday Night Lights is one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. The story is so well done and realistic that it makes youWithout a doubt, Friday Night Lights is one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. The story is so well done and realistic that it makes you feel as if all these characters are real people who you could actually visit if you went to this small town in Texas. I highly recommend Friday Night Lights for anybody who is a fan of good TV. Season 2 is just as good as the first season but adds increasing layers of depth to the characters we know and love. Full Review »