Friday Night Lights Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The football drama based on the movie of the same name returns with the help of DirecTV.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    As good and as riveting as the high school football-as-soap-opera show has been in the past, this season is even better.
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Keleman
    100
    Not since HBO's "The Wire" has a show juggled so many conflicting and diverse issues like race, money, and class with such staggering insight.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    91
    This show was always best when handling the little things that aim to capture life, and often do.
  4. The premiere doesn't necessarily have the sort of mythical, spine-tingling moments that the first season provided from time to time, but the acting remains strong (particularly by Chandler and Britton, the First Couple of primetime) and it feels like an episode of Friday Night Lights in a way that very little of season two did.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    Lights proves not only that it's possible to produce a smart drama with teenage characters, but that a series can be better than the movie (itself inspired by a bestselling book) that spawned it.
  6. One of television's best shows has been the exclusive province of DirecTV's 101 Network for months now, but finally "Friday Night Lights" is returning to NBC, with a third season that feels more like the first. In other words, no homicides, accidental or otherwise, just the very real human drama of life in a Texas town where football touches nearly everyone's lives.
  7. 70
    The show may not quite be as immersive as it was at its best; we may not see the likes of FNL’s breathtaking first season again. But in Season 3, it’s more evident than ever that many of FNL’s most powerful moments occur when there’s no dialogue at all.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Zeke
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Love the show... I don't know what i would do if i didn't have the show to watch. I have been watching the show since season 1, and cant get enough. I bought both season 1 and 2 DVD sets and watched them at least like 20 times. Now I'm just waiting for season 3 so come to NBC on the 16th. Love it and hope for another season. Expand
  2. MichaelC
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    I love this show and I have watched all 3 seasons so far. I hope there is another one.
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Without a doubt, Friday Night Lights is one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. The story is so well done and realistic that it makes you feel as if all these characters are real people who you could actually visit if you went to this small town in Texas. I highly recommend Friday Night Lights for anybody who is a fan of good TV. Season 3 is just as good as Season 1 if not better! Collapse
  4. MichaelM
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Friday Night Lights rocks! The characters are rich and real. The writing is excellent...almost indiscernable in that you hardly notice the use of plot devices or other dramatic mechanisms. The stories just flow from the premises and situations. This should be a metascore of over 90. Expand
  5. Ron
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Older than most characters on the show, but still able to identify with the characters' personal struggles and triumphs. Whereas shows like "24" offer pure escapism, FNL serves up, without being overly "soapy", realistic depictions of daily life. So far, season 3 is off to strong start and I'm just waiting for Buddy Garrity to be served up a big heaping of "humble pie a la mode"! Expand
  6. garthm
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    9.7, actually. Oh, the fourth season that (possibly)has been set up by the third season finale! What a loss to commercial television the cancellation of this series would represent. I've followed Britton and Chandler since Season 1. Their relationship is rich and real. Anyone remember their little under-the-table whispering spat during the party? A gem of writing and acting. Supporting characters have not been uniformly interesting, nor have they all been actors of the caliber of Britton and Chandler. But some of them are superb. Kudos, then, to Gilford and Plemons. And all praise to the writers, who have managed to salvage such interesting stories (with some exceptions) from what must be an overwhelming temptation to make this a story about football. Friday nights I go to Texas. I look forward to each visit. My deep appreciation goes out to the writers, actors, directors, and cameramen. Because of them I know I won't leave Dillon disappointed. Expand
  7. AndyK
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Great third season. I watched this on Direct TV and recommend it now on NBC. Strong story line, great new characters, and a finish that (hopefully) allows it to return again. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  3. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.