Friday Night Lights Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season four finds Coach Taylor dealing with the many challenges that make East Dillion's football team unlike Dillion High.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    Quirky, funny, smart, wonderful acting, surprise cameos by cherished actors (Steve Harris, "The Practice"), and a one-two punch by Chandler and Britton that is unbeatable. What's not to love?
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    100
    By the end of the opening hour, you're already engaged by Coach Taylor's challenge to turn the East Dillon stragglers into guys who can complete the phrase ''Clear eyes, full hearts, can't lose'' without mumbling. And Friday Night Lights is headed for more touchdown episodes than you can count.
  3. 100
    Football is the framework for what remains a gritty, family drama with enormous heart.
  4. The characters carry themselves with the kind of decency, maturity and occasional playfulness that is virtually unseen on prime time.
  5. Reviewed by: Stuart Levine
    80
    The show's minscule budget has turned into one of its greatest assets, using real-life Austin locales and citizens to bring an authenticity that only adds to the drama.
  6. 80
    In its fourth season, Friday Night Lights is just as thoughtful and restrained as it's ever been, with its focus firmly planted on the small-town disappointments of ordinary people.
  7. 75
    Is Lights the show it was when it began? No. But it's still better than most anything else on the TV field.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. BrianC
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    WOW! Still the best show on television hands down. It really has a literary aspect missing from most shows with high-production gloss. Which is not to say it doesn't LOOK good--the shots are often amazing, and moments are often most poignant when nothing is said and you see the beaming Texas sun. Season 4 started off a little lukewarm, but damn if they didn't jump into full stride by episodes 5 and 6. The relationship between the whole Taylor family shows THE most believable and dignified family dynamic I've EVER seen on television. Each character develops at a fluid pace in direct concordance with the events of their life, and even the brand new characters in season 4 impress with their interpretive abilities--something makes me think the new actors were required to study up on the past seasons to get a feel for how to interact with the classic characters. I get the chills watching this show at times, and it's never from cheap plot twists or dramatic impossibilities. The only unbelievable aspect is the actual football, but then this never was a "sports" show anyway. If you're as annoyed and can't be troubled with banal plot cliches as I am, check out episode 5 of season 4, and watch the artful way which Matt Saracen acts upon his grief (I won't give away why he's grieving). As usual subtle art like this will go largely unnoticed, but art rarely has populist appeal--instead I take comfort in the knowledge that I will own all the season DVDs from this show, however long it lasts, and be able to share them with my children some day. Expand
  2. AK
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    One of the best dramas on television - hands down.
  3. Gianni
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Amazing series, realistic to the core, spare nothing of the cruel do-it-or-die that everyone who dreams of leaving a smalltown must face. It can get any better than this. Expand
  4. KathyW
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Fantastic characters, storylines, acting, everything. Should be recognized by more people as one of the BEST show out there.
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Friday Night Lights has been a personal favorite of mine since it started airing on Sky Atlantic last march. The show does a great job of conveying our heroes major triumphs and their rock bottoms. Anyway the 4th season of Friday Night Lights began airing a couple of months back and I have to say I have not been left disappointed

    The 4th season feels like a whole new chapter of Dillon as our main hero, Coach Eric Taylor lose his job with the Panthers and takes on the role of Head Coach of the East Dillon Lions. A lot of the major characters departed last season (farewell Smash, Street, Tyra and Lyla)but we are treated to some new faces in the form of Vince, Luke, Becky and Jess and basically a new environment as the crime ridden East Dillon is worlds away from the safe and community orientated Dillon we are accustomed to.

    Friday Night Lights also features its best episode thus far in the form of The Son, an episode dealing with the grief a young man can face when confronted with the death of the father he never knew. Truly powerful stuff, with one actor deserving of a Emmy nomination for his outstanding performance

    Other issues are featured in season 4 such as teen pregnancy and abortion, and as Friday Night Lights usually does, handles the subject matter extremely delicately.

    All in all I would say that that this season is probably my favorite season of the show so far, and from the season finale I think that the show could reach new levels of greatness in it's swansong season.
    Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    With Coach Taylor now in charge of the penniless East Dillon Lions Friday Night Lights serves up yet another fantastic season.

    Much like
    many other great drama series Friday Night Lights greatest strength is the way it allows the viewers to really get to know each and every one of the main characters and this is helped greatly by its fantastic script and universally great performances. As a result it is all but impossible not to start to really care what happens to the people of Dillon and I can think of very few TV shows that have had the same emotional impact on me as Friday Night Lights. Collapse
  7. BAM
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the consistently outstanding series on TV. Peter Berg is a master and the cast is perfect.

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  3. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.