Friday Night Lights Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth and final season will see many good-byes as Eric and Tami's daughter graduates this year and Dillon High loses two players to college. Originally aired on DirecTV's 101 Network in Oct 2010.
  • Genre(s): Sports, Drama, Sports
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 13, 2010
    100
    Friday Night Lights used high school football as a vehicle to explore plainly and authentically the way in which people live, struggle and thrive in small towns. It just might be the finest scripted series on prime time.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Dec 13, 2010
    100
    What's not to love in Friday Night Lights? This is a place, and a show, I will never want to leave. It feels like family. But we're lucky to have been given this much of their story. Underdogs to the end, these are my TV heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Dalton Ross
    Dec 13, 2010
    83
    FNL's final season begins with one person staying put (Taylor Kitsch's Riggins is still in jail) and others moving on (Aimee Teegarden's Julie and Jesse Plemons' Landry are college-bound). Meanwhile, Coach Taylor (Kyle Chandler) heads to the basketball court to find his next star player. [Oct 22/29 2010, p.107]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    The series maintains its sense of creating a believable universe. Yes, a few characters are explained away without making an appearance (BBQ owner we hardly knew ye) but the show tries hard to reward long-time fans.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 13, 2010
    80
    The show, and its survival, offers proof that quality can triumph in an industry driven by quantity and that even though necessity is the more fertile of the two, poetry can also be a fine mother to invention.
  6. Reviewed by: Kris King
    Dec 13, 2010
    75
    As you watch the look of quiet determination spread across his player's faces, it becomes clear that the show's final season may not be perfect, but it still has the power to make you feel like storming the football field yourself.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 13, 2010
    70
    Overall, a solid but not riveting premiere. No goosebumps ala Eric in the halftime locker room last year, but as always, it's good to be back in Dillon.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This is what tv should be. Reality with fabulous acting. I've loved it from the first episode. The characters make you care about their lives without hitting you over the head with their angst. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    By my estimation, FNL is the 3rd best TV show of all-time (behind The Wire and The Shield). A wonderfully compelling drama with the most authentic feeling TV marriage ever at the heart of it all. The final season delivered like we've come to expect over the years with this show. It's a terrible shame that this show never garnered a larger audience. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    It is difficult to write a review that does this show justice. Being from a small town this show hits close to home in both accuracy and emotional touch. Yet I have many friends who were grew up in metro areas who have equal love for this show. Many shows lose the magic they once had when they began, but FNL continues to get better with age.

    You would be doing yourself a real disservice if you didn't watch this program in its entirety.
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2011
    10
    Once again, I find that a show "too good for TV" has been cancelled prematurely. FNL is simply one of the very best, most honest, and realistically touching shows ever on television. The cast is uniformly wonderful and have created characters that one can really root for and wish to see more of in the future. Best wishes to Kyle Chandler, Connie Britton and company on delivering one of the very best shows of all time, in my estimation. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    This is an absolutely unbelievable show. This last season, last episode, and especially the last 3 minutes of the episode brought me near to tears. Trust me, I am not someone who this would usually occur to. I would strongly recommend you take the time to watch this show because it is so great. Clear eyes, Full hearts, Can't lose. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    Beautiful, flawless, gorgeous, authentic, realistic, artful, seamless, masterful. That's what the final season of the poignant, ever so thoughtful FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS is. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Too much overhyped, this series tells a cliche story, with not bad cast, but bad characters. It's just people saying how they're unlucky, but don't do anything to change it. At all, it would be a great series if the charatecrs and the plot change, because the dialogues are just too boring for me. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  3. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.