Friends : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 1994
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 27, 2013
    60
    In short, they do what friends do, only they do more of it more often. Too often, actually. That constant comic bantering grows a little tired, just as it would if it ever actually happened in real life. [22 Sept 1994, p.C1]
  2. Reviewed by: Tony Scott
    Feb 27, 2013
    60
    Concept is OK, but the humor's less sophisticated than expected from the exec producers of HBO's comedy series "Dream On," and the dialogue is not exactly snappy. Ross: "I honestly don't know if I'm hungry or horny!" Chandler: "Stay out of my freezer."
  3. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Marvin Kitman
    Jul 12, 2013
    50
    The trouble with "Friends" is that Cox is not strong enough as a comedian. [5 Sep 1994]
  4. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Tonight's new NBC sitcom from the producers of HBO's "Dream On" hands us still one more batch of self-consciously quirky, single, more-or-less charming twentysomething characters and lets them hang for a half-hour reading faux Woody Allen lines. [22 Sept 1994, p.36]
  5. Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Reviewed by: Tom Feran
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Amiable but not memorable, Friends becomes an overcrowded "Ellen," which remains a junior-varsity "Seinfeld" wannabe. [22 Sept 1994, p.7E]
  6. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Wildly uneven. [22 Sept 1994]
  7. Kansas City Star
    Reviewed by: Barry Garron
    Feb 27, 2013
    40
    So it's come to this - all talk and no action... Some of the lines are funny and several of the stars, particularly Aniston and David Schwimmer, who plays Ross, are appealing. But something is missing here and that something is a story. Where's the beef?[22 Sept 1994, p.F1]
  8. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Feb 27, 2013
    40
    Friends is the new "Seinfeld" wannabe, but it will never be as funny as "Seinfeld." Even as "Seinfeld" is now, which isn't as funny as it used to be.[22 Sept 1994, p.10]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 402 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 2 out of 56
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or season I watch. I can just close my eye's and pick a disk from my collection and watch it. The show is painfully funny and each character has a joke "style" that matches their personality perfectly.
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    This tv show has redefined'''' BRILLIANCE''
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Funny, heart warming and simply hilarious, the first season of Friends introduces us to the charming characters who we have all come to loveFunny, heart warming and simply hilarious, the first season of Friends introduces us to the charming characters who we have all come to love over the years, this season unlike the later ones was mostly about how the Friends were living in the city at the age of 25-26 and it contains some of the most classic episodes like the One with all the Poker, the One with the Fake Monica and the One with the Thumb. Full Review »