Friends : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 1994
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Friends Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 446 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "With a Little Help From My Friends" is a song written by the Beatles (and expertly covered by Joe Cocker) and it could easily be the subtitle for the thirty minute comedy, "Friends". In 1994, the idea was created for "Friends": a show about six friends in New York as they navigate their way"With a Little Help From My Friends" is a song written by the Beatles (and expertly covered by Joe Cocker) and it could easily be the subtitle for the thirty minute comedy, "Friends". In 1994, the idea was created for "Friends": a show about six friends in New York as they navigate their way through life and learn to grow up as they approach the third decade of their life. All, with the help from each other to get them through the obstacles that life naturally has for us. Monica is the excessively neat and organized "older sister" of the group, who works as a chef while yearning to find her ideal love. Ross, Monica's older brother, is a paleontologist with a lifelong crush on Rachel. He is a laid-back man with low self esteem and a recent divorcee. Rachel is the pretty, bubbly girl who spent most of her life as a spoiled rich princess. Now she must learn to face the real world. Chandler is Ross' college buddy and the guy who will crack jokes at a moment's notice. Phoebe is a lovable eccentric masseuse who easily could have fit in with Haight Ashbury in the 1960s. And Joey, the friend who has an inverse relationship between his good looks and his intelligence. He dreams of becoming an actor. These six individuals make up the cast of Friends. In May 2004, Friends officially ended it's phenomenal 10 year run. The show's time slot was taken over by a spin-off called Joey. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Friends
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 11, 2013
    91
    At its best, Friends operates like a first-rate Broadway farce, complete with slamming doors, twisty plots, and intricately strung together jokes. And even when it's not at its best, the crack acting and piquant punchlines give Friends a momentum and charm that win you over even if you're not laughing.
  2. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Michael Sragow
    Feb 27, 2013
    90
    The best new sitcom of the fall...It's a very strong cast. [22 Sept 1994, p.1D]
  3. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Ken Parish Perkins
    Feb 27, 2013
    80
    What helps Friends is that the show's creators have come up with a highly likable group of actors who are talented and charming, if not rip-roaringly funny. [21 Sept 1994, p.C2]
  4. Reviewed by: Tony Scott
    Feb 27, 2013
    60
    Concept is OK, but the humor's less sophisticated than expected from the exec producers of HBO's comedy series "Dream On," and the dialogue is not exactly snappy. Ross: "I honestly don't know if I'm hungry or horny!" Chandler: "Stay out of my freezer."
  5. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Tonight's new NBC sitcom from the producers of HBO's "Dream On" hands us still one more batch of self-consciously quirky, single, more-or-less charming twentysomething characters and lets them hang for a half-hour reading faux Woody Allen lines. [22 Sept 1994, p.36]
  6. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Wildly uneven. [22 Sept 1994]
  7. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Feb 27, 2013
    0
    Friends comes across like a 30-minute commercial for Dockers or Ikea or light beer, except it's smuttier. One character says he dreamed he had a telephone for a penis and when it rang, "it turns out it's my mother." And this is in the first five minutes...Another ghastly creation from professional panderers Marta Kauffman and David Crane, the witless duo who do "Dream On" for HBO, Friends is more a scripted talk show than a sitcom. You keep waiting for Sally Jessy or some other cluck to interrupt the jabbering. The show is so bad that Sally Jessy would actually come as a relief. [22 Sept 1994, p.D1]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63
  1. Nov 3, 2016
    10
    If you like comedy, you will like "Friends". As simple as that. Some peaple say it's overrated, but you shouldn't say about anything untilIf you like comedy, you will like "Friends". As simple as that. Some peaple say it's overrated, but you shouldn't say about anything until you watch it by yourself. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    I am not sure what the beef is with the critics who gave this a 59. This is worth a ten. I mean, sure, some of the comic is a bit juvenile,I am not sure what the beef is with the critics who gave this a 59. This is worth a ten. I mean, sure, some of the comic is a bit juvenile, but that's the show. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or season I watch. I can just close my eye's and pick a disk from my collection and watch it. The show is painfully funny and each character has a joke "style" that matches their personality perfectly.
    Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Nothing on TV compares to this anymore. Although Friends starts slow (takes a while to establish the personalities of each character) it getsNothing on TV compares to this anymore. Although Friends starts slow (takes a while to establish the personalities of each character) it gets better and better as the series progress. There is a dip in series 7, where the jokes and writing(as well as acting) is quite poor and a few very uneven episodes, but I think series 8, 9 and 10 pick up again. Recommend strongly 10/10 overall (again despite the dip in season 6&7). Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    best ever made you cant get better friends than these, really enjoyed all seasons and can keep watching them again andbest ever made you cant get better friends than these, really enjoyed all seasons and can keep watching them again and again.............................................................................................. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    This is probably the best show ever made.
    It is amazing, it teaches you tons of good things and makes you laugh a lot at the same time. It
    This is probably the best show ever made.
    It is amazing, it teaches you tons of good things and makes you laugh a lot at the same time. It has an amazing cast and stories!
    Definitely the best ever. Since 1994 it never became boring!
    Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2017
    0
    I really like the series, I have seen many of his seasons and above all I really like the cast, they are quite gracious and very professional,I really like the series, I have seen many of his seasons and above all I really like the cast, they are quite gracious and very professional, serious i love the serie Expand

See all 63 User Reviews