• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 178

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The season one finale was such a game changer for the entire show. Season two is excellent. Olivia, Peter, Walter and Astrid further investigate the fascinating sphere of Fringe science and soon discover that everything is intertwined, including themselves. It is full of flashbacks and a budding attraction between Peter and Olivia (which is really cute, but not a central aspect of the story so don't worry if you're not into that kind of thing). The last couple of episodes of season two are AMAZING. One of my favourite seasons EVER! And my favourite show still. It makes me want to cry tears of happiness. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    9
    It could be a challenge to keep up with incredible season 1, but J.J. Abrams and co did succeed. Main plot is in center of almost all episodes in season 2, which adds to the intensity. It's a must own for sci fi fans
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    The second season of Fringe is really when it became something more than average. "Peter" is the first "oh my god" episode the show delivered, and the wait was completely worth it. The finale also deserves some recognition. Anna Torv and John Noble both portray great, likable characters that are some of the best on TV.
  4. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  5. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    An amazing sci-fi show that is so much better than the rest of the series.Definitively worth watching.The only thing better than the first season of Fringe is it's second season
  6. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The end of the second season was absolutely brilliant. The show simply just keeps getting better and the introduction of the alt-universe was fascinating. Torv and Jackson are great, but John Noble continues to steal the show as Walter. Some of the best work on television today. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This was my favorite season of Fringe and the season finale was one the best finales ever. Totally on the edge of my seat. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. Anna Torv improves her acting in this season and the best acting still comes from John Noble (Dr Walter Bishop). This show is well done and I can't wait to watch every single episode. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Hard to believe it is possible, but the second season of Fringe was even better than the first. I loved "Northwest Passage" and "Brown Betty." The show is fun, playful, and serious all at the same time -- It is the only show worth watching on television.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 75
    The Season 2 premiere of the genre-tinged drama Fringe is almost the polar opposite of its bombastic Season 1 premiere, and that’s a very good thing.
  2. Fortunately, someone finally grabs hold of the wheel and steers it back to where it belongs, as one of the great character dramas of contemporary television.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    70
    While not as mind-blowing as the last season's finale (which had me finally buying into the show after a season on the fence), does a good enough job continuing to run with the parallel-universe scenario established toward the end of season one.