Fringe : Season 2

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 217

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Hard to believe it is possible, but the second season of Fringe was even better than the first. I loved "Northwest Passage" and "Brown Betty." The show is fun, playful, and serious all at the same time -- It is the only show worth watching on television.
  2. WilC.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    An amazing sci-fi show that is so much better than 90% of the crap on tv today.
  3. DannyS.
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Fantastic concept, great writing, good acting, gripping story, the only thing that's needed is to perfect the concept that's already been laid down. It's a great idea, but it's still young and fresh. Over time it will build and Fringe will become something truly amazing. (Also, Metacritic, please block people from re-voting under different aliases. Block multiple Fantastic concept, great writing, good acting, gripping story, the only thing that's needed is to perfect the concept that's already been laid down. It's a great idea, but it's still young and fresh. Over time it will build and Fringe will become something truly amazing. (Also, Metacritic, please block people from re-voting under different aliases. Block multiple submissions from the same IP. Thank you). Expand
  4. MaximilianoS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    The second season seems to keep the promises made with the first one. I think it's a good tv product!
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The end of the second season was absolutely brilliant. The show simply just keeps getting better and the introduction of the alt-universe was fascinating. Torv and Jackson are great, but John Noble continues to steal the show as Walter. Some of the best work on television today. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    When watching Fringe one can’t help but me reminded of The X-Files with its team of outsiders investigating strange and unusual occurrences. Much like the X-Files Fringe also combines stand alone episodes with an overall mythology arc. For the most part the stand alone episodes can’t quite measure up to the cult 90’s classic at its best (no episodes have the originality or imagination ofWhen watching Fringe one can’t help but me reminded of The X-Files with its team of outsiders investigating strange and unusual occurrences. Much like the X-Files Fringe also combines stand alone episodes with an overall mythology arc. For the most part the stand alone episodes can’t quite measure up to the cult 90’s classic at its best (no episodes have the originality or imagination of ‘Squeeze’, ‘Home’ or ‘Drive’ for example) but the overall mythology is every bit as intriguing and this, along with the shows dark sense of humour, is what makes Fringe such a treat for sci-fi fans. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. May 28, 2013
    9
    It could be a challenge to keep up with incredible season 1, but J.J. Abrams and co did succeed. Main plot is in center of almost all episodes in season 2, which adds to the intensity. It's a must own for sci fi fans
  9. MarkG.
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    One of the things that made season 1 of Fringe special was the limited commercial breaks. This allowed more story per episode, and it was quite refreshing having only 90 seconds of commercials between acts. Now that Fringe has our attention, though, its back to the standard 30% commercials per hour of programming...shame.
  10. AlexL
    Oct 3, 2009
    8
    Fringe shows no signs of slowing down or getting stale. Yet. Enjoy the ride while it lasts.
  11. BretG
    Sep 26, 2009
    7
    A solid and entertaining start, Fringe has found it's footing and comes out as a satisfying paranormal, sci-fi drama. Fringe may very well be a worthy successor to the X-Files should it continue so strongly.
  12. MichaelC.
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    This is the first sci-fi TV show worth watching since The X-Files went off the air.
  13. NadiaL.
    Sep 25, 2009
    8
    I love the premise, but there is just something about Dunham's character or the actress that irks me. If they go back to more of the first season type plots it will improve. This whole alternate universe thing is stretching it even for the Fringe division. I will be back though, its a good show.
  14. JoeH
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    Not quite The X-Files in it's hayday, but becoming almost as fun.
  15. CalK
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    I LOVE this show.
  16. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This was my favorite season of Fringe and the season finale was one the best finales ever. Totally on the edge of my seat. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. Anna Torv improves her acting in this season and the best acting still comes from John Noble (Dr Walter Bishop). This show isThis was my favorite season of Fringe and the season finale was one the best finales ever. Totally on the edge of my seat. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. Anna Torv improves her acting in this season and the best acting still comes from John Noble (Dr Walter Bishop). This show is well done and I can't wait to watch every single episode. Expand
  17. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    An amazing sci-fi show that is so much better than the rest of the series.Definitively worth watching.The only thing better than the first season of Fringe is it's second season
  18. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    The second season of Fringe is really when it became something more than average. "Peter" is the first "oh my god" episode the show delivered, and the wait was completely worth it. The finale also deserves some recognition. Anna Torv and John Noble both portray great, likable characters that are some of the best on TV.
  19. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    The continuation of the mysterious sci-fi show continuous, with entertaining cases of the Fringe division.

    This second season of Fringe got so much more science fiction than supernatural drama, which the events between the two universes truly illustrates. Overall isn't there much to say about this season more than that it's better than the previous season, even though I think there's
    The continuation of the mysterious sci-fi show continuous, with entertaining cases of the Fringe division.

    This second season of Fringe got so much more science fiction than supernatural drama, which the events between the two universes truly illustrates. Overall isn't there much to say about this season more than that it's better than the previous season, even though I think there's less mystery than crime in this season, which is sad. Another sad thing is that there are to much focus on the other universe than ours, so it felt a bit boring.

    Even that there are some negative aspects with this second installment of Fringe, I totally enjoy it!

    The average score for each episode is: 7.95
    Fringe: Season 1 get a 8/10
    Expand
  20. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The season one finale was such a game changer for the entire show. Season two is excellent. Olivia, Peter, Walter and Astrid further investigate the fascinating sphere of Fringe science and soon discover that everything is intertwined, including themselves. It is full of flashbacks and a budding attraction between Peter and Olivia (which is really cute, but not a central aspect of theThe season one finale was such a game changer for the entire show. Season two is excellent. Olivia, Peter, Walter and Astrid further investigate the fascinating sphere of Fringe science and soon discover that everything is intertwined, including themselves. It is full of flashbacks and a budding attraction between Peter and Olivia (which is really cute, but not a central aspect of the story so don't worry if you're not into that kind of thing). The last couple of episodes of season two are AMAZING. One of my favourite seasons EVER! And my favourite show still. It makes me want to cry tears of happiness. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 75
    The Season 2 premiere of the genre-tinged drama Fringe is almost the polar opposite of its bombastic Season 1 premiere, and that’s a very good thing.
  2. Fortunately, someone finally grabs hold of the wheel and steers it back to where it belongs, as one of the great character dramas of contemporary television.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    70
    While not as mind-blowing as the last season's finale (which had me finally buying into the show after a season on the fence), does a good enough job continuing to run with the parallel-universe scenario established toward the end of season one.