• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season three picks up with Olivia still trapped in the alternative world with evil Walter (Walternate), while her alternate self (Bolivia) is with the unknowing Peter and Walter.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 88
    Rather than waiting for a future payoff, Fringe is cashing in with every episode, showing us the escalating war between worlds-and with likeable characters and compelling cases to boot. Ironically, it's by branching out in two different directions that the show has become, more than ever, the centerpiece of a hypercompetitive Thursday night lineup.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Fringe return in fine form, with Fringe possibly taking top honors as the Show of the Night. It's that good.
  3. I have to put in a good word for Fox's excellent Fringe, which returns with a strong episode tonight that helps demonstrate why Anna Torv was cast in the first place.
  4. What's especially impressive in Season 3 is how cogently and clearly events in the two different universes are handled. It's not hard to tell which is which and it's not hard to follow how the two worlds are connected, and those connections have only deepened the mythology in pleasing ways.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Curtis Nelson
    70
    Watching the cast play doubled characters promises to be one of the great pleasures of Fringe's coming season. Certainly Torv and Noble face the biggest challenges, she depicting two characters in flux, he portraying polar opposites. But the alt-world also offers alternatives for all the players.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    63
    I'm not giving up on the show, which was one of last year's best. But I don't want to spend weeks watching our Olivia suffer and their Olivia make Walter and Peter suffer. You have to give writers leeway to take you where they want to go--but at a certain point, commercial entertainment has to be entertaining, or there's no reason to watch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Fringe grabs me. I'm in love with Olivia. Peter's a bad ass. All I want to do is take care of Walter and make sure Broiles isn't too stressed out. The relationships are what make this show tic. It just happens to be about science fiction. The scifi stuff is cool and fun to imagine but the way the characters interact is what has me watching every episode. Thanks for great entertainment! Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Anna Torv is amazing in this third season! She really makes Alt-Olivia and Olivia convincingly different. Joshua Jackson rounds out Peter's character with skill. John Noble plays Walter with such a subtlety of feeling--he is an extraordinary actor. All of the shows main characters are compellingly interesting. Each episode leaves me wanting more, more, more. Fox, please don't cancel this excellent show! Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Fringe and its cast are simply the best. Season three is the best so far, and it's cast really show range. Anna Torv's Olivia and Fauxlivia are stellar, and John Noble's transition from "I love LSD!" Walter to stern, serious Walternate is just incredible. Fringe is the best sci-fi show on television. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Very well done, which I can say for only a few TV shows these days... Just give up already survivor no one cares any more. Excelent acting and excelent plot hope this series continues for a long time. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    The first half of this season is the best story arc in the show, and well worth a watch. The second half fails to impress to the same degree but is watchable nonetheless. However, it would be unfair and dishonest not to mention that the show jumps the shark in the last minute of the finale. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a bad opener episode: thrilling, action-filled, and interesting from a character perspective (Olivia). Sets up what we can expect for the next few episodes and started building some new conflicts. Unfortunately, they are not conflicts I'm excited about seeing. I can only hope the "swap" doesn't last too long. Last season I was enjoying Fringe's take on the alternate universe cliche which is ubiquitous in science fiction. They were executing it in a way that felt fresh... that it was not easy to cross between the two, and the brewing conflict of war because only one would survive. And the differences between the two realities was subtle (like the zeppelins) and cool. But now, with the whole "oh no, Oliiva's been swapped out! watch out Walter and Peter, it's not her!!!" it's starting to feel very rehashed. It's something I've seen too frequently and if it goes for more than 2-3 episodes I will be frustrated. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.