Fringe : Season 3

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Season three picks up with Olivia still trapped in the alternative world with evil Walter (Walternate), while her alternate self (Bolivia) is with the unknowing Peter and Walter.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 88
    Rather than waiting for a future payoff, Fringe is cashing in with every episode, showing us the escalating war between worlds-and with likeable characters and compelling cases to boot. Ironically, it's by branching out in two different directions that the show has become, more than ever, the centerpiece of a hypercompetitive Thursday night lineup.
  2. What's especially impressive in Season 3 is how cogently and clearly events in the two different universes are handled. It's not hard to tell which is which and it's not hard to follow how the two worlds are connected, and those connections have only deepened the mythology in pleasing ways.
  3. 80
    Fringe return in fine form, with Fringe possibly taking top honors as the Show of the Night. It's that good.
  4. I have to put in a good word for Fox's excellent Fringe, which returns with a strong episode tonight that helps demonstrate why Anna Torv was cast in the first place.
  5. Watching the cast play doubled characters promises to be one of the great pleasures of Fringe's coming season. Certainly Torv and Noble face the biggest challenges, she depicting two characters in flux, he portraying polar opposites. But the alt-world also offers alternatives for all the players.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    63
    I'm not giving up on the show, which was one of last year's best. But I don't want to spend weeks watching our Olivia suffer and their Olivia make Walter and Peter suffer. You have to give writers leeway to take you where they want to go--but at a certain point, commercial entertainment has to be entertaining, or there's no reason to watch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    season 3 is just great! the show is getting better and better. excelent acting and excelent plot.
    hope this series continues for a long time.
  3. Jan 19, 2017
    10
    Amazing show! Very mysterious cases and likeable characters. Breathtaking evolution of plot. I like it. [Reviews to be updated..............]Amazing show! Very mysterious cases and likeable characters. Breathtaking evolution of plot. I like it. [Reviews to be updated..............] Decent 9. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Season three is the best season of Fringe, hands down. This show, consistently on the bubble of cancellation, pulled through due to it'sSeason three is the best season of Fringe, hands down. This show, consistently on the bubble of cancellation, pulled through due to it's dedicated fan base. Season three shows us that Fringe is not just about science, but it is about family, and espionage and rivalry etc. It's so bloody excellent I want to cry. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This was the 3rd best season of Fringe. Still on the edge of my seat. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are aboutThis was the 3rd best season of Fringe. Still on the edge of my seat. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. Anna Torv is at her peak of acting in this season and the best acting still comes from John Noble (Dr Walter Bishop). This show is well done and I can't wait to watch every single episode. Expand
  6. May 17, 2014
    9
    In its third season Fringe decided to do things all its own way and, while it occasionally went down the typical JJ Abrams route of lookingIn its third season Fringe decided to do things all its own way and, while it occasionally went down the typical JJ Abrams route of looking like things were made up as they went along, it developed into one of the most intriguing and exciting sci-fi shows seen on television. Splitting the episodes almost evenly across the two alternate universes viewers are asked to invest a significant amount of time in a whole set of new characters, even if they are mostly just different versions of those we already know. Had it been handled incorrectly this could have proved a disaster but as it is it helped to bring a whole new perspective to those living on ‘Earth 2’, making us invest in their plight and demonstrating that they are not just the ‘bad guys’ that need defeating.

    There is still the odd slightly predictable ‘monster of the week episode’ in the middle of the season and, as with all sci-fi shows, there are plot holes for those they are determined to find them but overall Fringe’s third season made for top notch viewing.
    Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers. Not a bad opener episode: thrilling, action-filled, and interesting from a character perspective (Olivia). Sets up what we can expect for the next few episodes and started building some new conflicts. Unfortunately, they are not conflicts I'm excited about seeing. I can only hope the "swap" doesn't last too long. Last season I was enjoying Fringe's take on the alternate universe cliche which is ubiquitous in science fiction. They were executing it in a way that felt fresh... that it was not easy to cross between the two, and the brewing conflict of war because only one would survive. And the differences between the two realities was subtle (like the zeppelins) and cool. But now, with the whole "oh no, Oliiva's been swapped out! watch out Walter and Peter, it's not her!!!" it's starting to feel very rehashed. It's something I've seen too frequently and if it goes for more than 2-3 episodes I will be frustrated. Collapse

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.