Fringe : Season 5

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On the final season of the sci-fi drama, the Fringe team tries to take back the planet from the Observers in the year 2036.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Fringe seems to be going out as alt-world fantasy/sci-fi at its most tough-minded yet humanistic. [5 Oct 2012, p.73]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    For Fringe's small but loyal following, resistance is truly futile. We'll stick with this remarkable series to the end.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    The season opener, "Transilience Thought Modifier Unit-11," is so incomprehensible that it suggests a no-compromise posture for the remaining episodes. Which is exactly what the loyal fans want and deserve.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    On the evidence of Friday's season opener, Fringe will continue to be the best show of its kind since "The X-Files" at the grace notes, intimate or humorous instances like Olivia's Crate & Barrel moment (which won't be further spoiled here). When you get the small things right, it's less crucial that your universes and time shifts exactly line up.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 26, 2012
    50
    The cast is so uniformly excellent that one's seduced into following the narrative despite the show's rather glaring narrative flaws.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    A Show that has explored everything that has to be explored, Fringe continues to surprise me at the highest level continuing to be one of theA Show that has explored everything that has to be explored, Fringe continues to surprise me at the highest level continuing to be one of the best dramas on TV right now and one the sci-fi thrillers to be remembered for a long long time. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This is one one of the best shows ever.Definitely recommended this to anyone.Season 5 may be a little disappointing but still good.Still theThis is one one of the best shows ever.Definitely recommended this to anyone.Season 5 may be a little disappointing but still good.Still the first season was the best Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    From what I can tell from the premiere, Season 5 of Fringe will be a nonstop action-packed adrenaline rush. With a shortened 13-episodeFrom what I can tell from the premiere, Season 5 of Fringe will be a nonstop action-packed adrenaline rush. With a shortened 13-episode order, the Fringe showrunners have promised this season will have no filler episodes, and I'm looking forward to what's to come. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    This last season of Fringe truly is the best.

    It might be a short season, but it's the best in the Fringe series. It totally is excellent
    This last season of Fringe truly is the best.

    It might be a short season, but it's the best in the Fringe series. It totally is excellent in every way, and the series overall couldn't end in a better way. Fringe is a TV-show that just kept me interested and made me love it because all the mysteries and questions it made me ask. This is one of my favorite sci-fi shows, and yes it might have some slower and less interesting episodes, but it's so awesome with all the unexpected questions and mysteries. Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci did a hell of a job with Fringe, and I hope more Fringe-like TV-shows are coming in the future!

    The final season of Fringe is awesome as it is spectacular.

    The average score for each episode is: 8.06
    Fringe: Season 5 get a 8/10
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    I think they stumbled on a cult classic without intention with Fringe. The cast especially Walter are so strong. Despite the complicatedI think they stumbled on a cult classic without intention with Fringe. The cast especially Walter are so strong. Despite the complicated parallel universe story lines which deviate so much from season 1 the writers are up to the task. I was quite sad when it finally ended. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overrall its a pretty good season, a massive improvement from the disaster that was Season 4. It is action packed and full of adrenaline. It is also full of nostalgia for the Fringe fans who were there since the beginning.It turns out that Walter has kept a lot of the technology and chemicals from Fringe events that they have fought in the past, at first they used the skin growth toxin that was last seen in Season 1 then later Peter uses the chemical weapon used on Flight 627 but the Season Finale was when they pulled out the big guns: Skin Growth toxin from Season 1, Giant parasitic worms from Season 2, The mutated common cold from Season 1, the deadly razor blade butterflies hallucinations just about every Fringe case that they've done, I was hanging onto every moment during that scene, just wondering what fringe event they would use next. Another form of nostalgia for fans is when Walter is haunted by Doctor Warren - Walter's dead assistant and he reflects on how he travelled to the other universe to save Peter and what not, another event that is touched on is the White tulip Walter received from the Time traveller in Season 2 and the next and the most heart warming is during the Season Finale when Astrid finds Gene the Cow alive and well sealed inside amber and yet another MASSIVE piece of nostalgia is when we get to see the alternate universe once again and we get to see Lincoln and Alternate Olivia once again.
    It may not be the best season but it touches and flashes back to the past a lot which can make any Fringe fan smile and jump with excitement.
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This show has gotten SO bad. The writing is absurd. I'm forced to watch because I've followed it thus far and don't like to leave anythingThis show has gotten SO bad. The writing is absurd. I'm forced to watch because I've followed it thus far and don't like to leave anything unfinished in a state of limbo. John Noble is this show's only redeeming quality. I can't wait until this last season is done. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.