• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 421 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: J.J. Abrams' sci-fi drama investigates the conspiracy behind the mysterious deaths on an airplane.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 88
    You can see where it's going, and assuming Abrams doesn't let it get lost in its conspiracy, it should be fun to ride along.
  2. 80
    Mixing paranoia, bleak humor and post-9/11 exhaustion in a potent story-telling brew, it's one of the new television season's most promising dramas.
  3. 75
    Lots of good action and lots of fun to boot.
  4. With what appears to be an infinite number of deadly viruses out there, viewers can only hope the FBI can pinpoint them all.
  5. Reviewed by: Micah Towery
    63
    Fringe attempts something similar [to "Lost"] (with an opening scene involving a plane, no less) but can't quite match the primal thrill of vehicular destruction.
  6. I just knew that there seemed to be a Duchovny-shaped hole in the universe "Lost" co-creator J.J. Abrams had designed for his new sci-fi show....Fortunately, things pick up considerably in the second half of tonight's two-hour premiere.
  7. 50
    Abrams, the quintessential American dreamer and overindulger, the ultimate boyish idiot-savant imaginator, just can't control himself. He can't exercise a little self-restraint.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 108
  2. Negative: 17 out of 108
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Fringe is an excellent show that is its own. The reviews saying that it is a bad x-files knockoff are groundless. Just because it is about unusual scientific occurrences doesn't mean that it is trying to be like x-files. Fringe has its own story and likable characters with its own direction. The only time I was disappointed was when it turned into a cartoon under circumstances that would spoil the show if I said. One review wrote off Fringe simply because of the advertising campaign which is complete and utter balls. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The plot is a little hard to follow, but is an excellent story, worth watching. Great creative concept. Good actors. Perfect mix of action, humor, scifi and drama. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    It's an incredible show, I've seen a lot of series but nothing with the quality of Fringe.You see the episodes and only gets better and better.Unquestionably the best show on TV Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    9
    I'm shocked to see the ignorance of some critics, this is one of the most original and engaging science fiction of modern television. And John Noble's acting is outstanding, the notion that he was't nominated for Emmy for best supporting actor is ridiculous! Now season 1 has an interesting main plot, but some side stories makes it shine even more! Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    From the creators Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci, who always have worked closely with J.J Abrams, comes one of the most mysterious and entertaining TV-Shows.

    I totally love Fringe, because it keeps me asking more and more questions about the mysterious events in the series, which truly keeps me watching the show. The high amount of science fiction truly is fascinating to watch, even if that it's not something completely new and original, because many things in Fringe I've already seen in sci-fi series like Stargate and Star Trek, but in the end are all the episodes in Fringe awesome to watch. The intro of Fringe is another thing that I truly adore about fringe, so touching!

    When it comes to a TV-show like Fringe, the quality of every episode may vary much, and this first season felt like it became drama-like after the 10th episode, which I didn't find entertaining at all. Another thing is that the mysterious feeling surrounding Fringe kind of disappeared after the 10th episode, but eventually got it's mojo back in the season finale. Overall is Fringe an awesome sci-fi show that I find is superb to watch, even that the CGI isn't the best I've seen.

    Fringe is a TV-show that truly is packed with action, sci-fi and much entertaining and mysterious things, and I wouldn't consider this show to be a supernatural drama genre, it's just a highly advanced sci-fi show.

    The average score for each episode is: 7.79
    Fringe: Season 1 gets a 8/10
    Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2011
    0
    Ok, where to begin with why this show sucks and is one of the greatest wastes of time I've ever seen. "I Know it, I know what we need! Oh, I need a root beer float actually....and I just pissed myself." Watch it, you'll see what I'm talking about. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.