• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 430 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Mark Valley, Kirk Acevedo, Lance Reddick
  • Summary: J.J. Abrams' sci-fi drama investigates the conspiracy behind the mysterious deaths on an airplane.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Creator: J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 88
    You can see where it's going, and assuming Abrams doesn't let it get lost in its conspiracy, it should be fun to ride along.
  2. 80
    Mixing paranoia, bleak humor and post-9/11 exhaustion in a potent story-telling brew, it's one of the new television season's most promising dramas.
  3. 75
    Lots of good action and lots of fun to boot.
  4. With what appears to be an infinite number of deadly viruses out there, viewers can only hope the FBI can pinpoint them all.
  5. Reviewed by: Micah Towery
    63
    Fringe attempts something similar [to "Lost"] (with an opening scene involving a plane, no less) but can't quite match the primal thrill of vehicular destruction.
  6. I just knew that there seemed to be a Duchovny-shaped hole in the universe "Lost" co-creator J.J. Abrams had designed for his new sci-fi show....Fortunately, things pick up considerably in the second half of tonight's two-hour premiere.
  7. 50
    Abrams, the quintessential American dreamer and overindulger, the ultimate boyish idiot-savant imaginator, just can't control himself. He can't exercise a little self-restraint.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 109
  2. Negative: 17 out of 109
  1. mauricioc.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    Show is amazing!!! This series will have a couple of seasons!!!
  2. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    SEASON BY SEASON REVIEW: FIRST SEASON: Where you'll be forgiven for making an X-files comparison. This season is more procedural and monster of the week format where the lead characters are just starting to get familiar with each other while greater mysteries are introduced. Don't let the X-files snobs who think the unending angst of the Scully/Mulder relationship that takes a decade to develop is the be-all and end-all of mystery television. I found this show to actually evolve their character relationships season to season. Only this season has an echo of the X-files dynamic to it. SEASON 1 SCORE - 7.5 SECOND SEASON: First half builds into some of the most poignantly acted family drama I've ever seen done in the second half. Continues to take you from heartbreaking and hilarious seamlessly like a high quality movie every week and invests you in the characters. SEASON 2 SCORE - 9.5 1st half, 10 second half. THIRD SEASON: The first half expertly executes hard to predict twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing and yes, sometimes I was screaming at the TV at the many OMG moments. I can't think of any episodes on TV that have ever been better then these episodes. EVER. The 2nd half gets a little quieter because unlike other dramas this one actually lets the characters breathe and grow a bit after their experiences. Some may find it lags after the earlier intense excitement but I found this turn to be true to its stellar character development the show excels at. Then it gives you a big bang of OMG exciting plot twists at the end of the season to set up for what's sure to be a wonderfully brain twisting season 4 that will keep you guessing. There is good reason why it has been talked about as one of if not the most shocking season finales of the year. SEASON 3 SCORE: 10 first half, 9 middle half except for a 10 for the whole 3 part finale. IN CONCLUSION: Yes this has been billed as a sci-fi show, but I find the sci-fi elements have only been to serve the greater themes of exploring what it means to be a family and what it means to be you, a human being. If you're someone who likes a good Oscar winning drama that explores the human condition you'll love this show. IMO that's why I think it hasn't gotten the recognition it deserves - its been too easy to call it 'a sci-fi show' in the press not realizing the stereotype drags it down. Hope this review has been helpful to you. Expand
  3. caladoniak
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Starts out a little weak, but the later episodes are incredible.
  4. GaryL.
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Some slow spots midseason, but the finale was great. Shows a lot of promise and keeps getting better.
  5. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    The first season of this show was the only one worth watching. The show did a good job at differentiating itself apart from other similar shows before it. While it still maintained some healthy similarities. I liked this season a lot. Just wish some series actually had a planned ending and not a never ending plot extension to make more money. Expand
  6. JennaJ
    Dec 5, 2008
    5
    It really wants to be the successor to the X-Files and it has everything except what it need most: the chemistry between the two main characters. Fringe is well written and nicely produced but it feels as empty and plot driven as the X-Files without Mulder. I got bored and quit watching. Expand
  7. AlexT.
    Nov 19, 2008
    0
    this show sucks, there's nothing good about it, bad actors, bull crap story lines, and bull crap things that cant happen. this last Tuesday's episode pissed me off, near the flipping end a guy puts a apple in a safe thing, then it starts to buzz, then he pulls it out the back EXACTLY THE SAME. WTH!!!! this show should be taken off TV forever and burned before the future generations realize how stupid we are. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.