• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 1987
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Bunce
    Sep 3, 2013
    60
    It has lots of laughs but few credible plot crises to draw its energy from. But there are reminders of Dad's plight - as when he stands alone, after his mother leaves, and reflects on the very uncomic reality of dealing with his family's future. [18 Sept 1987, p.22]
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Sep 3, 2013
    60
    Demonstrates plenty of marksmanship in the old aim-to-please department. It has a nice convivial camaraderie going for it, and one fail-safe ingredient in reserve: the proverbial cute baby. [22 Sept 1987, p.D1]
  3. Reviewed by: Clifford Terry
    Sep 3, 2013
    40
    Predictably, this means it's a program in which the kids don't act like kids but the adults do. There are all kinds of cutesy-poo situations and lines like, "The baby's sleeping like a baby," your basic thigh-slap diaper- changing scene and a final segue into full-throttle poignance. [22 Sept 1987, p.7C]
  4. 30
    It's not a laughing matter. [22 Sept 1987, p.E-7]
  5. Reviewed by: John J. O'Connor
    Sep 3, 2013
    20
    And so it goes, one predictable situation following another, with the actors frantically trying to keep the patient from becoming a full-fledged corpse.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Sonsky
    Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Full House is your standard-issue, cheap-laugh, bankrupt- of-new-ideas, claustrophobic, one-note-samba sitcom. It's enough to make you wish "Webster" were back. For provoking that sentiment alone, it should be razed. [22 Sept 1987, p.C1]
  7. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Sep 3, 2013
    0
    Full House isn't playing with a full deck. It oozes and blubbers for a half hour, yielding no laughs or life. You need a Geiger counter to detect its pulse. [22 Sept 1987, p.C6]
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    6
    It's not a bad show, but it's often overdone with cheesy undertones. Never once did an episode go by without a "lesson" being learned. (yes, IIt's not a bad show, but it's often overdone with cheesy undertones. Never once did an episode go by without a "lesson" being learned. (yes, I know that's the point of the Tanner family) But it's like they couldn't grow a pair and move on. It always had to be stupid things like "No one wants to live with me". Don't get me wrong, i'm not too critical. I LOVED this show when I was younger, but I have to point out, it was in the 80s and 90s. For what it is, it is pretty good. Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    the first season of full house is okay . but that never stops me from hating full house . i love the cast but i love season 3 & 8 . but itthe first season of full house is okay . but that never stops me from hating full house . i love the cast but i love season 3 & 8 . but it stinks to see michelle tanner be just a baby in season 1 and 2 . and there's nothing fun about season 1 Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    1
    the only reason this unfunny garbage ran for 8 **** SEASONS was because it was the one show that was almost not completely terrible and wasthe only reason this unfunny garbage ran for 8 **** SEASONS was because it was the one show that was almost not completely terrible and was okay enough to watch when nothing else was on. to me and my friends: it was the show we watched just because there was nothing good on tv. then a used SNES came along and we finally found something to do. the fact that this is becoming "popular" to a bunch of 10 year olds (that want to look "grown up" by watching sitcoms like mom and dad..... been there done that) is just **** shameful.

    oh, if you want to listen to the opinion of someone that was a little older than me and understood more of the "jokes" then look up: "nostalgia critic full house".
    Full Review »