User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 3 out of 42

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love Fullmetal Alchemist. That's about all I can say. It was entertaining enough in the first 10 episodes to hold my interest, and around episodes 10 - 13 it really kicked into gear and I was addicted. I finished the series in four days. I've rewatched bits and pieces often since then. I love it. Its exactly what I could ask for. It does what any anime needs to do. It pulls you in to the characters and the story within the first 5 episodes. The characters and story are original and likeable. Its also fairly funny. I recommend watching it in Japanese and not English. I think the voices suit the characters more in Japanese. Definitely worth a watch! Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I really loved this show, but I liked Brotherhood better. And since Brotherhood is the one based on the manga (I think), I'd suggest you watch Brotherhood first, and then this one. This is still really good, though. I mean, good to the point where I would watch it again.
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    The story of the Elric brothers is grim, interesting. This first part of that does not follow the manga source ineteressante and is very well made but with some more not so great failures. Expectitavas and realization makes a great anime Fullmetal Alchemist.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Awesome anime, has awesome story and character design! One of my fave anime! First being Digimon and Major, second being Deltora Quest and Hetalia. Thanks for the awesome Anime!
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    My Favorite anime of all time
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    I love it. Its exactly what I could ask for. It does what any anime needs to do. It pulls you in to the characters and the story within the first 5 episodes. The characters and story are original and likeable. Its also fairly funny. I recommend watching it in Japanese and not English. I think the voices suit the characters more in Japanese. Definitely worth a watch!
  7. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love Fullmetal Alchemist. That's about all I can say. It was entertaining enough in the first 10 episodes to hold my interest, and around episodes 10 - 13 it really kicked into gear and I was addicted. I finished the series in four days. I've rewatched bits and pieces often since then. I love the characters. There's a great balance of drama, angst, and comedy. I would recommend this show to anybody and everybody. Expand
  8. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Fullmetal Alchemist is as close to perfect as humanity can get to such a thing in anime. My previous statement was purely arbitrary ,but this is a show everyone should watch along with its other show (Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood). The animation is flawless to the normal observer (I only found small shortcuts and they were hard to pick out) , only ridiculously close scrutiny will find even a minute mistake. The Voicing (dub) is fantastic and portray their roles as if they were real people. The sub is almost as good as the English but the simple fact of translation doesn't always work and sometimes misses the mark. The music is very excellently and composed solidly, the most impressive of which are the Openings (most of which are done by such famous Japanese Artists as L Arc En Ciel and Asian Kung Fu Generation) . The characters all have deep backstory and even the background characters have a surprising amount of personality, the characters develop at slow pace but there is development. It is literally impossible to talk about the story without spoilers so i wont attempt to. And thus ends my review of a almost perfect anime ( and by almost perfect i mean its only almost because nothing in this world is perfect). Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.