Futurama Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    83
    You will giggle repeatedly.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Fans who feared they'd seen the last of Matt Groening's cult classic will be thrilled to see the show return in good form.
  3. I'm happy to report that, much like the disembodied head of Richard Nixon (who shows up in the second episode), it's the same barrel of laughs it always was.
  4. No doubt about it, Futurama and its entire splendid voice cast is back, sly wit, social satire and all. So, too, are the disembodied heads of celebrated figures.
  5. 75
    Since there will be back-to-back shows tonight, the premiere episode, "Rebirth," starts where the last DVD left off. It's not as good as the second episode, so be sure to stay tuned.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 22, 2011
    60
    The ensuing jokes aren't new. The men-turned-women only want to know if this planet has a shopping mall. The men still won't ask for directions. nBut Groening has never relied heavily on subtlety, and his strong suits, like timing and tone, keep things moving.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. FryBender
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    Futurama is one of the best TV shows!
  2. john/terry
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    I have not watch this show as i don'tno which channel and my parent only subscribe channel 1-11.*no channel 9,channel 5and 11 are the same and anther channel 7and 8 are the same and anther one is 2 and 10. Expand
  3. MattA
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    SO great to have this show back. It always keeps me smiling and has the best wit and humor on television today.
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Something Fresh, Original, Unique, and extremely FUNNY! This is my favorite animated TV Series of all time, and it proudly deserves that title because it accomplishes a harmony of intelligence and humor, maintaining the ability to reflect our society through its prism of purity even though set in the future. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Futurama should be more popular cause at the moment its a bit like the wii u
    u say to someone futurama is my fav show they say whats
    futurama?
    Although this show is truly great season 6,7 have been the best so far!
    Expand
  6. Ndi
    Aug 9, 2013
    9
    I was beginning to wonder if this show was worth the hype. As a long time fan, I was a bit disappointed but it picked up and, even though it no longer shines with every episode, some are brilliant and good enough to be on par with previous seasons.

    Normally, Futurama is a 10, but this season gets a 9 because of a few mistakes. Still, it is head and shoulders above the rest, and well worth the wait.
    Collapse
  7. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    The fantastic thing about the new series is that it's able to pick up where it left off without hitch: no small feat by any means. It's exactly what it always was: a high-quality, intelligent animated series that could pick a fight with "The Simpsons" any day of the week and fare quite well. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.