Game Change

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 10, 2012
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    The movie is better than you've heard but not good enough to linger in the mind.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 8, 2012
    60
    It takes a story whose outline we know and uses backstage access to turn it into a well-paced drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 9, 2012
    50
    My problem with the film is that it's all surface.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Mar 8, 2012
    40
    The movie seems to want to make a larger point about modern politics from the way Palin's nomination was used by the flagging McCain campaign--as a shiny object to "change the narrative" and shift the buzz from Barack Obama--but the movie itself gets distracted by its own shiny object, Palin.
  5. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Mar 8, 2012
    40
    Truth be told, Game Change does not make anyone look good.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best made for TV movies I have ever seen. The acting is terrific, especially Woody Harrelson. The film reveals what a self-servingOne of the best made for TV movies I have ever seen. The acting is terrific, especially Woody Harrelson. The film reveals what a self-serving nut bar Sarah Palin really is. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    You don't have to be a political junkie in order to enjoy the the trials and tribulations of the movie 'Game Change' based on the book 'GameYou don't have to be a political junkie in order to enjoy the the trials and tribulations of the movie 'Game Change' based on the book 'Game Change: Obama and the Clintons, McCain and Palin, and the Race of a Lifetime'. The star of the show is unsurprisingly Sarah Palin who is brilliantly portrayed in this film by Julieanne Moore. Kudos must also be awarded to Ed Harris who provides a revealing and honest depiction of John McCain. Although this piece was based on actual events I would have preferred more unseen material to be shown. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    I don't know why the critics are so soft on mediocre productions like this . Could be that because everyone kind of likes Julianna Moore,I don't know why the critics are so soft on mediocre productions like this . Could be that because everyone kind of likes Julianna Moore, Woody Harrelson, and Ed Harris, there's an inclination to cut them a break. To me, the movie is just a cartoon with actors we can recognize impersonating real world characters and superficially portraying events we all know about but not necessarily illuminating them. It fun to remember the campaign and how shockingly unprepared Sarah Palin was to assume national office. Moore is OK as Palin, Harris is lame as McCain. Harrelson was fun as Steve Schmidt. The Nicole Wallace character is likeable. But most of the other characters were pretty weak. The Todd Palin character was pathetic. He looked nothing like the real one and didn't act like him either. Seems like they grabbed someone off the street and just asked him to stand there. This is one of those movies that suck and get lots of award nominations. Full Review »