• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 10, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 7 out of 47

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The film and story was very well structured, decent score, Woody Harrelson/Julianne Moore are excellent. Well worth the watch if you're into politics
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best made for TV movies I have ever seen. The acting is terrific, especially Woody Harrelson. The film reveals what a self-serving nut bar Sarah Palin really is.
  3. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. FANTASTIC performances by both Julianne Moore and Woody Harrelson. However, other than the fact that the make-up was spot-on, I thought Ed Harris' John McCain left much to be desired. Admittedly, this story isn't about McCain as much as it is Palin. She is the character that truly needed to shine, and WOW. Say hello to the Golden Globes, Ms. Moore.I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. FANTASTIC performances by both Julianne Moore and Woody Harrelson. However, other than the fact that the make-up was spot-on, I thought Ed Harris' John McCain left much to be desired. Admittedly, this story isn't about McCain as much as it is Palin. She is the character that truly needed to shine, and WOW. Say hello to the Golden Globes, Ms. Moore. You too, Woody. Also, keep an eye on the gentleman whom plays the role of Palin's husband, Todd. A small role, but I was really impressed by what he was able to do with it. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The miniseries captures the story of Sarah Palin's controversial run as vice president candidate flawlessly. Julianne Moore's acting is first-class and the story is very close to being accurate that I feel like this could've just been a documentary with several edits. It's thrilling, dramatic, and, at times, funny.
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    A great HBO movie, that is held together by its' strong acting cast and its' well written screenplay. Now I'm not American so I didn't see all the debates and interviews that Palin did, but from the things that I did see all I can say is that Julianne Moore does an amazing job at playing her. Moore moves so carelessly through the movie that it's easy the forget that its an actress and notA great HBO movie, that is held together by its' strong acting cast and its' well written screenplay. Now I'm not American so I didn't see all the debates and interviews that Palin did, but from the things that I did see all I can say is that Julianne Moore does an amazing job at playing her. Moore moves so carelessly through the movie that it's easy the forget that its an actress and not Palin herself. As for the rest of the cast they were all great especially Woody Harrelson and Sarah Paulson who are the main supporting character. I did have a few problems thought, I thought that Ed Harris was such a poor choice to play McCain, the two look absolutely nothing alike. and at some parts of the movie (specifically the scene when Palin in on the phone with Sarah Paulson in the stairway) that made me fell like I was watching a really bad Lifetime A story of kind of movie. But all in all it was a fantastic movie, watch it if only for Julianne Moore performance, Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    The truth is, before watching this film, I didn
  7. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Game Change is a very entertaining and surprisingly balanced portrayal of Sarah Palin and the 2008 campaign. Ed Harris and Julianne Moore are spot on as McCain and Palin - performances that should get Emmy nominations.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 60
    The movie is better than you've heard but not good enough to linger in the mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 9, 2012
    80
    While Moore's performance is riveting, the most insightful aspects of the tale are the insider reactions.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 9, 2012
    50
    My problem with the film is that it's all surface.