• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1362 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Many fans of the books on which the series is based have been somewhat critical of the changes and edits made in this second season. Having not read the books myself I can’t comment on that but judged purely on its own merits, as really it should be, Game of Thrones continues to excel in every department.

    As with the first season there are still plenty of long scenes of dialogue
    required in order to explain the complex world of Westeros but thanks to some fantastic writing and brilliant performances from the entire cast these are just as interesting as the often brutal action interspersed between. Quite how the creators have managed to create such an epic series on a television budget, even one as large as HBO have provided, I will never know. Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    7
    After a terrible start (at least terrible when compared to the first season), The show has definently picked up and it has gotten a lot better. Is it as good as the first season? Absolutely not. The first season had a far more well rounded and complete story then this season. It's still an enjoyable show though.
  3. May 29, 2014
    9
    The second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are still enjoyable. I found myself absorbing every line of well-written dialog the characters would say, and becoming completely invested in the world's many different story lines. While it appears that the most blood will be spilled in seasons 3 & 4, this second season still manages to keep me invested in it's every moment. My total score for this season is a 9.3/10=Amazing. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    10% of series 2 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The rich characters are expanded and forward leaning to cliff hanger expansion of subtext.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    An absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show just never fails at keeping me guessing. It'S really great to see how the characters have developed in Season 2. I hope like hell that Joffrey gets what he deserves! What a piece of filth. My hats off to Jack Gleeson for portraying him so well. I don't remember ever despising a character so much. Peter Dinklage just keeps impressing. I get that Tyrion Lanniste is far, far from being a saint, I do feel he is one of the few character that is totally relatable, for me at least.

    Overall:
    A fantastic season! MORE! MORE!
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    I didn't like Rome or Spartacus much but this show gets beyond just violence in olden days and delves into an Earth like middle ages where men are men and power rules, and the women are pretty amazing too. It's dark, well scripted, characters are deep, and morality raises it's head on occasions. Almost all the actors are from the UK (save Dinklage, who is my favorite character), and that's the way it should be. They have access to so many varied english accents. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones seems to be all about a slow build. So many story arcs, so much mayhem. It all stirs up a thrilling, and at times chilling, adventure through a world I'm committing myself to more and more. Game of Thrones is getting better without resolving to big-budget tricks and tons of action. The character development and constant veering with the story and what you think is going to happen keeps everything from being predictable. I like it. I do think this is probably the best thing on TV now. Looking forward to season 3! Expand
  8. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    The epic saga continues. The nudity and sex scenes were excessive to the extent that they were offensive, distracting and often unnecessary, causing much annoyance and at times shame for continuing to watch the series. Sex in season 1 was occasional, erotic and surreal; and painted a vivid picture of the society and characters. Roles of some secondary characters were expanded just so that they could show their breasts, like Margaery and the woman who replaced Jeyne Westerling. The rest, however, was handled pretty decently. The changes from the book were understandable and even better suited in some cases. A Clash of Kings, upon which this season is based, was my favorite book of the series tying with the third, but the season was a step down from the first. Expand
  9. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I always prefer WATCHING over READING. I have not read the books yet but I don't think this is going to change my mind as I hear a lot of people talking that the TV series is not as amazing as books. Anyway, I love this show, one of the BEST TV series. Every character has its own story and true justice has been done to them when it comes to their inclusion in the series. The final episodes of the series were just epic. I could not wait to watch them and I was biting my fingernails while watching it. Expand
  10. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    Sin duda, la mejor temporada hasta ahora. Superó a la primera pero para mi aun no ha sido superada ni por la tercera (que fue mas lenta) ni por la cuarta. Aquí comenzaron los malos rollos, las batallas importantes y las relaciones amor/odio. El capítulo de la Batalla del Aguasnegras es uno de los mejores de toda la serie.
  11. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    A complex, multi-layered follow-up that doesn't disappoint. The entire cast - not just a select few - lead the story and the audience through the battles, the heartache, the romance. Season two delivers.
  12. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    the second game of thrones season continued with the pace that the first season ended, yet it had one of the best final season of all time,unless there is less deaths then the first season.
  13. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite show next to The Walking Dead and Justified. Game of Thrones is just incredible. Seriously the best show on TV. Move over Mad Men and Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones is the new hit, you just wont find anything better.
  14. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    HBO has so many great shows, and the highest compliment I can pay GOT is that it ranks right up there with The Wire and Deadwood. Actually, nothing can compare to The Wire, but if that possibility existed, GOT would be right there knocking at the door.
  15. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    Before the second season of Game of Thrones began, I decided to read the first book and this gave me an appreciation of how true to George Martin's story the writers stayed with the first season's adaptation. It also helped provide some additional background and detail to the characters in the way that only a several hundred page book can.

    Fresh from sorting out all the loose ends at the
    end of the last season, the new season begins in earnest with Robb at war with the Lannisters, Tyrion appointed the Hand of King Joffrey, Arya on the road and Daenerys struggling to forge a way home with her infant dragons.

    The season then injects a huge influx of new characters, including Stannis and Renly Barratheon, the township of Qarth, the Tyrell siblings, the house of Greyjoy and Jaqen H'ghar. Certain characters from the first season are given much more screen time this time around, most notably Tywin Lannister, who is superbly played by Charles Dance.

    In covering all the characters, locations and story lines, the scope of the show can only be described as epic. As with all good shows of such grandeur (The Wire and Treme), the writers manage to maintain interest through rich character development and intricate story telling despite the meandering pace of the action. Given the scope of the show, the story arc for each character within each book/season is relatively shallow, for instance, Stannis takes almost all 10 episodes to mount his attack on Kings Landing, Robb sits at camp and really does nothing more than deal with his mother and his new love interest, Jon sets out north of the wall and achieves relatively little and Daenerys enters Qarth and struggles with the local politics, but through the structure of the episodes the writers manage to not make you feel short changed at all as the action progresses.

    The season really belongs to Peter Dinklage, who as Tyrion, with the confidence of his father behind him, really comes into his own as he schemes and plots with the best of them at Joffrey's court. All in all the acting and production is superb, and as a Northerner, I love to hear the broad Northern accents when the action switches to Winterfell and beyond the wall.
    Expand
  16. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta segunda temporada es tan brillante como la primera, se preparan los reinos de los Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, las dos primeras por la venganza de la muerte del señor de invernalia por parte de los lannister, segundo el conflicto civil entre los Baratheon por el control del trono de hierro, no hay que olvidar las aventuras y desventuras que rodena a otros personaje de la serie y por supuesto ese increible episodio 9. Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones really improved over its last season. The quality of the show is still exceptional, but some of the cast, Emilia Clarke and Lena Heady to be specific, really churned out some amazing acting compared to the first season. Cercei really showed a vulnerability and some humanity compared to her hard, bitter facade, and Daenerys got vengefully evil. I like the sides the characters are starting to show. Watch Game of Thrones, even if you don't like medieval fantasy, because the show is really a lot more than that. It's a complex, impressive drama. Expand
  18. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I heard this show was amazing. so i decided to watch season 1 in February. I was so stoked for season 2 and now its the greatest show ever. Great shows arent around now as they were around 2003-2007. Game of thrones is probably top 10 of the best shows in history
  19. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    It is known, Khaleesi. Game of Thrones 2 is epic, even better than the first season which was definitely a kick-off to what's becoming one of HBO's all time best shows.
  20. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Another great season of Game of Thrones. This season really managed to buff out some of the rough parts of the first season. The only major complaint is the fact that this season doesn't follow the books as well but the changes that are made to the story make for much better stories for the screen so even that really isn't a problem.
  21. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Constant build up is what we get. Constant build up leaving us in a perpetual state of fascination and dread as the secrets of Westeros keep piling up and the character roster keeps building. There's plenty of suspense, intertwining complex stories, emotional payoff, beautiful imagery, excellent performances, expert writing, uncovering mysteries, and the story whose route is constantly taking dramatic shifts, though it's getting to the point where we all know it will eventually end up, though nobody wants to admit what we know will eventually be the inevitable outcome. Expand
  22. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones makes a triumphant return with an epic story, superb cast and some of the best writing on TV. Season 2 tells a tale of greed, loyalty, revenge and family through multiple viewpoints, giving the series an immense scope that has never been so successfully achieved on television.
  23. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Так он сказал, так он сказал, из Кастамере лорд. С тех пор лишь дождь в пустынный зал по лорду слезы льет.
  24. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    I don't think this season was as great as season one. "Blackwater" might be the best episode of the entire series, but I don't think the rest was quite up to the standard seen in season 1 and later season 3. And the book changes that bothered me most were in this season. I understand the need for some changes, but this season took it too far. Still, the acting, writing, and scenery were incredible as always. The complaints I have are ultimately minor and don't take too much away from my enjoyment. Definitely better than the vast majority of tv shows. Expand
  25. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Season 2 of GOT adds a lot more characters, action, sadism, and mystery compared to its predecessor; this results in what I feel is thus far the best season of the series (Including season 3 as well). Many have complained that season 2 does not follow the source material as closely, I can't judge too much because I have not finished reading book two however, I'm sure my feelings of this season will be unhinged even after completing the novel. Expand
  26. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    An already brilliant series experienced a massive leap in quality in it's second season. Possibly the greatest drama on television, and one of the best of all time.
  27. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature, that may be the best among any fiction ever written, you are bound to try to hold a television show to that standard. That being said this show does a tremendous job of bringing Martin's characters to life and staying true to their personalities and arcs. The things that bother me about this show are the same thing that bothered me in season 1. As if there are not enough characters in Westeros to work with, the creators have chosen to create Roslyn, who's only purpose appears to be to have lots of excuses for "sexposition". I'm not a prude, but for me this never advances the story, and I feel there are plenty of other places for people to get their porn.

    What I love about this show is the rich characters and storytelling. This is an enormous world with many plot lines and a huge number of characters. The show has done a great job of engaging us in all of this in a way that doesn't confuse the viewer and keeps us wanting more. The storytelling did stray a little more from the books than in season 1, but still brought us right back to where we need to be going into next season. I think almost everyone agrees that "Blackwater" was the best episode of the season, and one of the best episodes of TV ever. I also thought the finale was extremely well done, and while many were dissatisfied with Dany's story this year, I thought they did a decent job with the growth of her character. The house of the undying came up a bit short compared to the book, but I think they are properly showing her growth and motivation for where her character will end up.

    The most fun this year was at King's Landing where Tyrion was playing chess with his brain power vs. Cyrsei's cunning and Joffrey's brutality. Tyrion remains the best and most interesting character in this show.

    Overall this is one of the best hours on TV, and has kept me reading the books to gobble up all of Westeros that I can.
    Expand
  28. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollitito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  29. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    During its second season, "Game of Thrones" shows how many details of a story can be cut out in a film. The show exploits its ten 1-hour episodes to balance between action and character development. There are good performances, stunning visuals and the whole production is really exceptional, but it sometimes feels too slow-paced. There is as much violence as porn, that contributes (perhaps excessively) to the show's realistic look. The plot is still too generic, the twists seem to be an end in itself and many comments on political and social issues are overwhelmed by the writer's passion for plot surprises that are actually worthless.

    P.S.: Episode 9 seems so good as if it had been extracted from an Lord-of-the-Rings-style multi-million. blockbuster.
    Expand
  30. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    I said I wasn't coming back for the scond season and I'm glad I did. This premiere was spectacular. Mad Men, Breaking Bad, and Justifeid. I think it's time for you guys to give up the throne.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.