Game of Thrones : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return toThe Seven Kingdoms are at war with three kings claiming the Iron Throne: Joffrey Baratheon, Renly Baratheon, and Robb Stark. Jon Snow and the Night Watch seek to discover who the mysterious people living north of The Wall are. In the East, Daenerys Targaryen plans her move to return to Westeros and claim the throne for herself. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 29, 2012
    100
    The characters bring us into the action and, once there, we want to follow every development.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 30, 2012
    100
    Once you get back in the rhythm of this enthrallingly sprawling, lusty and brutal saga, flaunting enough sex and violence to make a Hobbit faint, it's impossible not to succumb to Thrones' visceral, dark magic.
  3. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 26, 2012
    91
    It's another level of pop culture wizardry to make such storytelling seem so vivid, so vital, and just plain fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 27, 2012
    90
    HBO has the ingredients for a series that puts nearly every other genre offering to shame.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 29, 2012
    83
    It's all a lot to swallow, let alone digest. But Game of Thrones nonetheless is an undertaking worth applauding for its audacity if not always for its overall senses of direction or cohesion.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 29, 2012
    40
    The new season of this dense medieval fantasy set in a land called Westeros serves up a whole bunch of wartime posturing, a seemingly endless number of would-be rulers and the usual sex and (sometimes in the same scene) violence. But it sure doesn't give viewers much to latch onto.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 148
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan rightGame of Thrones is the best series in TV. The story is just astounding and addicting. If you see the first episode then you become a fan right away. Each and every single one of characters have a rich personality and amazing acting abilities. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    There isn't much to say about this show that hasn't already been said. The characters are dynamic and deep, the multiple plot concept keepsThere isn't much to say about this show that hasn't already been said. The characters are dynamic and deep, the multiple plot concept keeps audience members on the edge of their seats as twists and turns of beautiful written work comes to reality. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature,It is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature, that may be the best among any fiction ever written, you are bound to try to hold a television show to that standard. That being said this show does a tremendous job of bringing Martin's characters to life and staying true to their personalities and arcs. The things that bother me about this show are the same thing that bothered me in season 1. As if there are not enough characters in Westeros to work with, the creators have chosen to create Roslyn, who's only purpose appears to be to have lots of excuses for "sexposition". I'm not a prude, but for me this never advances the story, and I feel there are plenty of other places for people to get their porn.

    What I love about this show is the rich characters and storytelling. This is an enormous world with many plot lines and a huge number of characters. The show has done a great job of engaging us in all of this in a way that doesn't confuse the viewer and keeps us wanting more. The storytelling did stray a little more from the books than in season 1, but still brought us right back to where we need to be going into next season. I think almost everyone agrees that "Blackwater" was the best episode of the season, and one of the best episodes of TV ever. I also thought the finale was extremely well done, and while many were dissatisfied with Dany's story this year, I thought they did a decent job with the growth of her character. The house of the undying came up a bit short compared to the book, but I think they are properly showing her growth and motivation for where her character will end up.

    The most fun this year was at King's Landing where Tyrion was playing chess with his brain power vs. Cyrsei's cunning and Joffrey's brutality. Tyrion remains the best and most interesting character in this show.

    Overall this is one of the best hours on TV, and has kept me reading the books to gobble up all of Westeros that I can.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I unfortunately had the first part of this season spoiled for me. Knowing the result of the ensuing battles is a bit of a letdown, yet somehowI unfortunately had the first part of this season spoiled for me. Knowing the result of the ensuing battles is a bit of a letdown, yet somehow I had forgotten all about that during the 1 hour episode that lead off this season. It's a testament to the quality of the show, where acting, set design and writing take precedence over everything else. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    As someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as IAs someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as I started to put aside my preconceived notions about how I thought the show should be adapted. I realized that this was great television at its finest. I have even grown to love some of the changes they have made with the series. All the actors are great, but the child actors on this show are incredible. I really have grown to love this show and I can't wait to see what is coming in season 3. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2015
    9
    The show keeps getting better and better. After I finished Breaking Bad, I instantly started watching GoT and am amazed of the quality!The show keeps getting better and better. After I finished Breaking Bad, I instantly started watching GoT and am amazed of the quality! Design, costumes, actors are just awesome and very, very, very good! I enjoy this show soo much and love the plot so far. Really, everyone should try watch this show! The second season is not necessarily better but definetely on the same level as the first one. Greatly done!
    Although I hate some actions of the characters and in general some things that happen but the producers are of course not able to change them, because of the books.
    Iam excited about the next season and what will happen!
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers areWhat a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of **** Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2016 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2016 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 18, 2016
    Find reviews of the Jimmy Kimmel-hosted telecast, a list of this year's Emmy winners, and a check of the accuracy of expert and user predictions.
  2. 2016 Emmy Nominations

    2016 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 14, 2016
    Get a full list of nominees for the 68th Primetime Emmy Awards in every major category.
  3. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  4. 2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 20, 2015
    View a complete list of this year's Emmy winners, get reviews of the broadcast from TV critics, and find out how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season Image
    Published: August 12, 2015
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2014-15 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  6. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  7. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  8. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  9. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  10. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  11. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  12. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  13. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  14. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  15. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  17. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  18. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  19. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.