• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1698 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    I've enjoyed watching the show greatly thus far, from the cool intro to the stellar performances, characters, and settings. It's definitely a visual treat for anyone fond of science fiction and fantasy. I never read the books so I'm not comparing it to anything. It's a bit hard to admit for fear of contradicting all the hype around the show, but I'm finding myself losing a lot ofI've enjoyed watching the show greatly thus far, from the cool intro to the stellar performances, characters, and settings. It's definitely a visual treat for anyone fond of science fiction and fantasy. I never read the books so I'm not comparing it to anything. It's a bit hard to admit for fear of contradicting all the hype around the show, but I'm finding myself losing a lot of interest pretty quickly, especially after this last season. Other TV shows with far less complicated stories have me looking forward to the next episode. This one is starting to make me cringe. It's almost a job to watch it. The incest, the decapitations of hands and other junk, and the high number of cruel despicable people in this world paint a dreary vision of an unhappy place that I want nothing to do with. One of the greatest things I've always found about fantasy stories, when they're done well, is that you almost long for that kind of life, to be in that kind of world...swords and magic. Makes you feel like a kid. GoT instead makes you thankful you live on planet Earth, and where's the fun in that? I'm getting very tired of the build up...there are too many separate stories and it doesn't come together enough to keep my attention. Too much foreplay, not enough climax, I think I'll roll off and go to sleep now. As other reviewers have mentioned, I agree that the Dothraki thing is getting tiresome. That's a perfect example. I rolled my eyes after the second or third desert nation freed from slavery. I dunno, I'm gonna keep watching for sure but if it stays at this pace for another season, I'll probably have to put it down. They'll have to come up with something more than and ass to keep my attention anyway. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    I've just watched the second episode and I'm officially disappointed. After watching the first episode I decided to wait until the next one in order to get a more solid idea of what this new season had to offer.
    In just two episodes I've seen too many made up scenes/dialogs, character modifications, premature revelations (true spoilers, if you ask me) and story acceleration. I don't think
    I've just watched the second episode and I'm officially disappointed. After watching the first episode I decided to wait until the next one in order to get a more solid idea of what this new season had to offer.
    In just two episodes I've seen too many made up scenes/dialogs, character modifications, premature revelations (true spoilers, if you ask me) and story acceleration. I don't think it's going to get any better.
    It seems to me that they are heavily concerned about costs in this season: very few extras, important number of character/scene omissions, spoilers, etc. They are systematically skipping characters and scenes...they might say this is due to broadcast time limitations...but I don't buy it.
    You can perfectly squeeze a hundred pages or so into a 50min. episode (10 episodes around 1000 pages). I don't think the problem is time but budget. Pay attention to the small amount of extras in most scenes (Only around 30 Unsullied in the first episode...it begs the question, doesn't it?) pay attention to all the characters that are omitted and who gets to play their part instead, notice the made up dialogs and scenes created to compensate for the huge omissions. Barristan Selmy was directly revealed in the premiere (they didn't bother to make him play Arstan), The Bloody who? Tom O' what? this clearly announces important omissions and modifications in the plot, they won't probably bother to tell half the stuff that is contained in the book, and they could perfectly do it.
    Don't get me wrong, in my opinion there is plenty of pages to skip in Storm of Swords (I would skip Catelyn and Bran almost completely, leaving only the most important driving elements...but that's just me). I think they are skipping important/rich parts of the story like the Bloody Mummers, Tom O' Sevens (the outlaw atmosphere), the mysterious Arstan Whitebeard. The Reeds pop out suddenly, without any kind of introduction, and are ill characterized, same happens with Thoros of Myr. He is supposed to be emaciated (he was fat but now he is supposed to be gaunt because of war, hunger and suffering) he is supposed to be completely bald too, he looks like a very troubled and serious person in the book, that's not the character I just saw singing in the second episode (he was clearly trying to emulate Tom O' Sevens. A clear and sad consequence of his omission).

    Bottom line: Storm of Swords is, in my opinion, the best book in the saga (so far). I think they are spoiling the story by trying to keep the budget under control.
    Like I said before, it is perfectly possible to squeeze 1000 pages (probably less) into a 9hour show without drastic omissions. There's no reason to "kill" interesting characters/scenes other than expenditure control.
    In my opinion, they will spend a lot of money anyway and people will watch the series no matter what, so there's no need to be tight here.

    Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this series is dropping drastically. Once you get there's no real story or interesting twist to it to unreveal, you get that the format is more and more aiming at a certain specific target: Every ongoing plot is about stereotypical relationships: hot strong willed queen, hot submissive murderer willing to be tamed. just king, just lady. The dwarf protecting a child while having an affair with a prostitute. Whore which having sex here and there. dark hero with a wild boyish woman. Immoral rich douchebag falling in love with macho-lady. the fatty irritating coward getting people killed while going around with the poor woman with a child.

    Everything is about sex and erotic situations. So basically this is not a bad thing in itself... It's just that i'm not interested in "Beautiful" and soaps... you know, if i want sex i can search for porno... And i'm disappointed since the first series was actually cool... With great acting and plot.... And now it's all lost. There's nothing more than a linear boring plot with sex and romance involved... So the target is clearly not me, but my guess is mainly 15-40 women. I can see, anyway, that also straight males fell for this trap not seeing what this series has transformed into, maybe because the addiction effect this kind of format is capable of... Anyway, i rate this a 6, since not everything is ruined (YET), and there are still good special effects and inspiring scenarios involved... And some nice asses and boobs too... Still not more than that, because i feel somehow tricked, and saddened by the lost potential of the series... but maybe this depends on the books quality too, dropping every year....
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    The more and more I watch it, The more I get disappointed. I love the Song of Ice & Fire series but the show has epicly failed this season. Each episode seems to end poorly and is too quick to cut away during scenes, No where near as smooth as the transitions were in Season 1. The Red Wedding, which is the biggest scene of the series so far, was poorly done and a great disappointment forThe more and more I watch it, The more I get disappointed. I love the Song of Ice & Fire series but the show has epicly failed this season. Each episode seems to end poorly and is too quick to cut away during scenes, No where near as smooth as the transitions were in Season 1. The Red Wedding, which is the biggest scene of the series so far, was poorly done and a great disappointment for me. It absolutely ruined the season for me. Expand
  5. May 12, 2013
    4
    With three episodes left I must say this season has really been quite the let down. The intense build up and anticipation left at the end of the second season immediately falters into extensive and unnecessary political drama. The story simply lacks sufficient pop or advancement, with in depth looks at every political squabble even slightly pertinent to the main story line you get lost onWith three episodes left I must say this season has really been quite the let down. The intense build up and anticipation left at the end of the second season immediately falters into extensive and unnecessary political drama. The story simply lacks sufficient pop or advancement, with in depth looks at every political squabble even slightly pertinent to the main story line you get lost on the wrong screen, your smartphone. The acting however does continue to present a shining star on a season that has lost all its umph on the set. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    Still one of the best shows on TV, but this is the weakest season by its own very high standards. Reviewing this as a TV show rather than a television adaptation of a book series, you can not avoid one conclusion: there is simply too much going on. The characters are beautifully constructed with great personalities and depth from the previous seasons, but you add to this cast and suddenlyStill one of the best shows on TV, but this is the weakest season by its own very high standards. Reviewing this as a TV show rather than a television adaptation of a book series, you can not avoid one conclusion: there is simply too much going on. The characters are beautifully constructed with great personalities and depth from the previous seasons, but you add to this cast and suddenly we do not see characters for two to three weeks, to then only spend 3 minutes with them. Other times we are forced to watch overly long scenes of the king of the north making love or Theon getting tortured yet again, just an uncomfortable voyeuristic piece of titillation. Jon Snow receives far too much screen time for the actual amount of growth his character accomplishes, whilst last seasons cliff hanger ending of an army of white walkers has received little mention at all. A more cynical viewer may consider this a season/book of padding by an author/production company who know they have a golden goose, but I have more faith that this season has been about tying loose ends before the long winter finally begins. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    Nothing exceptional...it's just a normal first episode. Stop being those subjective blind fans who will scream wow every time they see a dragon fly or an unknown secondary character getting stabbed.
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    You do not simply set up everything for a huge battle in the last episode of the former season and then just don't show anything of it at all, besides that some scenes have been very underwhelming (mance raider, rushed barristan selmy reintroduction).
  9. Jul 7, 2013
    6
    Fantastic Show, however too many *in my opinion* main characters dying, which I think makes it more realistic,as no one lives forever, but what next when all main characters are gone? New characters bought in with a simple distance relationship background story with the dead ones? Slow down Thrones, I want you to last a good few seasons.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.