Game of Thrones : Season 3

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 2093 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 24, 2013
    10
    Truly there are usually only a few shows that come along that can be called cultural icons. Game of Thrones is easily a contender for such a title. Based on the novels by George R. R. Martin the story already has a strong establishment from the beginning and each season builds on the last giving more and more depth to the world.
    The costume design, the characters, and the effects are all
    Truly there are usually only a few shows that come along that can be called cultural icons. Game of Thrones is easily a contender for such a title. Based on the novels by George R. R. Martin the story already has a strong establishment from the beginning and each season builds on the last giving more and more depth to the world.
    The costume design, the characters, and the effects are all top notch and truly immerse a viewer in this cold and bleak world of intrigue and deception. There are the truly despicable characters who you are gradually taught to hate from the beginning and then there are the characters whose actions seem, at the time, to be reprehensible but are later revealed to be veiled under a guise of nobility and then there are the truly righteous, the ones that you feel like rooting for and truly invest yourself in. That is the greatest effect this show has. It involves you in the characters that it develops. Whether you are rooting for Daenerys Targaryen to take back her throne or if you want Robert Stark to avenge his father's death an restore order or if you want Stannis Baratheon to claim the throne that was his brother's you feel involved in the story and invested in the character you hope for. And there are a lot of characters.
    The one downside I can see for some viewers is the sheer amount of information that is thrown at you. I love the depth and complexity of the story, but it is easy to see how others might get lost is the menagerie of intrigue and deception. It can also mean that missing an episode will throw you completely for a loop and it is essential that they be watched in sequence. If you are new to the series it is a must that you start at Season 1 and work forward, otherwise you will miss large chunks of the veiled plot.
    The show divides its time between so many stories that a casual watcher can easily become overwhelmed by them. One moment you are trudging through the forest with Jaime Lannister and Brienne of Tarth only to find yourself a few minutes later watching Arya Stark and the Brotherhood Without Banners. It is the kind of show where it is all or nothing. If you aren't willing or able to devote yourself to watching each episode completely then you might as well just read the summaries of the plots online or to watch something else, because you need your full attention to grasp the depth of the storytelling.
    Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    ***ATTENTION PRODUCERS OF GAME OF THRONES please do not make the mistake that a TV show has to follow its original novel's plot!!! TV audiences want to identify with TV characters. It may be avant garde to kill off favorite characters, but take a lesson from SMASH. Chane things up too much and you will lose your audience and hence your show. So this bringsebto a point regardless of the***ATTENTION PRODUCERS OF GAME OF THRONES please do not make the mistake that a TV show has to follow its original novel's plot!!! TV audiences want to identify with TV characters. It may be avant garde to kill off favorite characters, but take a lesson from SMASH. Chane things up too much and you will lose your audience and hence your show. So this bringsebto a point regardless of the novel or some writer's bright idea, DO NOT KILL OFF PETER DINKLAGE's CHARACTER, or that of the Stark son that is a wary. Kill them and we will have no reason to keep watching the show, and neither will millions of fans. Mark this play to what the audience wants, or lose the audience. Shakespeare knew this. We hope you do too! Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    The best instalment in the series consequently results in the best season thus far. While some liberties were taken with twisting several plot elements from the book, it nevertheless remains mostly faithful to the book.
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    Really dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap of shows, they are going to do the same this as the twilight books giving us 3 seasons per book, we got left to see if the actors last for ten years to finish the series jajaj.

    Really angry honestly.
  5. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe I'm getting Game of Thrones'd out but I actually found myself bored in parts of season 3. I thought the first episode was a completely pointless waste of time. The Red Wedding massacre however, was one of the most brilliant things I have ever seen on television! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 was shocking with some extra jagged and unforeseeable turns. A diverse story with interesting characters Its pace works both ways (in its favor as well as against it) The best thing on TV
  7. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    An excellent fantasy, historical television series that has completely involved me in the lives of the characters. I enjoy the sets, costumes, and the excellent acting.Every week there is a problem to be solved and a cliffhanger that has to be overcome. This season takes ones breath away with all the surprises. I await for new programing ASAP
  8. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I'm huge fan so naturally I loved the third season and think this show would be hard to ruin. (Just because you didn't like some plot twists doesn't mean the show is dead, keep in mind the plot is already complete it just hasn't all aired.) Simply because of the "Red Wedding" scene this season and series became a master piece for me, dethroning Cowboy Bebop from my favorite show of allI'm huge fan so naturally I loved the third season and think this show would be hard to ruin. (Just because you didn't like some plot twists doesn't mean the show is dead, keep in mind the plot is already complete it just hasn't all aired.) Simply because of the "Red Wedding" scene this season and series became a master piece for me, dethroning Cowboy Bebop from my favorite show of all time. (That was my favorite show for 5 years for those that give a If you haven't started watching this show by now wtf are you waiting for? Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    OMG Best season so far. Someone asked me why it is so popular recently and for me its because it has excellent writing and production with some great acting. The drama is unbelievably tense and the story is fast paced. It is by far the best thing on TV in my eyes. I am having withdrawal symptoms already. I am thinking of going on this tour of locations.OMG Best season so far. Someone asked me why it is so popular recently and for me its because it has excellent writing and production with some great acting. The drama is unbelievably tense and the story is fast paced. It is by far the best thing on TV in my eyes. I am having withdrawal symptoms already. I am thinking of going on this tour of locations.
    http://britmovietours.com/bookings/game-of-thrones-tour-of-locations-belfast/
    Expand
  10. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Summary: The acting is convincing, and the characters are almost all engaging to watch. That's impressive, since the cast itself is one of the largest in television. It's also impressive because they continue to surprise viewers, with ongoing levels of character development and interaction, even in the face of multiple mainstay characters being viciously murdered.

    ---- I'll try
    Summary: The acting is convincing, and the characters are almost all engaging to watch. That's impressive, since the cast itself is one of the largest in television. It's also impressive because they continue to surprise viewers, with ongoing levels of character development and interaction, even in the face of multiple mainstay characters being viciously murdered.

    ----

    I'll try writing a more thorough review when I have the time, but let it be suffice to say that Game of Thrones is one of the greatest pieces of entertainment to have been released in recent times. I would urge anyone and everyone to do what they can to watch this beast.
    Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Despite the fact that its a HBO series Game of Thrones is maybe the best fantasy series at the moment.
    Strong characters, impressing pictures, all in all the perfect series for fans.
  12. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 3 of A Game of Thrones has to be the best yet. The complexity of George R.R. Martin's world has been captured spectacularly well by HBO, and the acting talent on display is brilliant. Peter Dinklage, Richard Madden, Kit Harington and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau are just a few of the brilliant cast members in this series, and it will be very sad to see Richard Madden go. Season 3 covers A Storm of Swords Part 1, and it does so excellently, even with the additions of later events such as the siege of Yunkai and the Red Wedding. The show also adds many scenes unseen in the books, such as the infamous "Chaos is a Ladder" speech, which is brilliantly written and carried out. It is slightly disappointing to see characters such as Jeyne Westerling be renamed to Talisa, I have no idea where that came from, and the decision to replace Edric Storm with Gendry is rather confusing, but somehow HBO have managed to pull it off expertly. The camera-work and special effects are done brilliantly, as demonstrated by Daenarys' dragons. The character development is also excellent, and is on a par with the book's excellent character development of Jaime Lannister. The music is absolutely fantastic as you would expect, with the songs "Rains of Castamere" and "The Bear and the Maiden Far" making anticipated appearances. The last two episodes especially wet our appetites for Season 4, as they include the infamous Red Wedding, which is perhaps one of the most excellent pieces of TV I have ever seen, as it far exceeds the atmosphere created by Breaking Bad. The acting by Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark) and Richard Madden (Robb Stark) is flawless. Most Thrones fans will agree with me in saying Season 3 is excellent, the only thing preventing me from giving this a 10 is the unfortunate and odd decisions to leave out certain characters and/or change them. Bring on Season 4! Expand
  13. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    I was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. AndI was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. And Littlefinger's 'Chaos is a ladder' speech was one of my favourite TV moments. Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    An intriguing story that just doesn't stop and is unpredictable. Definately deserves a 10 in my book. I'm not sure why so many people consider this porn. The nudity is very little and the sex scenes aren't even on par with softcore showtime porn. At most you'll see some boobs and maybe an ass? I guess other people may not have discovered the internet yet.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.