• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1150 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The word epic gets banded about a lot, but, if any TV show has ever truly earned that title it is Game of Thrones. Featuring a huge, and incredibly talented, cast it is quite frankly amazing how the writers and directors have been able to bring such an interesting and detailed world to the small screen.

    Ignore those who criticise the show for its fantasy setting as this is drama at its
    very best. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    The more and more I watch it, The more I get disappointed. I love the Song of Ice & Fire series but the show has epicly failed this season. Each episode seems to end poorly and is too quick to cut away during scenes, No where near as smooth as the transitions were in Season 1. The Red Wedding, which is the biggest scene of the series so far, was poorly done and a great disappointment for me. It absolutely ruined the season for me. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    The third season steps up the game. There is more suffering for the characters, some of whom become sympathetic. More deaths, conflict, conniving, backstabbings. The most interesting story lines were about Jon Snow and Daenerys, who were overshadowed by Arya and Tyrion in the previous season. Some of the bits were changed from the books and I'm curious how the plot will turn out later. The dragons were more useful. We get to see the people and creatures from beyond the wall.

    The element of uncertainty, with which I fell in love back in the first season, comes back in all its glory and gory details. The show, like the books, continues to assert that there are no completely good guys and bad guys. And there are no heroes or central characters who are completely safe; except of course for a few like Daenerys Targaryen, Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister and perhaps Sansa Stark and Bran Stark. Without them the story would fall apart, and it's never wise to kill off your most intriguing characters. Everyone else is fair game.

    This show has reached a point where one shall have to watch the entire series back to back, as it unfolds like a great novel and at no point does it drag down and show us which is strictly episodic. The plot continues to unravel and advance. This is probably the reason I could not enjoy the season the first time I watched it week after week. But upon my second viewing, I was engrossed for sure and enjoyed literally everything. The creators have kept on doing justice to the source material, and changed bits of the story that have no great bearing on the story.

    I felt un-satiated and was hungry for more at the end. The last scene of the finale literally brought tears to my eyes, a feat even the deaths of some of the characters failed to do.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Everything about this series is terrific, spell-binding, intense and epic. I can't think of any other series for which I waited for like I did for Game of Thrones this whole year. Acting, writing, direction and cinematography are way more than brilliant, near to perfect and absolutely flawless at times. The season premiere took some time to build just like the series premiere did and there's nothing wrong with taking things slow. Game of Thrones is really the best series on TV right now and if you don't agree, there's something seriously wrong with you. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    With these first 3 episodes passing by lightly, the real war started from the ending of episode 4 showing that nobody messes with the mother of dragons or her army. her 5 minute performance deserves an emmy! if this show doesn't end with her on the iron throne i will be really disappointed. YOU GO EMILIA CLARKE!
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    this third game of thrones season continues with the fast pace of the first two seasons, so far this is the best season of the series, but his season finale was not as good as many people thought it would be (mainly because of the penultimate episode)
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    At times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann off the top of my head, were sharing journeys of a similar nature and although the plot only visited them occasionally, there didn't seem to be much diversity between the story lines and episodes could be filled with people on the move, never seeming to make much progress towards their goals.

    On the other hand, all the above is what makes Game of Thrones such a great show. The plot moves along at its own speed, steadily moving the massive cast of characters along in their respective story arcs. The slow and deliberate story telling is such a contrast to many TV shows where writers seem to rush plots at the expense of character development. That is not to say that Game of Thrones is not capable of turning up the excitement levels. I think this season has contained the biggest shocks of the show so far and considering what happened at the end of season one, that is saying something.

    This leads me on to the episode The Rains of Castamere, also known as The Red Wedding. I'm keen not to give anything way so it is difficult to comment on but for me this episode underlines the greatness of the show. A colossal event in terms of characters and story line that you just would not see in any other show. Imagine Tony Soprano's family being wiped out in the middle of an episode in the middle of a season. Totally unheard of. The scenes in particular were brilliantly produced as well and any silly doubts I had over the show were instantly erased by this episode.

    Elsewhere, Tywin demonstrates he is the only Lannister able to lay the law down to Joffrey. I'm looking forward to seeing more of this in the future, Joffrey seems genuinely afraid of his grandfather. Tywin's arrival shakes things up at Joffrey's court and things change for Tyrion, Sansa and Littlefinger and even Cersei seems unable to avoid her father's plans to strengthen the family.

    The season comes to a close with the fate of one major character unconfirmed and I can't wait for the fallout from the Red Wedding to filter across Westeros. The next season of Game of Thrones cannot return soon enough.
    Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Esta temporada fue mejor que sus antecesoras, el pobre Tyrion debe lidiar con su familia en Desembarco del Rey pues su padre es ahora la nueva mano del rey, el castigo por la traicion de Theon hacia los Stark, Arya enredada con la hermandad sin estandares, Jon Nieve uniendose al ejercito de Mance Rayder, las desventuras de Jamie Lannister, el ejercito de los inmaculados comprados por Daenerys Targaryen, y como no olvidar el espectacular y a la vez crudo episodio 9. Expand
  9. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you like sword play and incest this may be the perfect show for you. No character is safe from getting killed and there is also plenty of romance to keep the ladies interested. Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    I've enjoyed watching the show greatly thus far, from the cool intro to the stellar performances, characters, and settings. It's definitely a visual treat for anyone fond of science fiction and fantasy. I never read the books so I'm not comparing it to anything. It's a bit hard to admit for fear of contradicting all the hype around the show, but I'm finding myself losing a lot of interest pretty quickly, especially after this last season. Other TV shows with far less complicated stories have me looking forward to the next episode. This one is starting to make me cringe. It's almost a job to watch it. The incest, the decapitations of hands and other junk, and the high number of cruel despicable people in this world paint a dreary vision of an unhappy place that I want nothing to do with. One of the greatest things I've always found about fantasy stories, when they're done well, is that you almost long for that kind of life, to be in that kind of world...swords and magic. Makes you feel like a kid. GoT instead makes you thankful you live on planet Earth, and where's the fun in that? I'm getting very tired of the build up...there are too many separate stories and it doesn't come together enough to keep my attention. Too much foreplay, not enough climax, I think I'll roll off and go to sleep now. As other reviewers have mentioned, I agree that the Dothraki thing is getting tiresome. That's a perfect example. I rolled my eyes after the second or third desert nation freed from slavery. I dunno, I'm gonna keep watching for sure but if it stays at this pace for another season, I'll probably have to put it down. They'll have to come up with something more than and ass to keep my attention anyway. Expand
  11. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    The best season so far! With absolutely phenomenal performances by Dinklage, Clarke, Fairley and Coster-Waldau. This season achieved greatness because it managed to work in many of the important characters cut in the previous season and in nearly every episode there was some sort of emotional atmosphere that was achieved. Also they managed to cut a lot of the unnecessary sex scenes (that aren't all in the books) which was an added plus to this season. The red wedding was absolutely flawlessly and horrifyingly done. Absolutely an amazing season and I can't wait for the next one! Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    Aside from the essential need for a cheat sheet to keep all of the relationships square in your mind, this is a delicious world that is expertly developed and beautifully shot. Plus it's got dragons!
  13. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    The third season in the epic fantasy, Game of Thrones isn't as strong as its second season, though it contains just as many surprises and just as many unraveling mysteries, changing our perceptions on many characters whom we pegged for something else entirely in the very beginning, while pushing this vast array of characters on forward to a conclusion we almost don't want to admit we know is coming. Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Game of Thrones season 3 is here! The writing is absolutely fantastic and better than ever,the storylines are highly compelling and there's a darkness lingering in the air as death literally is on every corner.The show is easily the most visually stunning show on TV with gorgeous sets and special effects blending in perfectly with this dark fantasy realm that George R.R Martin has created.The acting performaces are stunning by everybody and there are no weak links.Game of Thrones has hit a very strong stride,and the stakes are higher than ever before.The realm is engulfed in a hell'ish war of those competing for The Iron Throne.There will be blood....there will be lots of blood.From Daenary's travelling to Slavers Bay to Jon Snow meeting the King beyond The wall.Game of Thrones is compelling TV,and TV you cannot miss. 10/10 Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I originally reviewed this when there were only 3 episodes left, and I ended up giving it a nine. But, after the last three episodes, particularly "The Rains of Castamere" I feel as though it has earned a ten. I know some have complained that the finale wasn't exciting enough, but it was following the episode that is second only to "Blackwater" in terms of excitement. The finale was a good set up for the plot points of next season. And yes, the first couple episodes were a bit slow, but they were still good and the plot has flown nicely since then, with great character development, particularly in the case of Jaime. Plus, the acting was incredible but seemed particularly great in the finale. All in all, it was a great season and every episode was great in its own way. Expand
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Absolutely love this show. The first two seasons are great and season three should be the biggest and best season! Also they do a exceptional job at making the books into a tv show, the books are no walk in the park. Kutos to HBO!
  17. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 is by far the best of the series so far. As a fan of the books I like how the series is being adapted and like guessing at which scene will happen next. Fans of this show whether you have read the books or not are sure to like this newest season
  18. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    While season 3 of GOT still contains the top-notch acting and impressive action/picture sequences; this season attempts to adapt only the first half of "A Storm of Swords" (Martin's third novel); with the upcoming season attempting to finish the adaption of the rest of the novel. This unfortunately results in pacing issues and what feels like the writers trying to stretch each episode to full capacity. Events feel like they are transpiring in glacier pace in the first half of the season however, things begin too pick up in the latter half including one of the most shocking episodes of the entire series. In the end, season 3 despite the pacing struggles, is still better than most television shows on air...... Expand
  19. BKM
    Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The third season of HBO's Game of Thrones is shaping up to be its finest yet. The writing, acting and production values are stellar as usual, but the biggest difference so far is with the pacing. The creative decision to cover only the first half of the third of George R.R. Martin's books has allowed for the characters to be even more fully fleshed out and for new characters to be integrated smoothly into the narrative. Thrones desire to constantly evolve and improve upon each season is remarkable for a series that was already nearly flawless. Expand
  20. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A very good beginning to the show, ties up a lot of loose ends and sets up coming events. A lot of the TV show has redone Daenery's plot, for the better as far as I'm concerned.
  21. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    the first episodes are pretty boring, but the final chapters are masterpiece, as always, very good acting job, specially Peter Dinklage, i hope S4 gets better
  22. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    well this tv series it keeps getting better and better. At fist season 3 was ok but in about the 4th episode I realised that this season is actually the best one. Not only it has good story and plot, it also had some twists really unexpected. This season made me come close to some characters such as arya, sansa and the fat boy who was with jon snow i don't remember his name). All in all, Game of throne's season 3 is a must-see masterpiece Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is ridiculous! I didn't believe that this would be better than Season 2, and not only does Season 3 top it, it goes beyond that. This show is simply one of the greatest shows, not just now, but of all time. Its so great and it always leaves me wanting more. I really wish Season 4 started tomorrow, especially knowing what's going to happen in Season 4 (read Book 3, a Storm of Swords, and you can know too). It all gets better from here. I'll be especially impressed if Season 4 tops Season 3. Character development and the stories are all so good. Its basically flawless, but its also a pain to keep up with. Its one of those rare shows where you have to pay real good attention or you'll miss something. I highly recommend this, and the entire series. Expand
  24. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    A really successful adaptation of truly great book "A Storm of swords". Top notch acting, good directing, probably the most complicated story colliding with shocking drama that is "Game Of Thrones"! There are some week moments, but mostly minor ones. But it's not for everyone, there are some really disturbed and cruel scenes so be careful
  25. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Again, great show on HBO or any television network. The story, acting, are just great. Wonderful writing and keeps you interested throughout the entire season. Wonderful TV
  26. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    It keeps a well pace and spectacular acting by the entire cast, though I always love it when Peter Dinklage is on. Enough gritty action and dramatic tension without any clich├ęs to make Game of Thrones one of the greatest TV series there has been in years.
  27. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    The third season of Game of Thrones mostly felt like filler to me till the end. With its vast and complex storyline, that always seems to add new "main" characters every season, its easy to get bogged down in some of the more trivial things that pop up from time to time. Also the fact that people may be more emotionally invested in certain stories than others, like I was with the Night's Watch storyline. This season didn't get good till the end and the story kept adding people to it like trying to stuff a rivers worth of water into a small glass. Fortuantely, with no spoilers, they cut one part of the story, which was the biggest surprise of the season. Anyone who has even heard of the big reveal this season should know what I'm talking about as Game of Thrones is always good for at least one big reveal a season. This season was probably the worst in my book but it was still grand. I love this show quite a bit and I'm very interested in seeing where it goes from here on out, especially with a few of the characters. Special mention goes out to the DvD/Blu-ray release of this season. The in episode guides that came along with the hours of commentary and extras that were added onto it really was something special. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs a refresher with the series cause, like I said earlier, you can easily succumb to the weight of the story if you don't know all the history. But it was definitely the worst season, as a whole, for the series so far and I have to penalize it for that. That definitely doesn't mean it's a bad show though. If you're into medieval inspired fantasy settings then this should be your first place you look. Wonderful show. Expand
  28. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone gives this show less than a 10 then they don't deserve to watch it! Season 3 was absolute epic-ness. I haven't read the books so the Red wedding was the most shocking and bloody thing I have ever watched in my life. I kept on screaming at the tv for about half an hour! I really can't wait for season 4. Expand
  29. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    As with the book on which it is based, part three absolutely cements this series' greatness. As always, though, the series' adaptation of the book adds a whole new dimension of genius to the story. Season three jumps right past the dubious 'action' of the fourth book and jumps right into sampling the fifth book, while delaying some of book three's crazy developments. Cannot wait for more. 10? Yeah, it is perfect. Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2014
    3
    What a snorefest! Apparently the books are the same, but come on! Season 3 was like a soap opera, lucky to move across a room in five episodes. I loved the red wedding because something had finally happened!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.